We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality at New Lodge Along the Luangwa River”
Review of Zikomo Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zikomo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We are doing a self-drive camping trip around Africa and we kept hearing great things about Zikomo along the way so we decided to give it a try. We're glad we did! The owners are hands on and among the most hospitable people we have met. We were welcomed on arrival by Zick and Beauty with cool towels and a cold drink and made to feel at home. When the owners Victoria and Damien saw how I struggled with the valley heat, they brought a 12 volt fan to our campsite! Fresh baked goodies arrived too. A spontaneous game drive was offered when lions were heard roaring nearby in the morning. Meals are delicious and plentiful (ala carte or prix fixe) and the views from the bar and library are sensational. Unlike other camps we stayed at along the Luangwa River, Zikomo is not inundated with irksome monkeys. Though we didn't stay in a chalet, they look very nice and comfortable with good spacing between for privacy. Zikomo offers game drives and walks but if you choose to relax on the deck facing the river you'll see all the hippo, puku, impala, crocs, and birds you desire. Wonderful place.


http://www.zikomosafari.com/

Room Tip: If camping, request the site under the big tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fosterkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Traveled with a large group and am sure this was one of the biggest highlights of our trip to Malawi and Zambia. The owners have a strong commitment to the region and their dedication to both hospitality and sustainable tourism is clearly evident. The lodge itself is spectacular and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and meet (actually ANTICIPATE) all of our needs. The safari tours they organized were so spectacular, that when I describe them to others they seem unreal. The national park is an incredible gem and we were amazed at the abundance of animals; lions, giraffe, zebras, elephants and much, much more. Pair this with and the knowledge and respect the guides demonstrated during our trips into the park and it was an experience that would (or should)be a part of anyone’s “bucket list”. Accommodations range from the swanky to those who are travelling via backpack and personal tents. The owners and staff have a strong commitment to education and as long as the traveler is equally keen, I get the feeling they will find a way to make even the budget conscious traveler’s experience one to remember. Having said that, please keep in mind that this region of Zambia, given the density of wild animals, is quite expensive. However, after a lot of investigation, this lodge was definitely priced at a very, very reasonable rate. If you stay of at Zikomo Lodge, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prof_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I could not speak more highly of Zikomo Safari Camp! The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We arrived later than expected but were greeted with a cold drink and face cloth as well as a hot meal. The food was absolutely delicious and the facilities were always clean. The area itself was amazing! The wildlife and scenery that we saw from the grounds itself was incredible, let alone the safari! We were a group of students traveling and so we stayed in our tents (lodges available) but we were amazed as to what we could do with the little money we had! I could endlessly rave about my experience there, so I will end by saying that if you want wildlife, relaxation, adventure, comfort and fun, Zikomo Safari Camp is exactly what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had the pleasure of staying a few nights at Zikomo Camp in May 2013. Firstly, disappointed by the ‘crowds’ in the Mfuwe section of South Luangwa NP, the drive to Zikomo, in the Nsefu sector, was an absolute delight: this a wild place, neatly positioned on the confluence of the old and new Luangwa Rivers. The first person we met was Victoria, an incredible and passionate force for good: the tale of the struggle to establish this camp, along with her husband and the remarkable efforts of her son, Demien, is worth a mention itself (and possibly a book or film in due course!).

The camp comprises of 4 sturdy chalet’s, built on stilts, overlooking the river: beautifully constructed, spacious and stylishly decorated, with an open central dining and bar area, complete with pool. It neatly fits with the wild surroundings, even the local lion thought so as they ‘parked’ themselves beside one of the chalet’s late one afternoon. Zikomo also caters for a small number of pre-booked campers, providing excellent facilities with the option to eat at the lodge and to use their guide and safari facilities, at a fair and sensible price.

Even though we had the benefit of our own vehicle, the early morning walking safari is an opportunity that no one should miss. No drop-offs by vehicle, just a short walk to the old Luangwa River and a short hop by boat (and I mean short) takes you to the island which just sits inside the park. Exploring the island, in the peace and quiet of the early morning, is a real treat: big herds of elephant, plenty of buck and the ever-presence of a large population of predators (not forgetting the incredible range of wonderful bird life). We also enjoyed a ‘road trip’ to the hot springs and the croc and hippo infested riverside of the Nesfu Sector, where Botha’s knowledge, as the resident guide, made a real difference, adding significant value to our short and precious time in the park.

The camp is wonderful, no question, but the real assets lie with the people who work and live there. Led by Victoria and Demien, they are supported by a wonderful cast: Jeff ‘Beautiful’ Banda who leads on front of house; Botha, the gifted and passionate guide; Zick, the attentive and capable assistant manager and Stan the Man, the enterprising head chef, who will feed you well!

Zikomo Camp is a very special place and the warm, friendly ‘family’ atmosphere separates this from many of the ‘standard’ commercial operations that operate in or near the SLNP. We loved being there and highly commend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidSusanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our group of nine visited this camp in early May 2013 for 5 nights – the start of the winter and dry season.
Zikomo is a first class hospitality bush safari camp – if there is one to exist, this is it. The setting alone is spectacular on the Luangwa River, lower Nsefu Sector, and the best of the South Luangwa Valley. This lodge and chalets have been open since July 2012. All rooms & the Lodge are beautifully decorated with handmade textiles from the local village. Everything is very clean with fans and mosquito nets, all chalets have an abundance of privacy. We were able to watch the gorgeous sunsets from our deck. The food is in no short supply and the chef will accommodate any dietary request. All ingredients are fresh and local fare, each meal is a beautiful presentation not to be missed, even when you are not hungry.
The Safari’s were with a trained guide: Ask for Botha he is local and the best of the best. Safe and very informed on animals and natural vegetation. We were shown a different area every outing and left directly from the camp. Game viewing was an amazing adventure, even though you can see a lot from the chalet it is an experience not to be missed. One of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever experienced was with Botha, and of course our personal ‘sundowners’ of choice were available.
Ask for a grand tour of the mechanics of this place and you will be greatly impressed and appreciate how much work this family had put into providing splendid hospitality and the comforts of home off the grid (in America we call it in the middle of nowhere). This is why it has been 5-6 years in the making. Pride and Glory - seeing a dream a reality!
Damian and Victoria (aka..Victory, mama, ma’am, Mrs. Wallace, Tasha) can provide you with all requests and are there to meet your needs to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and have wide smiles on their faces; not just a place to work but a family affair.
Thank you Zikomo for a wonderful time! I cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: My favorite is the last chalet which is closest to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank tamara_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited Zikomo Safari Camp for 5 nights in May and had an incredibly wonderful experience. The accommodations, food, staff and owners -Victoria and Demien were very impressive. The location right on the Luangwa river was spectacular. We went to other camps while there and the game we saw at Zikomo was superb! Sunsets from our personal fully contained deluxe chalets were gorgeous. Our guide, Bota, was a true professional and his knowledge of every little detail in the wild, always held our attention. Trained to put his guests safety first, we always felt comfortable and in good hands. The team at Zikomo; Victoria, Demein, Mary, Bota, Zick, et al make you feel at home, at ease and we just had SO much fun with all of them!! Thank you Zikomo!!!

Room Tip: Just tell Victoria who you are and what you like, then take her recommendation, you can't go wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kauai_Lynn_Tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at Zikomo. As mentioned before, it is on the river.
We had pods of hippos and crocs in front of our cabin.( dont worry it is high up).
The game viewing was excellent and we were there in the "low season". The food was delicious, the staff lovely and our guide Botha was great. I recommend you go. thanks to Victoria and everyone.
carolyn

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolyn17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zikomo s, Manager at Zikomo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kindly

Zick Kolala
Manager
Zikomo Safari Camp
Nsefu sector - South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe
Zambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
8.5 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
198 reviews
8.4 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
242 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
114 reviews
10.2 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zikomo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zikomo Safari Camp

Address: Plot # 24623 | M Nsefu Sector, South Luangwa National Park 0110, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £595 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zikomo Safari is built on the banks of the Luangwa River directly across from the world famous wildlife park; South Luangwa National Park. This peaceful bush lodge and campsite is the perfect setting for your African Photo Safari. Whether you choose a game drive, an exciting bush walk, a visit to the local village, a visit to the hot springs, or time out simply relaxing in a hammock, your visit will amaze you. Only a forty-five (45) minute drive from Mfuwe International Airport, in an area away from other safari lodges, Zikomo Safari is spread under a canopy of ancient shade trees on the banks of the Luangwa River. It is in the Nsefu sector. This sector is one of the least crowded and richest in wildlife areas in the world. Accommodations Our eight hand crafted chalets are well furnished with en-suite bathrooms and private decks from which to view the Luangwa River and wildlife. Each room has a fan, mosquito nets, a sitting area, large screened windows and has enough area around it to maintain privacy. Four of the chalets are raised a meter off the ground and four are ground level with open air bathrooms, so you can shower under the stars. The two family chalets are each different and unique. Chalet #1 or the Lion chalet (lion cubs were born behind this chalet in 2014) sleeps 4 easily. It is a ground level African style chalet with a large mahogany tree in the center of the bathroom giving beauty and shade to the chalet. It features two bedrooms, each with their own bathroom entrance and a porch outside from which you can view the hippos in the river. Chalet #2 is a raised chalet that can sleep 6. It has a king size bed, a recessed curtained off room with a double bed, a single bed, and a loft where 2 single beds can be placed. It has 2 bathrooms; one with a shower, sink and toilet, the other with a full bathtub (and shower) a toilet, and a sink. This chalet is closest to the river and the view is wonderful. Carmine Bee Eaters are prevalent here during September, October, and November so we call it the "Bee Eater". The remaining 3 raised chalets (#s 3, 4 and 5) all sleep 2 to 3 persons and have viewing decks, large bathrooms and large screened windows. The remaining 3 ground level chalets (#s 6, 7 and 8) sleep 2 persons, have open air bathrooms, porches that look over the floodplain and chalet #6 is outfitted for disabled persons with a double wide entrance door and bathroom door, plenty of room around the bed to maneuver a wheel chair and wheelchair friendly bathtub and toilet. . In order to ensure an intimate experience, our maximum capacity is 22 guests. Zikomo Safari is owned and operated by an American family who oversee proficient Zambian managers and staff. Top guides, guides with over fifteen (15) years experience in the Luangwa Valley, work here. Many activities begin and end at the comfortable main lodge, bar and dining room. We offer day and night game drives, walking safaris and a variety of tours. Tours to: • Chichele hot springs, • the local village, • the local animal rescue center, • shopping at Tribal Textiles, • the adjacent island • the main part of the park • the neighboring escarpment to look for sable. When you come to Zikomo Safari we want you to feel at home, because this is our home. Prepare to be amazed, as the Best of Africa awaits you at Zikomo Safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zikomo Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zikomo Safari Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing