We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most picturesque bathroom EVER”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Most picturesque bathroom EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Amy and Claire hosted my family like Bush Camp was their own house. Like the lodge, the food was fabulous, the accommodations luxuriant, and the staff excellent. Unlike the lodge, we got the opportunity to really spend time with the staff and the wildlife. We soaked like hippos in the huge tub overlooking real hippos soaking in the river. We felt like the only people out there. On drives, we saw lots of animals and no other trucks. We went on walks that gave us a completely different appreciation of the Bush. It was really hard to leave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I spent two nights in Kapamba Bushcamp with my parents and the experience was one in a million. The attentive staff were second to none, the rooms were luxurious, the food was delicious, and we were really sad to leave! Our guide Fannuel had the knowledge of about 20 encyclopaedias and we saw so many amazing animals - from a millipede to an elephant! The walking safari was a brilliant experience - looking at hyena tracks, finding out whose dung was whose (!) - it was amazing. We would all love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thanks Brinsley for the care you and the team at Kapamba gave when we visited in December. Those huge 'bath' tubs were equally relaxing in hot weather (like a very large pool of cool water) and in the cooler weather after the rain with the water heated just a little for a long relaxing soak. Wonderful food and scenery topped it off. Thank you again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Someotherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I booked my 16 day trip to Zambia with Yellow Zebra Safaris and they did an excellent job. I spent 3 nights at the Waterberry Zambezi Lodge in Livingstone, 6 nights at Mfuwe Lodge, and then went down to Kapamba Bushcamp.

The drive down was a game drive in itself - saw elephants, grays buck, common daica, birds and a boom slang snake resting in a crook of a tree! After about a 3 hour drive, we arrived. I was not sure what to expect, never having been to a 'bushcamp' before, but I can assure you this was luxury!!! Large rooms, comfy beds, and a plunge pool in the room!! how great is that!!

The welcome was warm, the food prepared by Dixon superb, the attention from Mwase to my every need - exceptional and with Brinsley the camp manager always there to talk and share your stories, it could not have been better.

Game plentiful and varied!!!!

a suggestion- if this is after your stay at Mfuwe Lodge or one of the other South Luangwa sites, I would recommend going back up to Mfuwe to overnight for your flight departure the next morning - especially if your Mfuwe flight departure is early. My departure was for Monday 10:10 and even though I was booked to stay at Kapamba, I followed the recommendation to go back up to Mfuwe on Sunday. Glad I did.

a big thank you to all the staff - it was truly memorable and I enjoyed every minute (even the kamikaze cicadas!)

Room Tip: there are only 4 lodges/chalets and they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Me and my father in law spend 3 nights at Kapamba bush camp. After a 3,5 hour drive from Mfuwe lodge - which is a game drive at it self - we arrived. It was even better than expected. AFter a warm welcome from the staff we had lunch at 11AM (the days starts at 6 AM so it was about time). Just like every meal, this lunch was great (do it yourself pizza). The chef is incredible, and how they cook like this in such a remote place is hard to imagine.

The chalets; ridiculous! Large, bueatifull view, great beds, double bathtub, with two douches. Very clean and well maintaned.
The staff; perfect, very nice people, we had good fun during diner etc. with everybody. Fennel, our guide was definitly the best I have ever seen. He took time to explain, had a great bush eye (he sees a mouse in 1 kilometre!). We got to see leopard, lion, bush pig (very rare), wild dogs, etc. etc. To much to mention.

If you like safari + good food this is the place to be!

P.s. I think november is a good season, very dry!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giel-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Kapamba Bushcamp is definitely luxury bushcamp accommodation in an idyllic setting on the banks of the Kapamba river. From our deck we could see elephants and water buffalo visiting the river, which was drying up at this time of year, for a drink. There were also lots of colourful birds drinking or catching insects. It was hard to leave the deck to go for our meals. The food at the camp was excellent and varied and vegetarians well catered for. The staff at the camp were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and so kind. The camp only caters for 8 people so is very quiet and there is only the sounds of the animals at night. We were escorted from and to our rooms after dark in case any animals were around. The rooms are open with gates on the front which are left open during the day letting in lots of air and are shut at night by the staff, so that you can see out but are safe from the elephants and other animals which graze just outside the rooms. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean and sometimes comes complete with a resident frog or lizard. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 139Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day safari in Zambia and part of our stay was at the Bushcamp Company Kapamba Lodge. The location was stunning along the dried up river bed and surrounded by the wild bush. Our accommodation was exceptionally comfortable and boasted a wonderful large bathtub where you laze in the cool water during the hot afternoons. The staff were wonderful providing advice, information, excellent game drives and exceptional food. We loved the elephants that wandered casually through the camp. I tried to read my books but there were just too many distractions! We enjoyed a fantastic stay and Kapamba has our full recommendation!

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views and the beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a remote corner of the southern section of The South Luangwa National Park lies The Bushcamp Company's Kapamba, a camp that combines the isolation and superb game-viewing opportunities of a true bushcamp with a touch of luxury. Enjoy a sundowner on the riverside deck or sink into your own private plunge pool as the wildlife ambles past. Camp can accommodate up to eight guests in four spacious thatched chalets and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from May to January). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapamba Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing