We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Yet another great camp”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

James our guide here was incredibly knowledgable. Had great time doing walking tours here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The newly refurbished Bilimungwe Bushcamp has been done very tastefully,with the water holes providing lots of entertainment with herds of elephants visiting and then walking through the camp between the houses. We were there in the old Bili two years ago. Excellent hosting from Mike and his team and award winning Manda giving great walks through the bush. How those cooks rustle up such fantastic food so far from modern conveniences is amazing.

Room Tip: October is the hottest month of the year, but also a good time to see game as they all need to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

If you're looking for a real safari experience, go to South Luangwa National Park in Zambia and spend some time in the bush at Bilimungwe, part of the Bushcamp Company. My wife and I didn't know what to expect on our first safari but were pleasantly surprised to find accommodations and service second to none in a remote area surrounded by true wilderness. Our guide, Manda Chisanda, will share his passion for the bush and everything in it with you. He will take you to the game, including lions, zebra, giraffes, leopards, elephant, hippos, water buffalo, exotic birds, etc. or will bring the game to you with his uncanny ability to mimic their sounds. No wonder he was named a few years ago as the best guide in the world but you won't hear it from him because he is humble too.
Your camp host, Mike and his staff will treat you like royalty. Our "tent" was spacious and decorated with hand carved furniture and an indoor and outdoor hot shower. The food was excellent.
I couldn't imagine returning to Africa without visiting Bilimungwe again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Don't come here if you want to see herds of wildebeest (there aren't any in the park). But there is almost everything else. We stayed here for 8 days in November, having stayed for 5 days in 2008 (before it was renovated). The new camp really works, is very luxurious, and nothing has been spoiled by the transition. The three waterholes are right by the lodges and there is always game and birds at them.
We saw lion, leopard, elephant, hippos (there are no cheetah or rhino in the park), but also porcupine, a bush pig, tortoise, lots of the small people, and so many birds. And the great thing is that when you see something you are almost always alone; there are not herds of other vehicles all jostling for position.
Mike was great and the perfect host. The staff are really friendly. Apparently there was an idea for Jamie Oliver to do a programme here. Not sure why as he wouldn’t listen for long enough. The cooking is unbelievably good (and has nothing to learn from him), and all done on one solitary wood fuel oven.
It really doesn’t get any better than at Bili.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savageLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed at Bilimungwe Bushcamp for 2 days. What an amazing experience. Mike was a fantastic host and Manda my guide had exceptional knowledge and expertise out in the Bush.
I cannot rate my time at the camp highly enough. The food, service and attention to detail in the rooms were fantastic. It made my whole experience of South Luangwa and the Bushcamps a trip of a lifetime.
This is without even mentioning the walking safaris and game that is abundant.
Overall I cannot recommend it highly enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue37242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The level of service and attention to detail was outstanding! Words cannot express how amazing the guides, staff and camp was, they have to be experienced to be believed! Stunningly beautiful accommodations to match the natural scenery! Highly recommend this camp, Oh, and the wildlife was prolific!! Elephants, kudu, bushbuck, warthogs, buffalo, all viewed from our own private balcony! Then to go on game walks and drives..... what a truly memorable experience that we will be talking about for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for our first 3 nights in Africa. The camp was completely rebuilt last year and it really shows. It is a beautiful place, the rooms are magnificent, everything done is wood, even the sink and showers. We had a private waterhole that brought a wide variety of game during the days. The staff was excellent, responding to any request we had, and the food was equally excellent. The manager, Mike, is also a guide and took us out for a private guided drive when we arrived after the group had left! The best part of the camp, though is Manda. He was the best guide by far we had, explaining many many details about what happens in the bush. He explained animal behavior, uses for many trees and plants, the local population’s interactions with animals, and his pacing and delivery of this information was perfect. Our bush walks with him were the highlight of our trip. This camp is isolated from civilization, which is its charm, and allowed us to see the environment with no man made interferences (noise, light, etc). We saw 5 of the 6 Bushcamp Company’s camps, they are all different with their own charm, and all equally comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend any of them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverFan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
25.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#11 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
215 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#14 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
95 reviews
33.2 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#34 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 12 in Lower Zambezi National Park
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing