We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants at breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Giethoorn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Elephants at breakfast”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Bilimungwe is a beautiful bush-camp situated looking out over three different waterholes. We were so lucky to have the cabin on the left edge of the camp which meant we had in fact a private waterhole.
The chalets are really fantastic and spacious with an indoor and outdoor shower.
We spent three nights in Bilimungwe and everyday 'our' waterhole was visited by a group of elephants. Puku and impala were also very reliable visitors. On our third morning we were late for breakfast because four elephants were having theirs next to our cabin!

The walks with our guide Charles have been very interesting. The scenery along the Luangwa and the Kapamba rivers was sometimes breathtaking.
Charles turned out to be a real lion hunter. We saw lions on several occassions even a group hunting in the dark on the plains close to Chindeni. Charles also had an eye for good photo opportunities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

DH and I stayed two nights at Bilimungwe and it was not long enough. The rooms overlook waterholes regularly visited by ellies and other game. The rooms are extremely comfortable and feature both indoor and outdoor showers, which we loved. We were fortunate to have Manda as our guide and could not have been more pleased -- he is not just knowledgeable but also wonderful company. Food was fantastic. Kudos to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My family and I spent 2 wonderful days/nights at Bilimungwe in June 2012. Everything the other reviewers say is true – the chalets are fantastic (all recently remodeled), the food is delicious, the service and staff excellent, the small size of the camp giving it a warm and intimate feel– but here is what makes Bilimungwe really special:

Outdoor shower: The outdoor shower of our chalet had a view of its very own watering hole. Nothing like watching wart hogs rolling in the mud while the shower’s spray cools you down after your morning hike.

Exceptional dining experience: Occasionally the staff goes above and beyond and organizes a dinner at a very special location outside the camp. I’m not going to say more, but believe me, you won’t soon forget the experience.

The Kapamba River: Bilimungwe is quite close to the intersection of the Luangwa and Kapamba Rivers. In June the Kapamba River was just lovely. Shallow and slow moving, there was lots of wildlife in and around it. For photographers, the afternoon light was incredible.

Hiking with Manda: Of course our experiences with Manda were the best part of our stay at Bilimungwe. As other reviewers have expressed, Manda (like Peter, our guide at Chindeni) was truly exceptional. We learned so much from him and our teenagers (no kids under 12 allowed on walking safaris) especially enjoyed the hunt (on foot) for the lions’ kill from the night before.

You really can’t go wrong with the Bushcamp company. Each camp seems to have its own unique location, accommodations and experience. I’d be delighted to stay at any of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is what safari dreams are made of. Beautiful scenery, spectacular game viewing, knowledgeable guides, gorgeous accommodation and professional camp staff. The Bushcamp Company have got it so right. We stayed at Bilimungwe Bushcamp for three nights and wish we had stayed longer. The camp ticked all my "what I want on safari" boxes including spacious chalets, reed walls so that I can hear the animals calling at night, warm and comfy beds, outside showers, good food, friendly staff, guides that know how to impart with all their knowledge and then without spoiling all the surprises - loads of wow factor. We will back - and for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chugwater, Wyoming
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We did two nights in Mfuwe Lodge, and two at Bilimungwe as visitors from neighboring Malawi-where we'd heard S. Luangwa was a world class park. If we'd only done Mfuwe, we'd have still had an delicious dinner delayed because an elephant was on the lawn, and lionesses were hunting in the draw behind the patio, but Bilimungwe made it an experience of a lifetime.

And more specifically, Manda made it the experience of a lifetime. My husband and I are both eager when it comes to nature, so we loved spending hours driving and walking with him and his scout and porter, as he indulged us in facts about the birds and animals we were seeing (as well as his thoughtful reading of international current events). Our fellow safari-makers had hired their own guide, so in a rare turn, we had him to ourselves!

The camp and food were lovely, as was the staff. Our accommodation was romantic, gotta love an outdoor shower. I spent hours trawling the internet to choose our camp and we were very pleased. June also seemed to be a good time to go - not too hot, not too many tsetse flies, and the high-season prices hadn't yet kicked in.

When we returned to Mfuwe Lodge, with all the camps near the entrance to the park, we were breathing everyone else's dust as we went on game drives. A bush camp experience requires a significant investment, and if you're already paying to get there and stay in upmarket accommodation, you might as well do it up right with walking safari.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearskinrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It can't get better than this - and so wished we had booked to stay longer than 3 nights. Our reed chalet was gorgeous. Safely poised above the waterhole, with comfy beds tucked away under mozzie nets, an outdoor and indoor shower, our very own veranda, the chalets blend in with the surrounds of the bushveld. For every meal, we congregated with our group under the thatch boma to enjoy cold drinks and excellent food, home-cooking at its very best. The safari excursions, whether in a vehicle or on foot, were hugely informative - Bushcamp Company has excellent guides whose knowledge will astound you, and whose humour will keep you entertained for hours, wanting to hear and know more. There are so many surprises that it would be unkind to reveal all... you will not be disappointed, and you will want to go back for more. I am!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Georgie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What an experience having Manda as a guide!!! On our first night drive we saw two leopard, three hyena, herds of puku, impala, ellies, and were treated to sights and sounds of the bush along with Manda's demonstrations of alarm calls. On our first walk we were surprised by an elephant! Manda is the most interesting guide I've had in twelve years of safariing. His knowledge of plants and animals is astounding, and he has a wonderful way of sharing that knowledge with the guests.

Our chalet was very large and nicely decorated, with a good view of the water hole. The handcrafted leadwood double-sink is gorgeous! Food was very good and plentiful. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful without being overly fussy. We just felt completely contented and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I can't compliment Bushcamps enough about the two camps we visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
25.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
207 reviews
33.2 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
67 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 12 in Lower Zambezi National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing