We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here. DEFINITELY coming back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at Bilimungwe camp. I love it here becuase of the central watering hole. The elephants and other wildlife come to drink RIGHT outside your room. It's possible to (literally) lie in bed and see elephants! While we were there, Tim was the camp manager. He was very helpful. Steve was our guide. The food was great, and people were so friendly. We also had opportunity to do some bushwalks with Mulenga and Matthews. This place is SUCH a treat - didn't want to leave. The wildlife really is outstanding and there's a reason I keep coming back.

Room Tip: All four have great views of the central pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusieQBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Manda is the GREATEST GUIDE EVER. Go here just to meet and hang out with him. They served us MONGOLIAN BBQ. Now, I love mongolian BBQ and can't get it here in LA and there it was. In the bush. In Zambia. Wow. The location of the rooms around the water hole is beautiful. Walking safaris great. Just great. Just go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

WOW! This was our first trip to Africa and what a great way to get introduced to this amazing continent. "Bili Camp" was so much more than we expected - the food, service, accommodations, guides, and everything else about this place were outstanding. The camp only has three "chalets" so the experience is very intimate and much more exclusive than staying in some of the larger commercial establishments - a feature that we very much appreciated. We were a little reluctant about the walking safaris but the thrill of walking in the bush and getting up close and personal with such a large variety of animals quickly erased any fears. We would recommend this place 110% to anyone looking for a unique and personalized view of African wildlife.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were excited at the prospect of our first visit to Bilimungwe. The setting is in a lovely location with views over the lagoon. It was great to sit in the bar and watch birds and game including elephants enjoying the water.
The camp is quite intimate with luxurious accommodation, great food and very friendly and capable camp staff and guides.
It is very tempting to stay in camp and enjoy the peace and beauty of Africa from a comfortable seat on the deck. We did however resist temptation and enjoyed some fabulous walks and exciting drives including close sightings of a wide variety of birds and game including giraffe, cape buffalo, kudu, wild dogs, leopard and precocious young male elephants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Bushcamp Company is professional and has great attention to detail. This was our fourth safari and have strong feelings about what we like. Bushcamp Company exceeded our expectations. Bilimungwe is an exclusive camp with only four chalets. This makes for an intimate experience that is very different from camps that house 20 or more guests. There is much more personalized service and a feeling of being much closer to nature in a small camp. The game viewing was outstanding, the lodging and meals superb. It was enjoyable to have lunch and watch the elephants come into the lagoon. For the serious photographer the safari vehicles are well suited and work much better than the open top arrangements used by other vendors. We also stayed in Bushcamp Company’s Kapamba camp which was equally impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Bilimungwe is a truly special experience, even the drive to get there is all part of the fun - we saw 3 lions as well as a host of other wildlife on the way. The camp itself has a great location surrounding a watering hole where you regularly see elephants and other animals, you can even shower outside. Normally you eat delicious meals with the other guests and your guide, which is great fun; on one of the nights we were surprised with a private candlelit dinner on our veranda.

The best part of all of the camps is the walking safaris, this is when you really get to see South Luangwa National Park at it's best. The landscape is stunning and the terrain is perfect. Having visited many of the big parks in Africa, this one is easily the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

It cannot get any better than Bilimungwe for me. I loved the 3 nights we spent there. The watering hole was exciting, the food better than 5 star dining in the U.S. and the walks and drives incredible. The staff are wonderful and having the African wild dogs come into camp a real treat.

Room Tip: My group thought all of the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
102 reviews
25.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
235 reviews
25.0 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
43.4 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
39 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £318 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing