We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Lodge”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent our first night in Zambia at the Kapani and truly loved our experience. The people were wonderful and the accommodations were great. I have dietary restrictions and they made sure all my meals were delicious. We were very lucky our first day out in the bush. We saw everything in one ride. Our guide, Innocent, said that our drive was excellent and we were very lucky to see so many animals at one time. We were in heaven. It was a great way to start our 2 weeks in Zambia. We highly recommend the Kapani Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEC463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    11
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
27
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were in Kapani for 3 days and it was 1 of our holiday highlights. The whole "campsite" is beautiful and located very close to a "lake" where you can hear/see Hippos, Elephants, lots of Impalas, Baboons and birds. The staff made us feel at home, everyone knows you too so that was a very nice and personal touch. The day and night safaris are great and you do see a lot of animals and get very close to them as well. Highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghnag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In July, we stayed with our three children in this great lodge.
The rooms are comfortable and stylish. De swimming pool is excellent (the best we've had in Zambia). Our guide, Radson, showed us "all" the animals . He explained us a lot about the circle op life in the bush. He was so relaxed and making comfortable for us. Mario, one of the managers, told us a lot about the history of the lodge. Especially the lunch is great. The lodge is about 20 minutes from the entrance of the park but this is not a big problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Kapani Lodge was an excellent base to explore the South Luangwa NP. We saw every African animal you could want to see in the 3 days we stayed at Kapani. The accommodation was excellent as was the food. Best of all, our guide and the young man who spotted for us at night were very knowledgeable and happy to explain details of all the different wildlife to us. In addition, they introduced us to people in the village of Mfuwe and gave us a much better understanding of the life and challenges of the local people. Mfuwe touched me in a special way. I definitely want to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Kapani is a beautiful lodge and we would definitely recommend as somewhere to go with your family. We travelled with children aged 8 and 11 - and they loved using the pool, watching the animals from the room and from the main deck area and obviously going on game drives. We booked a private guide - which I would highly recommend when you are going with children - as it gives you the freedom to go where it suits you and to stay watching animals for as long or short as you want to. The staff at Kapani are fantastic - welcoming, smiling, helpful, everything you could ask for. I had an amazing spa treatment (in the room) and there is a small curio shop and a jewellery workshop to visit. Finally - this is a great stop en route to one of the smaller bush camps. We were three nights at Kapani - and we felt we had got used to where we were, early mornings etc and were ready for the bush! Thank you to everyone at Kapani for a great stay.

Room Tip: Lagoon Suite is perfect for a family. Plenty big enough for all of us to fit in - and still feel th...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, IL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Kapani 3 nights on our safari trip. Out of three lodges the staff here was the friendliest. Without exception every one on the staff was friendly and seemed genuinely happy.
The food was very good. The room was large. The bed was excellent. The shower good and warm. The pool was clean. Everything was organized without being rushed. You are not obligated to eat with all the other guests at dinner (at least in our case). The guide was excellent - he seemed to have a 6th sense on where to find animals. The drive to the park/reserve is not far. And you will see leopards, guaranteed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It's said you should keep the best till last. Our experience at Kapani Lodge was beyond our expectations. Our group of twelve Aussies arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and there began three wondrous days of exploration. Our guides, Brian and Julius were just so knowlegable and helpful in imparting information and seeking out the wildlife.Adam managed (on two occasions) to spot chameleons via spotlight as we were travelling along. The highlight for me was walking with five others, Brian and guard, for a couple of hours through the bush. On our return to the landrover, four giraffe stood sentinel there, and in the background more giraffe and at least twenty zebra came to watch us have morning tea. So very special.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable. Special thanks to Mario, Zillah, Irene and Enoch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#17 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#10 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#12 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#24 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris

Property: Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris
Address: Eastern boundary of the park | On the Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapani is an exclusive, privately owned lodge situated on the banks of a large lagoon, and was originally built by the late Norman Carr. Open all year and accommodating only 12 guests, each of the six suites has an en-suite bathroom and a lounge with bar fridge. According to the season, dining is al fresco with dinner taken on the terrace, on the spacious deck overlooking the lagoon, by the swimming pool or in the lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapani Lodge - Norman Carr Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing