We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tafika Camp
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsremote africaschool childrencentral pointsmall frogswalking safarinearby villageluangwa riverentire tripgame drivesvillage visitnocturnal animalsgracious hostsafternoon gamenatural materialsvery special placemfuwe airportmosquito netting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our first trip to Africa was made even more special by choosing Tafika for our first camp. We were met at the airport, guided round any red tape, and taken to the camp without any stress or worry.

Individual, well spaced reed huts facing the river, with constant hot water, very private. With two big beds covered by a massive mossie net at night. The wash and shower area are uncovered, electric lanterns are in the bedroom and wash area. The floors are varnished brick with mats.

John and Carol Coppinger and all the team, too many to mention are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. They always seem genuinely interested in our opinions, what we had seen or would like to see on our safaris etc. they take enormous pride in their country and camps making sure everyone has the best time possible.

We were particularly impressed by how knowledgable and keen all the guides are. They all work extremely hard and have to pass exams to get different levels of guidiing. They take a real pride in their work and so make spending time with them such a pleasure. We went in the dry season so were lucky enough to see giraffes, hippos, elephants, Wilderbeast, crocs, zebras, all wandering round at the river at the same time. We had several sightings of wild dogs, lions, hyenas, vultures and many many smaller animals and birds.

We also have to agree with all the other reviewers about the food, it's just so good, fresh, varied and good quality. Freshly baked bread, cakes, quiches, lots of fresh veg and salads, even one evening roast beef and Yorkshire pudding! You certainly don't go hungry.

You can do walking or jeep safaris, the spotlit night safaris to see nocturnal animals after the Sundowner of your choice every evening are brilliant. The guides have such sharp eyesight! Spotting a leopard in the dark just from the glow of its eye in the spot, we couldnt see it was a leopard even with binoculars. We drove over and followed it for ages. He wasn't at all bothered by us. The baboons were bothered by him judging from the noise they made!
The micro light trip in the morning is brilliant, not to be missed!

We went on to a couple of other camps owned by the Coppingers, Chikoko and Mwaleshi. They were smaller walking camps. More rustic, but equally well run, exciting and enjoyable.

We had an amazing time here only trouble is getting the money together to go again, it's addictive, be warned!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2003millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Tafika is remote, beautifully situated by the Luangwa river and surrounded by wildlife. We had previously stayed at another lodge and the transfer to Tafika was seamless. We were welcomed by John Coppinger and his wife Carol and we soon felt very much at home. The atmosphere was informal, the rooms were beautifully in keeping with the surroundings and very comfortable indeed. One can sit with a cocktail and watch the buffalo, hippos and other wildlife from the comfort of the camp.
The grounds are full of mature trees and full of birdlife, there is also a hide which overlooks a manmade watering hole which invariably attracts game for you to view at very close quarters.
The staff were helpful, friendly and extremely capable. The food is excellent, freshly baked bread and cakes seemingly appear from nowhere. The game drives and walks were always remarkable.
We also were able to buy some fabulous, hand-painted fabrics from the Luangwa which Heather displayed on request in the bar area.

We can't wait to stay there again!

Sam & Phil

Room Tip: There have been some reviews here which have complained about the insect life. We had no problem with insects and Tafika made every effort to keep this to a minimum.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamS4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was our second stay in Tafika, the first time we have revisited a camp in 11 years of travelling in Africa. We were not disappointed, within a few hours we were out on a night drive with Brian watching Leopard feeding on a recent kill, a scene that became more dramatic as a Hyena moved in and stole the carcass. This quality of sighting is typical of what you can expect at Tafika, supported and informed by expert guides with a depth of local knowledge. The hide in camp and at the Carmine Bee Eater colony are both well worth a visit and the microlight flights with John give a fresh and rewarding view of the area together with a very different view of animals and birds.
The camp and chalets are simple, but spacious and comfortable providing everything you need. Meals are of a high standard well balanced and varied, using a lot of fresh produce from their own garden.
John, Carol and their team work hard to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere that allows guests to get the best experience out of their stay in this special place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeakTravellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Getting to Tafika Camp entailed a long drive from the Mfuwe Airport, but it was definitely worth it! We had a wonderful 4-night stay at Tafika in September 2012 on our first trip to Zambia. The reed and thatch chalet was large and comfortable with an open-air shower and vanity area. We could hear the hippos and elephants wandering through the camp each night munching on the trees and shrubs just outside the chalet.

The food was excellent with fresh produce from their garden and delicious baked sweets each day. We enjoyed the communal dining with staff members, owners Carol and John, and guests from all over the world. This helped create a family atmosphere in the camp, and you felt that you had old friends from the very start. We both found the microlight flight to be well worth the extra expense -- it is amazing to go aloft at dawn and fly over the river viewing elephants, buffalo, hippos and even a pride of lions. We strongly urge future guests to not miss that opportunity.

The camp staff and guides are well-trained and interesting. We enjoyed having several different guides and getting their varied perspectives and stories. We had the best night drives here -- lots of lions on the hunt, leopards having their kill stolen by howling hyenas -- it felt like being in the middle of a Nat Geo documentary! We couldn't have picked a better place to begin our travels in Zambia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our first trip to South Luangwa and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place. We spent four nights at this wonderful camp. The accomodations were pure Africa, reed and thatch tents that were so comfortable. The wildlife was unbelievable. Bryan Jackson was our guide and he did a marvelous job. We enjoyed the walking tour and especially the microlight flight. Carol and John, the owners, were great hosts. We enjoyed lunch and dinner with other guests of the camp. The meals were more than delicious. They have a garden which provides fresh veggies, so good! Hoping to return there, definately a destination not to be missed !

Room Tip: All are great
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bspTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews