We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old bull still the best...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Once again, I return to what is my favourite 'bush camp' in the South Luangwa valley. There is no better combination than, Kakuli, Aubrey(senior guide) and Batwell(scout) to deliver close encounters whilst on walking safari but under safe guidance.
The water was high enough to traverse many of the tributaries when on boating safari and so provided excellent photo opportunities with varied wildlife and birds.
This was the emerald season at its best.
The luxury tents are well planned, plenty of space and natural light and beautifully situated overlooking the river.
The food here was excellent and all the team were very efficient at their work.
Fantastic sunsets, great game viewing and I will never forget the brunch prepared for me on top of the riverbank under the shade of an ebony tree, cooked English breakfast to order avec a 'G and T' in hand. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Go with the flow. I have stayed at each of the tents/chalets here and each one has that special feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our second camp and it was perfect. The manager, Katie was absolutely wonderful. When one of our party was ill, she arranged for a boat to take him to the locum doctor. No fuss, just brilliant organisation. On our last day there, Katie organised a English cream tea, with scones etc. That evening we had a wonderful meal with her and Benny the chef did us proud. We had the odd visitor, but unfortunately it wasn't Dixon, but what wildlife did appear made up for not seeing him. The river was fairly low, so there was a slightly restricted view of the wildlife, but that didn't mar our enjoyment of the trips. This is a bird-fancier's paradise. One could sit at the bar area and watch the wildlife. A bit too hot for me to go on any walks, but our friends did and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: They are all within easy reach of the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We spent 3 nights and just like the other 3 camps it did not let us down. Aubrey, Amy, Batwell and the rest of the team made our stay memorable. Aubrey went out of his way to to make sure we saw as much as we could on the drives. We also learnt so much on a walk, it was a shame it was so hot as we couldn't walk for long. The view from the rooms and bar area was superb and so relaxing just sitting and watching Lions,Giraffe's, Wart Hogs, Impala and not forgetting Hippo's all within feet of each other. Also with the Elephants walking and feeding in the camp everything was fantastic. Thanks all at Kakuli.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent 4 nights at Kakuli early October and can highly recommend it. Everything about this place is spot on: location, service, food, staff, accommodation... we loved it all. Dixon (mentioned by some of the reviews in 2011) still visits the camp and can be naughty at times. But this actually makes the camp even nicer. Our guiding tours (walking and driving) were beautiful. Our incredibly knowledgeable guide/camp manager Aubrey and scout Batwell worked so well together. Their enthusiasm for the wild life after spending decades already in South Luangwa is contagious. Ian was hosting the camp in absence of Amy, we met both of them. Their friendliness and professionalism made us feel truly at home.
One of the reviewers below describes Kakuli a little like camping; I would disagree. The chalet offers all necessary conveniences and a 5 star bed. It is genuine bush camp luxury.
Before Kakuli we also stayed 3 nights at Nsolo. We will definitely travel with Norman Carr again and hope to be back for the green season.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

spent two nights and it was fantastic. Amy and her team were friendly and helpful. All our needs were catered for. Game drives - again fantastic - saw the "big game" - lions, leopards, elephants, elands, hyenas ..... Food was great... rooms were superb. animal sounds at night was awesome. view from the rooms and bar was fantastic. would go there again and again and again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsmailLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spent 2 nights here last year and just want to say it was worth it. Every need catered for including vegetarian menu specially made for us. Whatever we wanted was never a problem. Everyone serving with a smile and everyone friendly. All the animals seen whilst on the drives. Would recommend it over and over again, keep up the great service guys.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this camp for 2 nights at the end of the emerald season. We are fans of the small, rustic bushcamps so this was exactly what we love. All the staff at the camp were brilliant, the guiding was excellent & we had some of the best food that we have eaten in Africa. Camp drives by boat were different and we saw far more than we had expected to. We also enjoyed some good walking. This is a camp that we hope to return to in the dry season.

Room Tip: We had the room furthest from the main area. It was cooler but all 4 rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
88 reviews
0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#26 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
78 reviews
0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris

Address: Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £434 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Kakuli’ means old buffalo bull – this beautiful camp has four traditional walk-in safari tents each with outdoor en-suite bathrooms made from natural materials. The bar and dining Chitenje forms the centre point of camp and, along with the rooms, is on an elevated stretch of river bank overlooking a wide grazing lawn/lagoon that follows the Luangwa River. The views from Kakuli are spectacular with the camp having regular visits from elephants, leopard and antelope. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kakuli Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing