We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
237
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush camp discovery channel canoe trip game viewing zambezi river small lagoon five nights lower zambezi camera batteries central area wonderful sightings creature comforts outdoor bath great game other guests south luangwa porridge
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015

The camp was fantastic: rustic, close to nature but with no sacrifices to comfort. I don’t think we have ever been quite so intimately involved with the wildlife before with elephants and buffalo regularly in camp, sleeping with the blinds open to really experience the sounds of the bush and the river. But it was the game drives that really made Old Mondoro, driving over mixed terrain with open meadows, forested areas and inland waterways all usually within a short drive of the Zambezi itself. Leopards, leopards and more leopards; we have never seen so many. Lion and Elephant a-plenty. And all the usual plains game. Night drives were particularly rewarding not only for the variety of wildlife but for their willingness to hold their ground and be photographed, notably civets, porcupines (18), genets, honey badgers as well as leopards and a number of nocturnal birds.
A small camp with excellent staff, nothing was too much trouble, and everyone went the extra mile to ensure we had a truly great time.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Having absolutely loved Old Mondoro when we visited two years ago we returned but later in the season. The landscape had changed but the sightings were just as good. The management had changed but everything was of the same high standard. We were lucky enough to do a number of game drives with manager Ryan who is also a trained guide and ranks among the best we have had.On one drive we saw nineteen different species of mammal. On our drive to the airstrip to start our journey home we encountered another leopard (I lost count of leopard sightings!)
Another wonderful stay at a unique camp. Luxury and bush camp don't usually go together but Old Mondoro is both.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Only our second visit, and we had different hosts, different guides with different animals and birds to see, but the quality of our experience at Old Mondoro was every bit as good.
We hope for a third visit to this enchanting camp.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeakTravellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We absolutely loved every minute of our stay in this camp. It started with the drive from the airstrip. Elephants and impala were everywhere and the scenery was amazing ! Pure Africa. At night we heard the hippos grunting and moaning in the Zambezi, the trumpet of elephant, the roar of lions just over the river in Zimbabwe and sometimes near the camp.The staff accommodated our preference for walking really well and we felt very safe with our guide and Zambian army scout. There was great flexibility too- one morning a female lion and her cubs were spotted close by so we abandoned our walk to go in the vehicle for a closer look before setting off on our walk at a different spot. The rooms are really comfortable though it can feel quite hot . Having said that the thoughtfully provided Kenyan towel, if dampened with water cools you down in the heat of the Zambian afternoon.
The food was superb . As a vegetarian I was hugely impressed by the variety and quality of the food and we loved the breakfasts too - porridge and toast made over a camp fire in the cool of a Zambian morning .
The staff were delightful and this camp felt extremely well run! It managed to keep its atmosphere of true wilderness while offering a wonderfully comfortable experience. There was a real feeling of personal service and a desire on the part of management and staff to make your stay really memorable. Thank you Old Mondoro. we hope we can return !

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This is one of my favorite camps in Africa and I've been 21 times. There is something mystical about the trees and the forest. One moment there are no elephants and then silently they appear. Each tree seems to have an attendant elephant. They come into camp and you are in awe of they're majesty. The Ana pods were in abundance as were the elephants hoovering them up. Love the staff. Love the accommodations. Love the river and love the carmine bee eaters. Great leopard! My room overlooked the intersection of two canals and elephant traffic was intense.

Room tip: Overlooking the canal
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReaderBLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews