We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
72
13
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
13
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath robin pope safaris luangwa river a special trip game drives safari experience amazing lodge smaller things an abundance of wildlife elephants crossing plunge pool south africa mfuwe airport main gate dry season walking safari our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The welcome could not have been warmer, the food was very good and the guiding was excellent.
Even though it was March and therefore the lodge was only recebntly open, the pool was useable and I spent a lovely afternoon alternating between the sunlounger and the pool.
My rating is very good rather than excellent only in comparison to the subsequent lodges.
The chalets were very comfortable, although I am less sure about the large picture window in the bathroom as there are people who walk by the chalets....

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent 5 nights at this camp - now called Luangwa River Camp, and part of the Robin Pope Safari group. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, food is very good, and the game drives were excellent. Our guide (Braston) was well informed and enthusiastic.
The hosts, Tom & Alison, were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - they laid on a camp fire on our last night so that we could have our drinks round the fire!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The lodge is superbly located overlooking the Luangwa River. From here you venture out to great game drives or, which we would highly recommend, the game walks in the morning. Game is abundant in this area - we were on many Safaris before (South Africa, Namibia and Botswana), but we have never had an opportunity to see lions and leopard during a single walk ! The staff of Luangwa River Lodge is very competent, helpful and also very friendly. The rooms, or rather individual cottages, are tastefully and functionally furnished in Safari style , very spacious and offer a comfortable space to relax in privacy, just surrounded by the sounds of the wilderness. The lodge is a rather intimate place - not as big as many others in this or in other areas, which is great as you get the attention and the individual service you want. If you really want or need it, you can even get cell phone signal and wireless internet access - but who wants that ? ;-) We will definitely come back when we are in Zambia next time.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ORT2MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We have just come back from a two part honeymoon in Zambia. The first part being here at the lodge

We really wanted an authentic safari, not a one or two day drive in a part where the guides radio to each other where the animals are. We really wanted to feel we were the only people in Africa on safari! That might be wrong, but we wanted an "Out of Africa" experience.

Boy if you want that then come here. We seen so much and so many times and with the most amazing local guide.

As a honeymoon resort, the service was great, the team really friendly and nice, the lodge was spotless, we had a beautiful room.

We had a really lovely start to our honeymoon here.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TWA_W4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

This was my third time to LRL and it keeps getting better each time I stay there. The chalets are cool, comfortable and well designed with a large tub and seperate shower, comfortable beds and fine linens. The food is first class, the chef should be in a 5 star restaurant! The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. There are two game drives a day with a down time in the afternoon heat to rest, swim in the pool or catch up on writing a journal. The highlight of the trip was a night spent under the stars in a mosquito net tent on the banks of the Luangwa River with guards and firepits to keep the wildlife at a safe distance. Easy access into the park which has an incredible amount of wildlife. Looking forward to my fourth trip to LRL at a future date.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews