We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kafunta River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Kafunta lodge for a week. Definitely a great lodge with the most excellent staff. Mario the manager, definitely a gold star for the lodge. His knowledge and passion make it an enjoyable experience as well. The tour guides were amazing, their knowledge and style makes it a well worth trip. Make sure if you get a chance you use Abel as your guide - the man is a gem and also such a sweetheart. The watering hole in front of the lodge makes it a great site throughout the day, the rooms were pretty well kept although for the hot season they can use an upgrade on the fans...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mutriaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Kafunta lodge was a paradise - I have been to a few camps in Luangwa valley over the years but Kafunta now is my number one location the views over the plans in front of the camp is fantastic - animals around the camp and 2 wild dogs killed a impala behind our rooms .... Just to good and food and our host Alison was all staff and excellent guide Martin made our stay a unforgettable memory and value for money !!!!

Thank you all

Room Tip: Chalet number 1 & 2 have a second floor viewing platform
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

After leaving Busanga Bush Camp we flew from Lusaka to Mfuwe, an hours flight, then drove through the bustling village to our camp by the river Luanga. "Wow" was our reaction as we looked at the scene on the river bank before us; a huge variety of wildlife was gathered there, drinking the ever-decreasing water in the river. This was October and by November/December this will be full of water.
Our chalet was wooden, on stilts and had a verandah overlooking the river. A fan was a great incluson as the temperatures were high. Another very friendly and helpful manager, Mario, and a great staff to support him. Special mention must be made of our guide, Martin, a senior guide with responsibility for aspects of camp life. He was always dressed immaculately, was extremely knowlegeable, told stories like no other and had a great sense of humour. We spent a number of hours rattling around in a land-cruiser being entertained and enlightened by him!
Food was excellent, the pool was delicious when you're feeling hot, the game drives full of interest and drama. Another great experience in Zambia!

Room Tip: All have excellent views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moose081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

We started our stay with a warm welcome from Mario and Alison. The position of the lodge overlooking the water was simply stunning. Our guide was excellent and very experienced. The food - particularly dinner - was first class. Service was outstanding. Presentation of breakfast could be improved. We loved our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeddawookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have been to Kafunta before in Nov 2010. I was so impressed with Anke's arrangements for my grandchildren aged 13, 14, 15 and 17. We were picked up at Mfuwe airport and taken to Kafunfa Lodge where Alison and her staff greeted us with a drink and moist towels. Our luggage was taken to rooms 7 and 8 near the swimming pool. All our needs were catered for and the guide Martin made sure we saw most of the wildlife, 29 different animals, over 100 bird species, numerous trees and many plants. I knew Mario, Josephat and Andrew whom I met in 2010. They along with Abel are terrific guides, the best I have met in Africa and I have been to half of the African countries. We were greeted by many of the staff when we returned from a safari which showed how well the staff looked after us. Mario laid on a surprise alfresco brunch for us beside a river with hippos moaning and splashing, crocodiles sunbathing and numerous animals grazing or in shade. The children will remember this for a long time. The accommodation, food is first class and the caring staff work 110% to make sure your holiday is so memorable. We saw leopards on six safarisand on two safaris the leopards were within 10m of the vehicle. We also saw the rare Pel's Fishing Owl on three safaris, many birdwatcher do not see this elusive bird. Of all the African countries I have been to Kafunta stands out as exceptional. If you want to see leopards, hippos and puku Zambia is the best country so whatever you do book in at Kafunta.
I will be taking a group,of relatives in 2013. The great attraction of Kafunta is the morning and night safaris and there are usually less than 6 safari vehicles seen on a safari so the wildlife is not disturbed as it is in some other African countries.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are near the swimming pool to the right of the dining area. There are views across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at Kafunta. From the minute we arrived, greeted by Alison, Mario and the team with some very welcome iced towels and pinapple juice, our every need was anticipated. We stayed in lodge number 1, which was the furthest away from the reception/bar area and seemed the most remote at night when we could hear the hippos grazing nearby, and the elephants tearing down branches just metres from our window! At night we used to sit in the dark on our upstairs balcony watching and listening to all the animals on the plain. It felt like heaven!
Our lodge was everything we could have wanted..and more. The food was delicious, and Cathy the chef very kindly served up extra potato wedges for our daughter who was a fussy eater!
Abel, our excellent Guide made sure every trip out was filled with an abundance of Game..so much so, that we had a joke about him "ordering" up our choice of animals each day and was so knowledgable, it's become a catchphrase in our family.."I'll just go ask Abel!" :)
On our last night in camp, we were actually the only guests as everyone else had departed for the Bush camp. Our days in between Game drives were spent lazing by the pool, or sitting in the hot spring watching the baboons and Puku, and spotting the occasional elephant too.
On the whole, I would say this was an amazing place, and really captures the spirit of Africa in the most luxurious way!
I would say to take along some binoculors to enable you to appreciate all the sights, and beware that there are additional charges everytime you enter the Game Park, which may come as a nasty surprise at the end of your blissful break! (but in their defence, this was stated on our booking...this is just in case you overlooked it like we did!)

Room Tip: Lodges number 1 and 2 are on ground level ( as opposed to the rest which are on stilts), but have bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I don’t know if you guys remember the ‘we’ve been having it’ ads from SA, but in Kafunta we have most definitely been having it.

well-stocked mini-bar on hand and reclining by the pool, deck, tub. monitor lizzard crawls to bar. seen it with me own eyes. and in the natural hot-tub OR going on funinformative game-drives, Shambles, the manager, was a little chaotic.. he he, nah, Mario and his A-Team were just super available and (oneofa)kind. Satisfying Full Chunks of Bushness grilled over A fresh base of old fashioned hospitality. Mario takes the 'spit' out of hospitality, He has taken it to a new level...hospitTOTALity, with a dash of passionfruit in the salad. Truly, and therein lies the beauty. Intense lights…insects create tracers.. sundowners… the endless sky, etcetera, finally trundling back to camp, snuggly wrapped in blankets, the night ever more crisp….
The lodge’s proximity to this quirky point of entry makes crossing into park by way of pontoon like something out of platoon, hence ideal funky kick-start to drives, and the frothy froth of river is like a cappuccino), spotted leopard, rad. Viewer discretion advised during April.
dinner served substaran africa over water channels muito atmospheric, legau; the food itself VEeeRY POPular. The eye, too, eats. hippos munching in moonlight.

A recommendation vigorous as mating season call of male impala – for sure! We will definitely return ASAHhhuHhhhuHhhhuuumanlyP. Thanks for all the fun

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobydrool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
102 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
81 reviews
5.7 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
194 reviews
24.1 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafunta River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafunta River Lodge

Address: Box 83, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £209 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafunta River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kafunta River Lodge is set in the riverside forest on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park, Zambia. This classic safari lodge offers our guests all the comforts, while being situated in unspoilt wilderness. There are 8 private chalets and 2 luxury suites, all overlooking a game rich flood plain. We offer game drives, night drives and walking safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kafunta River Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing