We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
144
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbushcamp companyguide peterbeautiful lagoonbush campgame viewingelevated deckoverstuffed chairsopen seating areamongolian bbqno electricitytented accommodationpizza ovenstunning locationthe camp managerincluding leopardson footgreat company
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We visited 5 camps on our trip to Botswana and Zambia and the staff at this camp were the best!! (Not that the other camps had bad staff!) James is an amazing manager, Charles and Michael accompanied us on all our adventures and were brilliant, Leonardo joined us on our walks and Sam served all our meals. They were all great company and a huge wealth of information. The 'behind the scenes' staff kept the camp immaculate, raking the walkways daily and putting our solar lanterns outside to regenerate as we weren't capable of this at 5.30am!! Very impressive...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid-September and very much enjoyed it. This was our third safari trip to Africa and second to South Luangwa Park in Zambia. If you are looking for a place that is extremely comfortable, where you will be very well looked after, yet is a real back-to-nature experience, then this, or for that matter, any of the Bush Camps, is the place to go. The "tents" are luxurious, more comfortable that most hotels, the food is absolutely splendid, and there are many. many animals right outside your door. We very much enjoyed our walking safaris with James. We actually "scared" a male lion who had been sleeping peacefully before we stumbled upon him (he ran like the dickens) and we came across a line of army ants that stretched as far as we could see who were returning from attacking a termite mound. These are the kind of experiences you don't get from a vehicle. We were also very impressed by James, the manager. He was a wonderful host who made us feel at home immediately. I must also say that the birding in the area was amazing. Our son is an avid birder and he, with the help of James, the guide, was able to identify over a hundred different species.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

While we didn't see the infamous Honey Badger, we saw so many birds and animals from our tent cabin and the community verandah, that our heads were constantly swimming. Game drives and walking safaris with Charles yielded indelible images of hundreds of hippos, wading lions and two memorable "Sundowners" on the banks of ever changing rivers. And the camp food was incredible! If you enjoy "roughing it" with interesting fellow guests, free flowing Mosi and a witty and entertaining camp host (James), Chendeni Bush Camp at the southern end of the South Luanga National Park is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eschilling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our two-night stay at Chindeni wasn't nearly long enough; I'm already longing to go back. Despite the heat (which was intense in mid-October), we had an extraordinary experience. Our tent cabin was spacious and comfortable, and the birds flocking to the lagoon just beyond our verandah were incredible. Our guide, Charles, orchestrated a wonderful final sundowner stop: we sipped our gin & tonics enthralled at the yawning of over 150 hippos below us in the river, before stopping to watch lions wade delicately across the shallows. James, the camp host, made sure we had everything we needed morning, noon and night; be sure to get his hilarious stories about honey badgers in the kitchen!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aburke20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at chendeni, beautiful relaxing surroundings, the food was great and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The game viewing was excellent, well conducted and very informative. I am convinced that Peter knows everything. On 2 occasions early morning we were “invited “ to set off ASAP to view Lion on one occasion and leopard on the other, the latter escaped us but the Lions were a fantastic sight.
If you want to get close to elephant, this is the place to go.
James the camp manager is a great host and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Sam even provided me with a Football score. Message for James, I hope you managed to see the SA – NZ rugby match.
The staff and surroundings made Chindeni a very special place for us, we didn’t want to leave.
David & Jennifer Goddard

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgoddard0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews