We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp with height of luxury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The bush camp was a height of luxury, the hosts Tamsin and Brendan made us feel very special. Whilst here we did a walking safari which was fascinating as we were able to get close to the animals and an affinity with the land. Peter our guide was very knowledgeable and told about us all about the flora and fauna of the bush and about the healing powers of certain plants. It was during this walk that we came across a leopard tortoise, which is rarely seen. A wonderful experience not to be missed. John & Barbara F

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Chindeni is one of our favorite bush camps. Why else would we bring groups of friends here year after year? Like the outdoors and wildness of the bush? You'll get it here. Want to see lots of wild animals wondering around outside the camp? You'll get it here. Want luxury while you enjoy the bush? You'll get it here. Want the best food and service anywhere? You'll get it here. Don't want crowds of people when you go on game drives. Won't get them here. Enough said?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaHopeFund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Chindeni is simply stunning. It cannot be called a "camp" since it has all the luxury of a lodge, but the intimacy of only 4 cabins. Beautifully and tastefully designed, inside there is an open plan sleeping and bathroom area, with shower and all the comforts of home. Solar power makes the camp very eco-friendly.
The view from the outside deck area is fantastic, and we could see a variety of animals drinking at the waters edge.
Our guide Peter was excellent, as was our tracker. We had some wonderful animal sightings at night, including several leopards, hyenas,and an aardvark. The morning bush walks were great, we learnt a lot and got a real feeling for the sight and sounds of Africa.
Food as expected didn't disappoint. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chindeni.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

After our stay at Chamilandu we then went on to Chindeni, another Bush Camp, part of the BushCamp company. This was a tented camp which was simply incredible. The tents were luxurious and were situated on the banks of the lagoon with lots of game in the distance on the open plain. The Chindeni hills provided a beautiful backdrop to the camp, with our morning breakfast spent watching the sun rise over the hills - something i will remember for a very long time! We had some incredible game viewing and on our first evening, saw vultures feeding on a kill, watched from the camps deck! The managers, Tamsin and Brendan made our stay perfect and were always there to help. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We thoroughly recommend this trip into the bush and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We enjoyed Chindeni very much. The view of the lagoon provided for excellent game viewing and spectacular sunrises. To call this a tented camp is a bit of an understatement-these are very luxurious accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Misti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I spent two nights here on a trip to the South Luangwa National park that took in a couple of the other bushcamps as well. The location of this camp is amazing. It is right on a lagoon that houses resident hippos, and in the afternoons is the watering hole for many many animals, so it is a great spot to lie on the provided hammocks and watch / take pictures.

The guide (Peter) is a very gentle person, who imparts his knowledge of all things bush (plants, animals, birds and insects) in a quiet and studied way. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and no question was too silly.

The only thing I would warn about, is the baboons that run overhead in the trees at night. This is not a negative, as it is great being so deep within the bush with the animals close by, but it can give you a bit of a fright when they move swiftly about in the trees and drop fruits etc on the tents in the early hours of the morning - if you are light sleeper I would suggest ear plugs so as not to be woken up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Having stayed at Mfuwe lodge, 3 nights at Zungilila (which was beautiful), 2 nights at Kapamba (which is great, but not for wimps - very open rooms), we finally arrived at Chindeni Camp. Overall, i would rate it at the top. Tamsin and Brendan are wonderful hosts, great fun and really want to make your trip a happy one. The wildlife is incredible (we were lucky enough to get a glimpse of a leopard), the guides very knowledgable, the food was varied and absolutely delicious and the rooms are amazingly cosy. I would highly recommend adding Chindeni Camp to your camp wish list if you are visiting the South Luangwa National Park!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEBL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
242 reviews
0 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
88 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £314 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing