We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale
1 review
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I would highly recommend Kapamba Bush Camp to anyone considering a trip to the South Luangwa. The camp is serene and remote, but full of life and incredible animal viewing. The food was 5 star (they feed you every 3 hours and it's delicious!!) The room was comfortable and decorated beautifully. The tub filled with 2,000 litres of water and was perfect after a long day in the jeep. The staff was incredibly accommodating in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Coming to our third bush camp in the South Luangwa National Park was delightful. We already knew to expect great service, wonderful food, morning walks/drives and night drives spotting numerous animals, birds and other creatures. The personnel took fine care of us, the accommodations were luxurious with private room, king sized bed, even a "plunge pool" and time to rest during the afternoon. Highly recommend it to travelers seeing adventure in the bush in relative comfort.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the end, far from the crowd (although there are only 4 and each very private).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irabindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wow!

I stayed at Kapamba for three nights earlier this year. I was transferred from another camp to Mfuwe Lodge where all guests who were being transferred to the bush camps enjoyed lunch before heading on our way. It was the first safari for one of the other guests so Malcolm (driver/guide) took his time and stopped for photos and to tell us some interesting facts and stories. I had the furthest to drive so I managed a sneak peek at Kuyenda and Chamilandu - both look beautiful (in different ways) and I would love to stay at either (or both!) in future.

I needed a few relaxing days after 3 weeks away (mostly on safari), so I decided against doing the morning walks. I really enjoyed being the only guest in camp for those few hours and spent the time reading and watching the river flow by. There was always an unobtrusive staff member nearby if I needed anything.

All meals at Kapamba were delicious and plentiful and very warmly hosted by Brinsley. I really liked that James (guide) joined us for meals as well. He was quietly spoken but always had something interesting to contribute to our conversations.

One of our night drives produced two very special moments for me, and both were firsts for our guide. First of all we saw a big male leopard with the remains of a baby hippo he had killed and taken into a tree. This was followed up by a fight between four hyenas and 5 lionesses which a grumpy elephant then got involved in.

I cannot recommend highly enough the bath/plunge pool in the bathrooms. You really should make time for a leisurely soak.

As much as I love South Luangwa, it can get really busy near the main gate. One of the highlights of being in this part of the park was that I don’t think we saw or heard another vehicle during my stay, except for those transferring guests in or out.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Kapamba or one of the other Bushcamp properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelstarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed three nights in July and can only echo all the other reviews of Kapamba. The camp's setting on the river is lovely, and the décor of the bedrooms, dining and lounge areas is absolutely stunning. The service and food were really first class, thanks to the great staff led by Brinsley. Wildlife wise the highlight was seeing a pack of wild dogs two days in a row, just finishing off their kill. Would definitely recommend Kapamba.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked the whole place with the family and stayed for just one night, we travelled from Flatdogs camp and it was really well worth the 3 hour drive. When we arrived all the staff were waiting to welcome us which was a lovely touch. It was great to see a different part of the park and we enjoyed the seclusion and the game viewing all to ourselves!! The sundowners are a very special experience watching the sunset whilst drinking G&T's and paddling in the river. The staff, service and food are really top class and the rooms are in a great setting. We loved the deep baths overlooking the river and watching the elephants having a drink. The game viewing was fantastic we were lucky enough to spot a Jackal, we played hide and seek with a couple of leopards, saw a family of hyena and lots of elephants which all trumpeted at us when we drove past. We would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0CASEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've just had 3 nights at this fabulous bushcamp, after staying at Mfuwe Lodge. Kapamba is great. Stunning, stylish rooms in the middle of nowhere! Excellent service and delicious food. Incredible huge bath/shower, looking out over a lovely view. Manager Brinsley did a great job. All staff very friendly. Best of all was the wildlife, of course! We had leopards, elephants, giraffe, lions and fabulous birds on our 3 day visit. Was very sad to leave - but happy to get to visit two other camps (Bilimungwe and Chamilandu) which were equally fabulous!

Room Tip: All four rooms have great views and similar decor, so not much to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Kapamba Bushcamp was fabulous! The staff is amazing, the tour guides are knowledgable, and the food is to die for! The wildlife is beautiful and the rooms are neat and clean. The rooms are also very open, which is nice. Brinsley was a very welcoming host, James and Godfrey shared some fascinating facts about animalss, and Dixon and Philimon made the best food ever. I highly recommend your stay at this wonderful camp.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a remote corner of the southern section of The South Luangwa National Park lies The Bushcamp Company's Kapamba, a camp that combines the isolation and superb game-viewing opportunities of a true bushcamp with a touch of luxury. Enjoy a sundowner on the riverside deck or sink into your own private plunge pool as the wildlife ambles past. Camp can accommodate up to eight guests in four spacious thatched chalets and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from May to January). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing