We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$86
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltsbushcamp companybush campthree roomsfolding doorsthe rivergame drivesguide jameswalking safarino electricityopen airhis vast knowledgewonderful dayswalking encyclopediastar servicedry riverland rover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent 3 wonderful days there in June 2014. The chalets are well furnished and superbly located ,completely open towards the river so we were able to see numerous birds, elephants, puku, hippo etc coming to the river to drink. Though from earlier information we thought the camp would rigidly adhere to walks in the morning and drives afternoon - the manager - Felicity and staff were very flexible. As sightings are better on drives and I have done numerous safaris elsewhere in Africa I was more keen on drives and I must say the 2 morning drives we did were more productive than the afternoon ones. Gilbert , the guide and Mulinda his assistant were very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of information both on the drives and the walk. To complement the luxurious chalets , the meals prepared by George were fantastic - a meal even being served to us in the hide a distance away from the camp. Sightings too were very good - lion, leopard,buffalo, giraffe, zebra, antelope and numerous species of birds. I highly recommend the camp to any interested in an outstanding safari experience

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lankan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent 3 nights here on the second part of our safari. The camp only has three rooms all on stilts and all open fronted, even the bathroom, and looking over the Luangwa River, which at the time of year we travelled can only be seen in the far distance. The room had a huge bed surrounded by a black mosquito net although we never saw, nor had any problems with mosquitos. There was plenty of storage space and as a previous reviewer mentioned, don’t think about animals being able to climb stairs. We saw plenty of animals even from our veranda and one day a small herd of Elephants decided the best route was through, rather than round the camp. The meals were all excellent and varied for being out in the “wilds” one night we had a Mongolian style barbeque, and on our last night we were the only guests in camp, so were treated to a candle lit evening meal on our own veranda.

Our driver was Gilbert and only 2 minutes out of the camp on our first drive spotted a leopard and soon after 3 Hyena, an amazing start. The sundowners each night were taken overlooking a huge Hippo pool and then we had the night drive back to the camp.

We wished we could have stayed longer and will certainly return.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar and excellent. Room 1 is by itself.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Chamilandu Bushcamp is hidden away on a curve of the great Luangwa River about two hours drive from the popular Mfuwe Lodge - but it is worth the effort. The rooms are built on stilts and open fronted to the elements with great views over the river. The hide overlooking the nearby waterhole provided us with an hour of mesmerising joy watching elephants indulging in mud baths; but the bush walks and drives both day and night produced some great sightings of birds, mammals, reptiles and of course flora and fauna. The food in camp was exceptional; the rooms fitted out to the highest standards complete with resident bats and the guiding from Peter was as good as guiding gets. The river was low during our visit but that didn't stop us enjoying great sightings of a pride of 14 lions wandering along the sandbanks. All the rooms are terrific with great viewpoints from private balconies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Media1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at Chamilandu. The lodges are situated overlooking the dried up river with lovely views towards the hills. Built on stilts they provide exceptional comfort and a game viewing platform where you can sit and watch the wildlife pass by including the elephants hunting for seed pods and leafy branches. We enjoyed wonderful game drives with an expert guide and returned each day to a delicious evening meal under the stars. Every member of staff was exceptional and worked hard to make our stay memorable. This lodge was a wonderful addition to our itinerary and we thoroughly recommend a stay here experiencing the wild Africa.

Room Tip: All of the lodges are exceptional
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A superb camp with only 3 rooms allowing a maximum of 6 guests. We were warmly welcomed by Mike and his lady and it was easy to see his real love of Africa and the bush. The rooms are on stilts and open to the front so one has to believe animals don't climb stairs. The early morning walks were fantastic and educational about creatures and plants big and small along the way. The staff produced miracles of food and drink given that they are far from resupply.
We felt we were amongst friends and only wished we could have spent longer at Chamilandu. Magical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews