We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nkwali Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nkwali Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Oundle, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Oasis...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We are just back from Zambia and the whole trip was fantastic. Nkwali was our first stop and so we were not sure what to expect. Greg and all of his staff were fantastic, such a warm welcome,
and the camp exceeded our expectations. The tent was beautifully appointed with fantastic views
over the Luangwa river, which was low at this time of the year. The outdoor bathroom was very nice, and although personally I would probably prefer an indoor one, that does just not seem to happen in safari camps! The camp was beautifully set out and very artfully designed, with different eating and drinking spots. The food was delicious. Our safari drives were just the best, the leopard sighting with Chilumba was brilliant.

We also loved the swimming pool, it was exceptionally hot while we were there, and we spent a very happy afternoon between safaris watching elephants in the lagoon, just a few metres away from us. Also a lovely warthog, who spent ages trying to improve his appearance with mud !

We didn't see lions while we were there, but weren't worried as we were staying next at Tena Tena, where we had heard there were lots of them. The wildlife in South Luangwa was amazing, the animals seemed so relaxed, giving ample opportunities for great viewings, and we only saw a handful of other vehicles in all the time we were there.

We were very sad to leave, and would have no hesitation in recommending Nkwali.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
49
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

A superb location on the river where you can watch game without having to move. The managers Chloe and Greg are charming and efficient as are their staff. The star however was Obi our game guide and driver; an absolute gem and most interesting to talk to about all things apart from game.

We stayed in Robin's House and two of the Lodges as we were a party of seven. The house I can unreservedly recommend The lodges I am less sure about. They are open to the elements around the roofs which also means open to baboons, insects, ants and in theory leopards of which there are many in the park. at night you can hear hippos outside your room and on the last day an elephant came to our breakfast table just as we left it.

Our shower was full of fallen leaves each morning, our friend had ants regularly in her thermos of drinking water.

To some all this will be a big plus as you are "really" in Africa but frankly I did not like it.

The food was "good honest cooking" no haute cuisine at all, maybe that is what you should expect. I have said the coffee was instant!! Now come on; that's not good enough. The wine was as grim as the coffee.

The tipping policy was $10 per day per visitor; as we were seven that was a big extra bill. You were meant to give it to the manager for distribution; we didn't and gave it where possible directly to the staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the lodges unless you like communing with insects,baboons and other creepy crawlies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidofpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPS2011, Owner at Nkwali Camp, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Your time and effort to give us feedback are appreciated.

We are also very happy that you enjoyed the Robins House and will surely pass on your positive comments to our staff. They will be delighted.

Of course we are sorry that you did not enjoy the camp as much. I understand from your comment that the camp was to close to nature for your liking.

A few comments. This is indeed the time of year that leaves fall from the trees and we do have open showers. We clean out the showers everyday but of course the leaves that fall during the night will be in the bathroom.

We do not serve instant coffee, but filtered coffee using a plunger in the camp. We serve Fleur du Cap, Leopards Leap and Zonnebloem wines which are a respectable brands. We are sorry if you did not like the wine offered and if you would have asked we could have looked at trying to find something different for you.

Tipping policy. We do not have a tipping policy. We do offer guidance for people that are unsure of the amount for a tip. The reason we request that the tipping is handed to the manager is that the service you receive is a team effort and not only the persons you meet. We make sure the tips are distributed evenly to all staff working at the camp. We do offer the option on the tipping envelope to give tips to certain members of staff.

I hope you find these comments fair and just. I would also like to advise you that these issues are best addressed while in camp as we would have loved to have had the opportunity to explain some of these things to you while in camp and also been given the opportunity to address some of your concerns. This would have also helped you in having an even better holiday.

We hope to see you again sometime in the house or at one of the camps!

Very best,
Ton de Rooy
Owner and Managing Director Robin Pope Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

What an amazing setting, with excellent staff and so incredibly welcoming. Greg, the manager, and his team of staff, were constantly making the stay unique and special. The comfort, food, surprises and thoughtfulness that were above and beyond expectation or dream! A constant 'wow' experience. The guides were knowledgeable, the wildlife abundant and the setting serene.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackerto5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Excellent location, amazing food, great game drives and walking safaris, great wildlife, very well trained guides... You can' t ask for much more! The huts are spacious and comfortable and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Perfect setting on the river bank, excellent accommodation facilities, and amazing food. Exclusive service, remote location, very small scale, intimate, warm & friendly. Monkey's, elephants and bush backs are regular camp visitors. What made all the difference though were the people: Especially Obi, our guide: Very knowledgable and experienced, "reading" animals is his second nature, trustworthy right from the moment go. Obi is good with people too thankfully, so we soon felt at ease to ask him all sorts of questions on wildlife & Zambia. We stayed 3 days and were lucky to have the Jeep & Obi all to our ourselves that time. 2 game drives a day: First one from 6am - 11am, afternoon drive from 4pm - 7pm. Water bottles, blankets, drinks & snacks all taken along in the vehicle. We liked the drums calling all camp lodgers into the central dining area at meal times. Lunch at 11.30h and after that some well-deserved siesta time up til 3pm. A timetable the monkeys knew all too well - once we'd all gone off for a snooze, these guys wandered around the camp, looking for crumbs and a quick zip of water from the pool. And pinching the odd toothpaste from the guests' outdoor bathrooms of course ;-)

All in all: Just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Nkwali for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with great hosts Greg and Chloe and their amazing staff. Position by the river is unbeatable as was the delicious food. Guides were brilliant and the different landscapes were amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had a few excellent days in Nkwali Camp. I felt very welcome and really enjoyed my stay here. Seen a lot of game, and got a lot of information about the wildlife from the very knowledgeable guides. The food was great. It was very nice to eat with the staff and get to know more about the camp and RPS. Also very nice if you are on a solo trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needtofindatoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkwali Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkwali Camp

Property: Nkwali Camp
Address: Robin's private land, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Nkwali Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkwali Camp is small, taking only 12 guests, with a great atmosphere. The rooms on the banks of the Luangwa River have ensuite bathrooms with showers open to the skies. The hippos will serenade the dinner on the deck during moonlit dinners and elephant will feed outside the rooms at night. Open all year we boat directly into the park. Robin Pope Safaris has highly trained guides, new vehicles and a ratio of one guide/vehicle per 4 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nkwali Camp Hotel South Luangwa National Park
Nkwali Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing