We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
237
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush camp discovery channel zambezi river game drives large bull small lagoon five nights game viewing was fantastic lower zambezi camera batteries central area wonderful sightings outdoor bath safari experience other guests south luangwa porridge
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Old Mondoro has the absolute best rooms with a view I have ever come across. We sat on our balcony and watched a medley of elephant, buffalo, baboon, all sorts of antelope and fabulous birds right in front of us. Oh, and the leopards on the game drives were really rather spectacular too. And the honey badgers. And the lions with small cubs. And the guides, hosts and food were all top notch. Wonderful.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bazzajchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We loved our time at Old Mondoro. Everything about it was fantastic. We were travelling with our two Grandchildren ages 16 & 13 on their first safari and this camp really set the bar high for them. James and Sebastian were excellent guides and always made our drives fun and interesting. I felt very confident going on the canoe trip with Sebastian as our guide. The food was amazing and they went out of their way to accommodate my gluten free diet which I appreciated very much. Jonathan and Karen were excellent hosts and we have no hesitation in recommending this great little camp.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TN1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The best way to totally feel the African bush is on foot and in a canoe and Old Mondoro camp on the Zambian side of the Zambezi River is an excellent camp to do this. On foot with James early one morning we came across two lions, a bull elephant and a male buffalo all in the same view.............we followed the lions and then came upon a fresh leopard kill................ the leopard was nearby. One hippo charged us every day we paddled by and turning to James I said, "Do you smell the carcass?" I turn around and 3 crocs leaped off a cliff right in front of the canoe. Sundowner on the river another hippo ran into our boat producing a hole in boat.......Reuben suggested that we head back to camp..................THIS is real safari!!! I return next April.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wildacoustics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here and we're extremely happy with the service and also accommodating gluten and dairy free meals.
The highlights were the hippos grunting gently at night and the three elephants that wandered past our cabin only five metres away. Not to mention sundowners in remote and isolated park areas. A truly wonderful experience.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 643Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed at Old Mondoro in July and it was the perfect place to finish our trip to Zambia. The accommodation and food is great (including gluten free vegetarian fare) but it is the setting, the intimacy of the camp, the wildlife - if you want to see leopards, honey badgers, porcupines and more - and the guiding that makes it special. I loved the chance to do canoeing, walking, game drives, and boat trips. One of our best wildlife experiences was from our chalet with elephants wading through the lagoon and then surrounding us - very special. You will feel very looked after at Old Mondoro.

Room tip: There are only 4 rooms and all are excellent
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews