We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool tiger fishing special thanks sausage tree game viewing national park the river food was amazing trigger fish charles adventure team luxury camp bush trips africa
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We spent 4 nights at Potato Bush having returned a week ago and could honestly hop back in a plane a return immediately. The camp has thought of everything and ensure that whatever they do and offer is at its absolute best. The team looking after you become mates as its very exclusive with only 4 rooms. Charles, Faith, Brian and Ryan our guide could not do enough for us and remembered all the little idiosyncrasies of our group . A very memorable experience was lunch on the river on a sand bank where an elephant wandered over and joined in for a photo shoot. The suites are exceptionally spacious and comfortable with the win being the plunge pool. It certainly gets well used in escaping the searing heat. The only draw back for me, if any, would be the water pressure. The double shower does become a challenge when both in use. From a food perspective I was amazed at the array and quality of fresh product on offer and was most impressed with all mealtimes. Getting food there must be a logistical nightmare. Potato Bush gets our vote for Top resort on the Lower Zambezi.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClintN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My husband and I planned a two week safari in Zambia for our honeymoon. We went to south Luangwa, lower Zambezi and Livingstone, all of which was organized by Extraordinary Journeys. It was the most amazing trip of our lives!

We had a delightful time at Potato Bush Camp. Our room was very spacious and luxurious. My husband and I had just spent a week in the south luangwa national park and were delighted to stay in such luxurious accommodations at Potato Bush, while still being in "the bush." We loved using the plunge pool to cool off; we used it every day and would watch the elephants roaming in the distance. Ryan was our guide and his knowledge of the animals and the land was incredibly vast. What we loved most about Potato Bush was the number of different activities we could do each day. We were there for 3 days and went on a walking safari, took a canoe trip down the river, went fishing, and went on multiple game drives. The staff was great about accommodating whatever we wanted to do. We would love to come back to Potato Bush one day, maybe with our future family!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellehf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

This was our first time to Lower Zambezi national park, but our second time through Zambia. We spent 5 nights at Potato Bush and 2 nights at the sister camp of Sausage Tree. In short, our experience was incredible. We're somewhat experienced safari goers, so on our first game drive we were highly impressed to see 2 separate leopard sightings, 1 lioness with her 3 cubs, and 1 roaring male lion about 5 ft from our vehicle. We didn't go a day without seeing a leopard, and saw lions on multiple occasions. We choose the Potato Bush camp for its intimacy as we go on safari to get away from it all, and we were rewarded; the camp was full when we got there but for the next 4 nights we had the camp to ourselves. The tents are massive and the personal plunge pool is a life saver during the heat of the day. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable and they succeeded, we had a private dinner on the shore of Zambezi as well as a bush dinner in the middle of the park that will go down as one of my best experiences ever. Our guide Charles was fantastic and is clearly highly experienced. If you're looking for an authentic safari experience coupled with comfort and luxury in the wild of Africa , this is the place.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dalasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We have recently returned from this camp and had a fantastic time. This was one of four camps we visited in this trip and although all were quite different areas and experiences so I would not select a favourite, all I'd say is that I would be likely to return here if we were to come to this area again and I would not normally do that as I do like to try different places.

For the four days we were there, there was only one other couple at the camp (Jeannine get in touch as I've managed to lose your email!) and it would have been very easy for the camp to try to save money and not put everything on (choices of river trips / walking / jeep safaris, fishing etc) but we felt totally spoilt and everything we could have wanted was laid on, even with several lovely surprise meal locations, including a great birthday meal by the river - loved it.

As for the game, it was very extensive and we saw several incredible scenes like a leopard chasing a baboon up a tree and capturing it, right in front of us - this was not just luck, but was also due to good tracking by the guides.

Room tip: All rooms are similar
Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GarethEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Potato Bush Camp was not quite up to our expectations. If you haven't been to many camps, you will probably be fine with it, but having been to 8 others in two different trips, it wasn't quite as good as others. The rooms are quite grand, undeniably, but our entire group felt that was about it. The variety of animals wasn't there, and the guiding wasn't as fulfilling as it might have been. In the night drives, it seemed like we were going too fast to see much of anything. There were two guides for fishing--one was very good and the other was not, so you take your chances there.
The food was plentiful but not particularly tasty or interesting. Lots of quantity, but quite plain. To their credit, the staff works hard and were quick to try and please any request. They also have a lovely lunch venue on the river.

Room tip: All have excellent views
Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eloise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews