We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The level of service and attention to detail was outstanding! Words cannot express how amazing the guides, staff and camp was, they have to be experienced to be believed! Stunningly beautiful accommodations to match the natural scenery! Highly recommend this camp, Oh, and the wildlife was prolific!! Elephants, kudu, bushbuck, warthogs, buffalo, all viewed from our own private balcony! Then to go on game walks and drives..... what a truly memorable experience that we will be talking about for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for our first 3 nights in Africa. The camp was completely rebuilt last year and it really shows. It is a beautiful place, the rooms are magnificent, everything done is wood, even the sink and showers. We had a private waterhole that brought a wide variety of game during the days. The staff was excellent, responding to any request we had, and the food was equally excellent. The manager, Mike, is also a guide and took us out for a private guided drive when we arrived after the group had left! The best part of the camp, though is Manda. He was the best guide by far we had, explaining many many details about what happens in the bush. He explained animal behavior, uses for many trees and plants, the local population’s interactions with animals, and his pacing and delivery of this information was perfect. Our bush walks with him were the highlight of our trip. This camp is isolated from civilization, which is its charm, and allowed us to see the environment with no man made interferences (noise, light, etc). We saw 5 of the 6 Bushcamp Company’s camps, they are all different with their own charm, and all equally comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend any of them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverFan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This bushcamp really is a must on any visitors itinery to South Luangwa.
We stayed for 2 days as a family of 4 and were made to feel exstremely welcome in the most beautiful surroundings, in the middle of almost nowhere.The rooms themselves were truly enormous and decorated with a high level of taste and luxury in mind.
Mike was the most friendly host we met on our travels, and Manda the guide with the most knowledge and experience. We can not rate this bushcamp highly enough, it is fabulous, including the food and service -it made the experience of a lifetime even more precious, and I haven't even started on the amazing wildlife and walking safaris...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Bilimungwe is buried deep in South Luangwa, and sited around a couple of waterholes. Overall we thought each of the 4 private rooms had been impeccably designed, each having a huge floorspace split into living room, bedroom and bathroom. The sublime extra touch was the outside shower (there is an indoor one as well) which was a joy in the afternoon while the heat was at it most intense. The central dining/resting area is also beautifully put together having being built into a shady copse of mature trees and also overlooking the waterhole. Excellent and attentive staff made the camp run seamlessly. Game viewing was very good and we loved the ambience.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and can't recommend the place highly enough. It is truly in the middle of nowhere, very tastefully decorated, lovely huge rooms with indoor and out door showers overlooking the watering holes and excellent food. Its intimate, there are only 4 rooms. The guide Manda's knowledge was astounding & the rest of the staff, including Mike the host, were a delight to be with. All this coupled with the fantastic wildlife ( we saw 3 lions on our first morning and then came back to shower to find 16 elephants at the watering hole behind our room) made this an amazing place to stay!

The lodge had been refurbished recently & there had been good attention to insect inaccessibility to the bedrooms which made my wife very happy!

Naldi the booking agent was also brilliant in helping us to organise this trip.

Don't think about it any longer just get on and book it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We saw amazing game, and the whole camp had been renovated since the last time we went. This is five star luxury deep in the bush. Manda, the guide, is incredible and Mike is the most friendly host we have come across in the bushcamps. I would recommend staying here to all of my friends and family. No matter what you're looking for from a safari, you'll get it here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank njstockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed at the Bilimungwe Camp recently on the recommendation of family, and I am very pleased I listened. It is deep within the South Luangwa National Park, and gives you a feeling of being cut off from the busy 'real' world. The main dining/chilling area is on a new waterhole, which the animals have not yet become accustomed to, but when they do it will be the perfect place to watch quietly in the afternoons.

There are 4 'cabins' to stay in. My favourite aspect of the cabin I stayed in was the handcarved leadwood basins in the bathroom. Definitely something I would like to have in a house I build in the future. The layout of the camp is well thought out, with the cabins being far enough away to feel you are enjoying your own space in the afternoons, but near enough away to join up with others when you want to.

The guide (Manda) was informative and knowledgable about so much more than just the bush, but at that he was an infinite mine of information. And the scout, Priest, is a modern day He-Man, being the protector on game walks in a very gentle and calm way.

All in all a recommended spot to spend a relaxed few days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
25.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
231 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#12 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
99 reviews
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
78 reviews
43.4 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £311 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing