We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool tiger fishing special thanks sausage tree game viewing national park the river food was amazing trigger fish charles adventure team luxury camp bush trips africa
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

I had the priviledge of being invited on a Company sponsored 4 day Tiger fishing trip.

The arrival & welcome by the staff and management was world class.
The rooms were amazing, excellent housekeeping and extremely comfortable.

The fishing experience was a bit disappointing, due to the guide being a bit impatient. Overall the fishing was excellent coupled with awesome river view game viewing.

Food - magnificent.

Management and staff rate tops.

Hopefully we will be back again this year.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Dear Howard G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and had such a successful few days fishing. As you know October and November are some of the best months for fishing in the Lower Zambezi National Park and our guides do their very best to ensure guests have the best opportunity to reel in the renowned Tiger Fish.

We always strive to give our guests the very best experience and we are always grateful for feedback where we may be able to improve and we will assess the comment you brought up about the guide being a bit impatient on your fishing trips.

On a positive note its always nice to hear that you found every other aspect of your stay with us was above expectations. We are very fortunate to be in such a special location and we do hope to welcome you back again.

Regards,
Jason and the Potato Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Right on the Zambezi river... masses of hippos and activities on the river as well as the normal game drives. Very comfortable accommodation and good service. Unlike the other camps we visited dinner was at a set time, no choice and communal. Not our preference but the food was very good. The guides were exceptional.
We even had an Elephant wander through the camp!!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello Sarah H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We value our guest feedback and aim to improve wherever it is suggested. We are currently assessing the way we provide our dinner service and are sad to hear was not to your preference but delighted to hear that the food and other aspects of your stay with us met your expectations.

The elephant at this time of the season are abundant in and around camp and it is always such a privilege to get to watch them from the comfort of your room or the dining tent. We are very lucky to call this part of the world home and do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Potato Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Two of the highlights of my entire trip happened at this camp! The canoeing on the Chifungulu Channel and a Zambezi Water lunch - both were outstanding and special experiences that I will never forget!
The camp is small and intimate. I loved the spacious rooms that have a very clean and no fuss decor theme. The rooms are huge and each have a large patios, with hammock and a small plunge pool for those super hot summer days. All the rooms have a view of the river.
Our guide Ryan was very friendly and the activities were great. The canoeing was a truly incredible experience. The Chifungulu channel offered some great opportunities for photography. I found the whole experience thrilling.
The lodge really offers wonderful outdoor dining experiences and the Zambezi water lunch was one of these. Enjoying a chilled Pimms & Lemonade with feet in the water and a 360 degree view of the river was amazing!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoShacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello JoShacks,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and photos from your stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful time with us and especially as you got to experience a few of our hidden secrets such as Canoeing the Chifungulu Channel and dining with your toes in the water and under the magical stars! I really don't think there is much to beat these memories...

Our team aims to make each guest stay as memorable as possible and I will pass on your positive review to Ryan and the rest of the Potato Bush Team.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Potato Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

An absolutely amazing experience. My girlfriend and I were there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. An incredible setting overlooking the zambezi, very luxurious "tent" suites but with the right amount of bush camp feel (day beds, lounge area, bath, plunge pool, deck, hammock etc). Amazing, accomodating staff and service, nothing was overlooked. Full inclusive bar with an incredible menu and interesting dining experiences. The guides were highly skilled and incredibly nice. Activities were fantastic with the added bonus of the river - including very successful game drives, tiger fishing, canoing, walking safaris etc. Highly recommend and can't wait to return

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna_beveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello Anna_Beveridge,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable 3 nights with us and managed to soak up all the things that make Potato Bush and the Lower Zambezi National Park such a hidden gem! Your review sums up everything that Potato Bush is about and what our amazing team strives to achieve and so it's very reassuring to get such a positive review.

We do hope to welcome you back, and this time for a little longer!

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Sausage Tree Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Potato Bush ranks high on my list of lodges in the Lower Zambezi. It has an open airy feel with very spacious rooms with a semi open plan bathroom which I love. The showers are fantastic with small pebble details in the floor and a great view. Each deck boasts a stunning plunge pool and a large hammock over looking the Zambezi river. Despite the rooms being at an angle, the decks are unfortunately not very private. You have a clear view of your neighbours. Great if they're your friends...not so much with strangers. Same with the communal dining / lounge area. As much as I love meeting new people, I would like the option to not have to dine with them every meal on the long dining table. Also, I did find myself rushing to get to the lounge area early so we could claim the beautiful 3 piece suite...the only seating area if you didn't want to sit by the camp fire.
But...it is a beautiful lodge and I highly recommend it. The staff are wonderful. There's a lovely selection of books to browse through and it is simply and elegantly furnished.

Date of stay: October 2014
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Owner at Potato Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hello Paula S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us at Potato Bush Camp.

We are thrilled to read about your positive feedback regards the rooms, setting and staff. Our team do work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that every guest feels at home and leaves us with happy memories and a wish to one day return.

We always aim to take on board guest feedback in order to improve our guest experiences. We have noted your comment regarding the privacy of the room decks and are currently reviewing this, along with our dinner dining arrangement.

We do hope to welcome you back again to this very special part of the world we get to call home.

Kind Regards,
Jason and the Potato Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews