We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
70
10
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
10
0
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobin pope safarisluangwa rivergame drivessafari experiencenational parkhis knowledgesouth africastayed for nightsyvonnebuffalolodgezambiateamaccommodationlionswildlifeguide
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful and friendly service oriented staff, five star food and beverage, accomodation and amazing game veiwing. A great 'Africa' experience! Small negative is the river crossing to go on game drives - but does not detract from the overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: All are great. The are only a few but the higher thre number, the further the walk.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a pure luxury in the bush - maybe a little too much, but we enjoyed it very much. Each room has a sunken bath, which overlooks a view of the lagoon.

You reach the lodge by boat each day, and pick the vehicle up the other side (Emerald Season). We were treated to a lovely treat of a sundowner on the opposite side of the bank of the river, with an amazing selection of drinks and nibbles.

We had Victor as our guide and he has been with the property for years, so knows the area very well. He was both friendly and experienced and very PATIENT. He took us to a stork colony and we sat for quite a long time just watching - it was a special moment.

The food was great as were all the staff. Rooms cleaned impeccably as was our washing.

RPS acquired this property last year, and though it is different from the other 'camps', it is still a great lodge, although not as authentic as staying in Tena Tena or Nkwali.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This lodge was taken over by RPS in 2011 since that time the character has literally been ripped out of the place and the standard of service has nose dived. Our transport from the airport was a rundown and later broken down safari car that would not have been out of place on a scrap heap. Despite the 5 star prices the food was barely of a hospital standard. some days desert was simly a cut up apple, hardly what you would expect for the price paid. The location remains stunning and the staff friendly. The wild life and the national park remained top drawer but RPS feels like a company on the decline and there are far better places to stay giving far better value for money. We would not book with RPS again after this experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Arrived off the Proflight Lusaka flight straight from BA from London (nice easy transfer). Very warm welcome at Mfuwe airport from the RPS guys who took u straight to the lodge through the park and then by boat hop across the river. The lodge is set right on the river bank, with direct access to the park by the river, so great views of the park and passing wildlife.

Lovely warm welcome from Sebastian and the team with cold drinks and towels to freshen up with. Here for 3 nights as the start of our emerald season trip, the lodge was great - nice large rooms (with ellies outside as we arrived - which made for an interesting walk to lunch through the bushes!!) with folding doors along the front, enabling you to open up and fully appreciate the view of the river (and make the most of what little breeze there was). Nice big bed with net, which was turned down for us every night, and a big bathroom with good shower and sunken bath!

Excellent food, kicking off with breakfast at 0545 (before heading off by boat over the river to the waiting truck), elevenses on the hoof at a convenient spot during your drive, lunch at 11.30, afternoon tea at 3.30 and dinner at about 8.30...could hardly get the game viewing in for the eating!!

The game was fantastic - we were here a year ago and saw NO leopards, but this time (no pressure on guide Freddie....!) we did have 4 sightings, 6 leopards, including a mum and two cubs up a tree with a kill. Beautiful creatures - it was worth the wait and two trips! Also plenty of other things to look at - ellies, giraffe, zebra, lions, buffalo, and amazing array of birds. Seeing the wildlife was not difficult, despite it being the 'green' season - and the animals looked in good shape, with plenty of sightings of large groups of Impala/Puku.

This lodge has direct access to the park and is a little way from the main gate, so if you are up early you can get away from the crowds. We did see other trucks during our drives but the guides are good at minimising the number of trucks in one place. In the wet, many of the tracks are impassable, leading to the trucks being more likely to be more often in the same place at the same time, but it was hardly the Mara or Ngorogo with 50 trucks at a sighting...This makes it sound like S Luangwa is incredibly busy but at least at this time of year, it's not heaving with people - you might see half a dozen trucks individually from time to time on a drive, but it's really not that busy.

Overall, a nice, relaxed camp with good facilities (take your cossie to have a dip in the pool), excellent food, wonderful game viewing and a great team looking after you. What more could you want!!

Room Tip: They're all great and the same.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The welcome could not have been warmer, the food was very good and the guiding was excellent.
Even though it was March and therefore the lodge was only recebntly open, the pool was useable and I spent a lovely afternoon alternating between the sunlounger and the pool.
My rating is very good rather than excellent only in comparison to the subsequent lodges.
The chalets were very comfortable, although I am less sure about the large picture window in the bathroom as there are people who walk by the chalets....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews