We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk on the wild side .......”
Review of Tena Tena Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tena Tena Camp
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A walk on the wild side .......”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

'New' Tena Tena camp is in a great location in the Nsefu Sector of Luangwa, well positioned for excellent game viewing and a riverside location. The general bar and restaurant are are contemporary and offer a relaxing central facility. The individual tented rooms are well appointed, functioning hot water showers and widely spaced for privacy. The team are friendly, hospitable and provide a highly relaxing environment with great food and menus. Although this park is a bit wild for first timers it does offer a truly special opportunity to see the bush at close quarters and only rarely meet other traffic. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oundle, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We transferred to Tena Tena from Nkwali, which we had been very sad to leave. Tena Tena is
totally different however and we loved it. Truly hidden in the bush, and with only six tents, it blends beautifully into the landscape, and is of no threat to the animals, as proven by the abundance of wildlife in the camp itself. There were lion and leopard footprints almost daily in camp, and goodness are they noisy at night time. And that is apart from the hippos, elephant, impala, puku and warthogs who were also frequent visitors. We were late for breakfast one morning due to elephant on the track, and late back to the tent one night because of hippo. Very exciting place !

The tents were lovely and spacious, with screens to the outside that had to be kept closed at all times. The outdoor bathroom was very nice, with lovely views during the day. Less nice in the middle of the night though, and certainly not for the very faint hearted. However we have some lovely photos, all captioned 'view from the loo'!

The communal areas were beautifully laid out, and like at Nkwali, there was porridge on the fire, and toast cooked over charcoals. The food was very good, and we were exceptionally well looked after by all of the staff.

Bertram was our guide, and we loved him. There were four of us, so we always had a jeep to ourselves, and so were very spoilt and could go wherever we chose. We had some wonderful
viewings, including mating lions (we spent a very happy couple of hours one morning watching them, withdrawing at one stage to a safe distance to have our morning coffee, then returning to within a few feet of them. During the entire time we never saw another vehicle). We also did two walking safaris, and saw four of the big five (there are no rhinos in South Luangwa) whilst on foot.
We always felt very confident with Bertram, even though some of us were way beyond our comfort zone on a couple of occasions.

The policy is to eat evening meals all together, which were lively events as we all swapped stories and happenings. The differing terrain around Tena Tena meant that we never tired of our safari drives, and were very sad to leave at the end of our three days. We loved the whole ethos of the place - animals never to be disturbed or interfered with. Would we recommend it to other people - definitely.

Just a note on the bathrooms being open to the elements. I am frightened of spiders and bugs, so found the night time bathroom visits trying. However, it would never stop me going on safari to places like Tena Tena and Nkwali. It just reconfirms just how wild the bush is.

Room Tip: We were in the tent furthest away from the communal areas, and it was a long walk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As part of out 5 week visit to Africa we visited Tena Tena for two nights after visiting Uganda, Rwanda and Livingstone before moving on to another Robin Pope camp. The camp is in a good location on the River with plenty of wildlife around the camp. The "tents" are very comfortable with open air shower and toilet. Evening meal is a group dinner which is good for discussing the days events and breakfast is a "sun up" on the bank of the river before setting off for an early drive. Great wildlife and birds and a fantastic walking safari between this camp and our next whilst our luggage went by road.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had visited the old Tena Tena 4 times so were eager to see the new camp opened last year. It is even better. A lovely site facing the river it now has large spacious tent accommodation with large bathrooms. There is plenty of space between tents giving a real sense of privacy. As ever with Robin Pope Safaris, the real wow factor is the guiding which is simply outstanding. Bertram, the camp manager, guided us on our walks and drives and we had a fabulous time seeing wonderful game. Definitely on our "go again" list

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Tena Tena is a very fine, intimate camp in the Nsefu Sector of South Luangwa NP. The new tents, outdoor shower and loo are very attractive and spacious, and the staff most attentive. The hippo chorus entertains day and night, and you can expect to hear munching near your tent at night. I was quite impressed with the amount of game in the area. We saw six lion in only two days and our morning walk was interrupted several times by elephant. A leopard visited camp one night during dinner, leaving paw prints along the path and right by our tent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon which included a two night stay at this fantastic location.

The tents themselves are not your typical tent- they are very luxurious and we had no unwelcome visitors whilst we were there that we had experience at a previous camp. Everything was modern and clean and the outdoor bathroom was fantastic! I have to admit I was a little nervous about this part before arriving but once I saw it I realised that I had nothing to worry about as everything was safe and very clean. Our tent overlooked the South Luanga river where we could see and hear hippos bathing - just magical!

The service that we received was of equal standard. Jess and the team were fantastic hosts and really made us feel like they would do anything that they could to make our stay as good as possible. The food that we had was fantastic and there was no shortage of drinks or water.

We were the first people at the camp this year and so on our game drives it felt like we had the park to ourselves (we did not see another safari vehicle at all!). Given that in this area of the park at this time of year the grass was quite high it was a little more difficult to see some of the animals and as we were the only ones there we felt an even greater sense of achievement when we did. Despite this slight challenge we still saw lions, buffalo, elephants, impala, warthogs and many more and so wouldn't want this to put anyone off going- it is just worth bearing this in mind if you did want to go on walking safaris at this time of year which we were advised against doing at that time due to the long grass.

Overall we had a fantastic experience - it was literally the best part of our honeymoon and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you to everyone there for making our stay such a memorable one!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legallyblonde111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had been to the "old" Tena Tena last year and while we loved our stay (the tent, the food, the guiding) we were disappointed that the camp was no longer overlooking the river (we love the sound of hippos!). We went to the "new" site of Tena Tena this month (we stayed there from Aug 14 for 3 nights) and we think it is simply fantastic!! The new tents are very spacious and light, and DO look right out on the river (yes -- hippo sounds galore! The glorious sunrise lights up the sand of the opposite riverbank for an evocative wake-up view). The bed is incredibly comfortable; the hot water bottles quite welcoming! The open-air bathrooms are even more elegant than before, with an artistic combination of branches set into creamy-colored plaster low walls, with a lovely view over the river from the sink and an open shower built into a shady tree. The main area is similarly designed with incredible lead-wood chairs scattered about and amazing lead-wood bar. Every meal was delicious; the staff were friendly and hospitable; Bertram was a delightful and fantastic guide, along with our spotter Robert. One of the game viewing highlights was our "sunrise safari" where we left camp at 4:30 am to be in the salt pans area for sunrise -- simply fantastic (and we had a wonderful experience with 10 hyenas too, along with lions and leopards along the way!).

Room Tip: we stayed in tent 3, but they all seem equivalent and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#19 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tena Tena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tena Tena Camp

Property: Tena Tena Camp
Address: South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Tena Tena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tena Tena Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing