We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Haddington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We walked from Nsolo to Luwi with Brian guiding us and we were almost in camp before we spotted it - so well is it integrated into its surroundings. We had an amazing room built round a tree and with a fabulous open outlook over the river We enjoyed wonderful meals, esecially the braai on the dry river bed. The hippo hide is magical and we spent a long time in there observing these fascinating animals and taking photos. We were very sad to leave - but we were moving on to Mchenja...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My parents recently visited the Luangwa valley and stayed with Norman Carr Safaris. After having been on so many safaris in other African countries before, they said this was the best out of all of them. The service provided must have been outstanding (Innocent, their guide, went out of his way to find Roan and Eland Antelopes for them!). Thanks to all the staff at NCS for making my parents so very happy!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena_2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Although Luwi is a great base for walking, it was so hot that we could only walk very early in the morning. This did not stop us from the experience we had with guide Brian whom was so enthusiastic about Camp Luwi that we didn't miss a thing. We had Hippo's singing, Lions mating and roaring all night. Luwi is the most isolated camp of all the NCS. With open air ensuites you were really out in the heart of the bush. Brian and host Tom made the stay there fun. Food excellent. A great stay all round.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great for walking safari and hippos. We got really close to elephants and lions on foot. The food was excellent and top quality, with the BBQ on the dried river bed a highlight. Wonderful open air showers

Room Tip: All the rooms were execllent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Luwi Bush Camp on the 23rd August 2012, with Iona (Temporary Manager) & the team including Brian the main Guide at the Camp, it was so much fun, great food (profiterols - yum), great gin & tonic & the Hippo Hide - what a brilliant place! The lodgings are great, such comfy beds - we just loved the place, it was very sad to go, but we just moved to the Nsolo Bush Camp....

Room Tip: It's a small bush camp so it doesn't matter they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovysho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you're looking to do a walking safari, go to Zambia. And if you're in Zambia, go with Norman Carr Safaris; we can't recommend them enough.

We stayed at three of the five Norman Carr Safari lodges in South Luangwa for two nights each. The safaris are all-inclusive, so you don't have to think about anything at all when you're there - go a bit crazy and have that second Amarula on the rocks watching the sun set and the impala chase one another around the river bed... You will be spoiled rotten and yet feel adequately adventurous; it's just the right amount of luxury but with a rustic touch. If you want a modern but sterile lodge and be driven around all the time - these aren't for you - you may have to put up with the odd bug and lions roaring nearby, but that just adds to the fun.

Luwi was our first stop and we then proceeded to Nsolo and Mchenja. We liked doing it this way as you see progressively more game as you go along - though we spoke to other guests who liked the reverse; see lots of big cats etc then head to the more remote camps to appreciate the smaller things.

Either way, and although we genuinely liked all the places we stayed for different reasons, we in the end think Luwi was our favourite (Tara, Brian you can gloat if you like!) The reasons for this are mostly that it's the most remote of the camps, so you really do have the sense of having the whole place to yourself. as you won't run into any other vehicles or groups which you tend to at Mchenja. Also the hippo hide gives you such a good spot to sit and watch the grumpy old things; we had lions roaring around camp at night - and I got to see four warthog babies running right past the lodge behind mum with their tails up, which is a good reason to stay up during siesta if you can manage it!

The rooms at Luwi are amazing, especially the one we had - which was built around a tree - and what those guys can do with woven grass in the bathroom is something else. The service was terrific by Edwin - and on the walks Brian and Edgar were knowledgable and make you feel perfectly safe wandering about on foot - they've also got some great stories to tell - our advice is always make sure you talk to the Scouts as well as the guides, these guys are amazing.

Luwi is a must-do as part of the NCS package and we'd love to be able to come back. All the best, guys!

E&T

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunswick_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

After walking to Luwi from Nsolo Bush Camp, I enjoyed an amazing stay in this camp that is a beautiful and isolated bush camp. Since the focus is on walking, this was a truly quiet and intimate experience with only a few chalets nestled together. While I loved night drives, they were admittedly challenging for the staff over terrible roads. This is a place meant for exploration by foot, and there is much to see and appreciate. I also happily lost all sense of time sitting in the small hut built at the edge of a lagoon nearby that is full - all year long - of many hippos, crocodiles and wading birds. After staying at the dry surroundings at Nsolo, I enjoyed walking around the surroundings at Luwi with more pools of water and the lagoon. Things were greener and allowed for different kinds of animal viewing (although I saw plenty of game at Nsolo). This was an ideal progression from Nsolo to Luwi (and then on to Mchenja). As I said in my review of Nsolo, in the vein of the three bush camps in which I stayed, the staff is all highly interactive with the guests, which makes the stay much more personal, warm and genuine. Luwi was a sweet, peaceful gem in the middle of nowhere from which I could really appreciate all the sounds and sights of the bush and learn a great deal from the experienced and passionate guide, Brian.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
618.7 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
632.1 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
622.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#22 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris

Property: Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris
Address: Luwi River, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you can witness the second biggest wildebeest migration on earth, discover various species of rare and endangered birds, follow cheetah hunts in the plains or watch clans of up to 50 hyenas at their den. Renowned for its sweeping vistas and abundant wildlife, the camp (designed by same architects as Chinzombo), comprises six luxury villas and is the only permanent camp in the Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luwi Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing