We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at chendeni, beautiful relaxing surroundings, the food was great and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The game viewing was excellent, well conducted and very informative. I am convinced that Peter knows everything. On 2 occasions early morning we were “invited “ to set off ASAP to view Lion on one occasion and leopard on the other, the latter escaped us but the Lions were a fantastic sight.
If you want to get close to elephant, this is the place to go.
James the camp manager is a great host and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Sam even provided me with a Football score. Message for James, I hope you managed to see the SA – NZ rugby match.
The staff and surroundings made Chindeni a very special place for us, we didn’t want to leave.
David & Jennifer Goddard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgoddard0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
63
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having spent 5 wonderful nights at Mfuwe Lodge we had an amazing 3 nights at this bush camp. On arrival we received a warm welcome from James the manager and shown to our "tent". It was superbly designed and fitted out -certainly as luxurious as you could wish for. The setting was great with views across the lagoon and plenty of animals to spot whilst relaxing on the hammock on our veranda or from the communal area.
James did everything possible to make the stay special and was very knowledgeable of the wild life and the area. The food was exceptionally good and meal times were very pleasantly spent in a beautiful setting and pleasant company of other guests and the 2 James (the manager and the guide.)
We enjoyed the jeep safaris but also had our first walking safaris. Our guide James was very informative and patiently answered questions. We enjoyed these experiences and our time at Chindeni will be a memorable experience.
Everything about this holiday was superb and beyond our expectations. Amazing !

Room Tip: Only 4 tents and all equally fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

As part of our Zambian holiday experience and after three SUPERB nights at Mfuwe Lodge, we (my 24year old daughter, husband and I) stayed here at Chindeni for two nights. It was exceptional! We thought our safari experience couldn't get better but were happy to try something a little different - Chindeni certainly offered that!

Firstly, our journey from Mfuwe Lodge across to Chindeni was treated as a safari drive and so it was less of a journey and more of a safari experience as we were able to spot animals and birds along the route and stop for photographs and explanations from the guide/driver. The three hour drive was a delight and passed quickly and enjoyably.

On arrival at Chindeni, we were greeted by James the Manager and his team of staff lined up to greet us - made me feel really special and warmly welcomed. We were offered cooling flannels and ice cold drinks as soon as we alighted from the vehicle which I thought this was a lovely touch and is indeed a trend we experienced in both Bushcamps and Mfuwe Lodge! - Such a thoughtful detail! Our luggage was quickly attended to and we were escorted to our rooms.

We found the setting of this Bushcamp to be idyllic - especially the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets overlooking the lagoon teaming with wildlife by day and night. it was tranquil, romantic, fascinating. We loved the accommodation which went beyond the notion of glamourous camping! The elevated 'tents', set amongst the bush were so tastefully fashioned and equipped. They were welcoming and most comfortable, offering wonderful views across the water. The peaceful setting allowed us to fully appreciate the sounds of Africa - leaving with us a lasting memory of our stay.

The decking around the bar and dining area which surveyed the lagoon and the landscape beyond, created a social focus to get to know our Host and other guests as well as providing a platform for appreciating the surrounding views. As for the food: breakfast, brunch and afternoon tea as well as dinner were all delightful. The food could not be faulted - and I can be quite hard to impress! As much as anything, the candlelit setting and attentive waiters and the good company of our host James, all added to the ambience.

Our host and Bushcamp Manager James, is a delight. He entertained us with funny stories, he educated us with his knowledge, and he was faultless as a courteous and welcoming host, always seeming to be at ease with his guests and nothing seemed too much trouble for him. Most of all, I shall remember all the laughter!

I need to mention Peter our AMAZING guide!!! He is such a fabulous man - charming, educated, easy to be with and we learned such a lot from him yet never once felt 'lectured'!! He has a way of making you feel you are the only person he has ever explained things to and he patiently allows for all the questions he must have heard a thousand times. His sense of humour and warmth of personality made our walking safaris and night drives sooo memorable!

For as long as James and Peter are at Chindeni - I shall want to return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Chindeni is one of six bush camps operated by the Bush Camp Company in the Lower Luangwa National Park. Because it is several hours drive from the gate into the park, there is little tourist movement, so one can get a real bush experience.
The camp itself is the best of the three camps I have visited in Luangwa, it is set on a lagoon which attracts a good deal of wildlife, and is only minutes from the Luangwa river.
The camp is very comfortable with lovely accommodation overlooking the lagoon.
A good choice if you want the away from the tourist bush camp experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkVancouver80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Chindeni. The setting overlooking the lagoon, and the design and layout of the tents, made this one of the most beautiful places I have stayed in.

The camp manager, James, is a great host as well as conversationalist on many topics (especially rhinos and rugby!). And Peter is just a superb guide. He is super-intelligent and knowledgeable, with an understated sense of humor and tons of patience, even for the most basic questions. I learned a lot from him, and so enjoyed his drives and walks.

We saw so much wildlife, and even had to wait on one of the walks due to elephants who were taking their time eating. All of the ‘big animals’ of South Luangwa are here, and during the night drives, we also saw leopards (as well as an elegant giraffe sitting gracefully in the middle of the road!).

The canvas tents are huge in size (bigger than most apartments in major metropolitan areas!), and include a separate sitting area. It’s hard to describe the sheer physical beauty of these, from the wood floors (not to mention the wood vanities and shower area) to the furnishings and accessories which blend together with the layered canvas to create a feeling of luxurious serenity.

The running hot water was most welcome, and the views out the tents and from the deck, either from the hammocks or chairs, were simply incredible. (As I told James, I didn’t realize that my rate included my own private hippo!)

The food was excellent, and I was also there during Mongolian BBQ night, which was not only delicious but served on the shore right next to the lagoon. Other meals were around the table of the large deck, and the deck also featured lots of comfortable chairs and a small library of books. But my favorite place to sit was on one of the large, spacious beanbags (thankfully, with filling that actually allows you to sink fully into them!). Watching the crocs and hippos from these made it very difficult to ever want to leave such a stunning place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboostation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Would you believe you have to stay in a tent (THREE roomed) and make your own lunch one day (wood fired pizza)? It was an unbelievable adventure. The staff and accommodation was first rate and the safaris out of this world. We were fortunate to be able to stay at 2 of the Mfuwe camps (with Kapamba) as well as the Lodge and I have to say it was the most incredible experience we have had. Game life was abundant and the guides have the most amazing ability to spot leopards in trees and lions in long grass the same colour as the lions miles away and then get us close enough to both photograph and just sit and watch them be. We went with renowned photographer Sue Flood who is not only a wonderful personality but a wonderful and patient teacher. Our cameras can now sing ... off auto!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were thrilled to be making our second visit to Chindeni. The setting is in a beautiful location with great views over the lagoon. The camp is quite intimate with luxurious accommodation, great food and very friendly and capable camp staff and guides.
It is very tempting to stay in camp and enjoy the peace and beauty of Africa from a comfortable seat on the elevated deck with refreshments to hand.
We did however resist temptation and enjoyed some fabulous walks and exciting drives including close sightings of a wide variety of birds and game including giraffe, leopard, cape buffalo and family groups of elephants with newborn babies and frisky ‘teenagers’.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing