We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool tiger fishing special thanks sausage tree game viewing national park the river food was amazing trigger fish charles adventure team luxury camp bush trips africa
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2015

An absolutely amazing experience. My girlfriend and I were there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. An incredible setting overlooking the zambezi, very luxurious "tent" suites but with the right amount of bush camp feel (day beds, lounge area, bath, plunge pool, deck, hammock etc). Amazing, accomodating staff and service, nothing was overlooked. Full inclusive bar with an incredible menu and interesting dining experiences. The guides were highly skilled and incredibly nice. Activities were fantastic with the added bonus of the river - including very successful game drives, tiger fishing, canoing, walking safaris etc. Highly recommend and can't wait to return

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna_beveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello Anna_Beveridge,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable 3 nights with us and managed to soak up all the things that make Potato Bush and the Lower Zambezi National Park such a hidden gem! Your review sums up everything that Potato Bush is about and what our amazing team strives to achieve and so it's very reassuring to get such a positive review.

We do hope to welcome you back, and this time for a little longer!

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Potato Bush ranks high on my list of lodges in the Lower Zambezi. It has an open airy feel with very spacious rooms with a semi open plan bathroom which I love. The showers are fantastic with small pebble details in the floor and a great view. Each deck boasts a stunning plunge pool and a large hammock over looking the Zambezi river. Despite the rooms being at an angle, the decks are unfortunately not very private. You have a clear view of your neighbours. Great if they're your friends...not so much with strangers. Same with the communal dining / lounge area. As much as I love meeting new people, I would like the option to not have to dine with them every meal on the long dining table. Also, I did find myself rushing to get to the lounge area early so we could claim the beautiful 3 piece suite...the only seating area if you didn't want to sit by the camp fire.
But...it is a beautiful lodge and I highly recommend it. The staff are wonderful. There's a lovely selection of books to browse through and it is simply and elegantly furnished.

Date of stay: October 2014
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello Paula S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are thrilled to read about your positive feedback regards the rooms, setting and staff. Our team do work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that every guest feels at home and leaves us with happy memories and a wish to one day return.

We always aim to take on board guest feedback in order to improve our guest experiences. We have noted your comment regarding the privacy of the room decks and are currently reviewing this, along with our dinner dining arrangement.

We do hope to welcome you back again to this very special part of the world we get to call home.

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Potato Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We can't say enough about our stay at Potato Bush Camp. Charles, Faith, and all of the staff, especially, Brian, made our stay seem like a dream come true. The wild life was abundant, the food yummy, and the tent more like a suite of luxury. We had a great visit and even got to fish for some of the famed tiger fish. For a small fish, it sure can fight getting reeled into the boat. This was an extraordinary place and we would recommend it to everyone, even families with older children.

Room tip: It is a great way to safari through the Lower Zambezi National Park. The guides are all top notch.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2much2c_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We spent 4 nights at Potato Bush having returned a week ago and could honestly hop back in a plane a return immediately. The camp has thought of everything and ensure that whatever they do and offer is at its absolute best. The team looking after you become mates as its very exclusive with only 4 rooms. Charles, Faith, Brian and Ryan our guide could not do enough for us and remembered all the little idiosyncrasies of our group . A very memorable experience was lunch on the river on a sand bank where an elephant wandered over and joined in for a photo shoot. The suites are exceptionally spacious and comfortable with the win being the plunge pool. It certainly gets well used in escaping the searing heat. The only draw back for me, if any, would be the water pressure. The double shower does become a challenge when both in use. From a food perspective I was amazed at the array and quality of fresh product on offer and was most impressed with all mealtimes. Getting food there must be a logistical nightmare. Potato Bush gets our vote for Top resort on the Lower Zambezi.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClintN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My husband and I planned a two week safari in Zambia for our honeymoon. We went to south Luangwa, lower Zambezi and Livingstone, all of which was organized by Extraordinary Journeys. It was the most amazing trip of our lives!

We had a delightful time at Potato Bush Camp. Our room was very spacious and luxurious. My husband and I had just spent a week in the south luangwa national park and were delighted to stay in such luxurious accommodations at Potato Bush, while still being in "the bush." We loved using the plunge pool to cool off; we used it every day and would watch the elephants roaming in the distance. Ryan was our guide and his knowledge of the animals and the land was incredibly vast. What we loved most about Potato Bush was the number of different activities we could do each day. We were there for 3 days and went on a walking safari, took a canoe trip down the river, went fishing, and went on multiple game drives. The staff was great about accommodating whatever we wanted to do. We would love to come back to Potato Bush one day, maybe with our future family!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews