We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High expectations!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Atrio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa del Atrio
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High expectations!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Came from NYC on business to Qro, first time here. A friend booked the hotel for two nights and a further 3 nights in Mexico City. I read the reviews so my expectations were high. I found the hotel a little cold and disorganized. The high walls in the garden area were claustrophobic. There were some objects, possible qualified as art, littered around,which made me laugh. Staff were friendly enough but with my limited Spanish and their even more limited English...we didn't really connect. Most of the attention went towards a group of countrymen from San Diego with dollars bulging from their wallets....I did however get the odd smile when passing reception. All in all, a nice enough place but after walking around the center of town, I would of chosen maybe another B&B or boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    58
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
124
295
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

An excellent place to stay for business or for holiday, doesn't matter.

We stay there for 4 or 5 nights and we don't have any complain. The staff is kind and very helpful. The rooms... what can I say about the rooms? Are incredible... all, have 6 in total, different and decorated with an special sense. The breakfast included is fantastic, fruits, sandwiches, toast... everything. And located in the center.

Was an absolutely pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Noguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

There is a time and place for everything, and if you are traveling to a Mexican colonial city or would like to stay in a specific neighborhood in D.F., then a B&B is the better choice in my opinion. I would put La Casa del Atrio in the same first tier category as the Red Tree Inn in the La Condesa neighborhood of D.F. Great accomodations (comfy beds and strong wi-fi) and service, excellent knowledge of the city, and a superb location. I had originally planned on spending 5 nights at the Casa, but extended it to 7 nights. Antonio was able to direct me to excellent places to visit just a walk from the B&B, and also was able to arrange a day trip to the Pueblos Magicos (well worth the time), a Mexican cooking class (a true hightlight of my trip!), and Spanish language classes. Along with the great plazas, restaurants, and museums, I couldn't belive how quickly 7 nights went by. Queretaro should be placed on anyone's itinerary when visiting Mexico. It is an incredibly friendly, clean, and safe city that gives the visitor a taste of the "true" Mexico that unfortunately, most tourists to Mexico miss. I have traveled extensively throughout Mexico and can say without hesitation that Queretaro is one of my favorite cities. As mentioned in other reviews, the staff at the Casa are super friendly and will attend to almost any need a guest might have. If something can be changed to make your stay more enjoyable, all it takes is to mention it to Antonio, Pepe, or the staff, and viola, it is done! Thanks to all at the Casa for making my trip so enjoyable. Saludos!

Room Tip: You may read about the church bells in some reviews. Yes, there are bells that can be heard in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this delightful B&B September 26 to October 2, 2013. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we were blown away! As a hospitality professional with over 30 years experience this was one amazing place. The location was perfect, walking distance to museums, churches, parks and restaurants.The cooked to order breakfast was delicious, the rooms were beautiful and spacious. All with modern amenities with old world charm.This B&B has a beautiful antique shop. We purchased the Cultural Package with two additional nights, it was perfect. The package for two included private guided walking tour, private guided day trip,a three course dinner with a bottle of wine, and massages.The staff was awesome, Rosa the cook,Rosa the housekeeper, Marco and Arturo. The owners/hosts Antonio and Pepe were extremely friendly,helpful and bilingual.They really made you feel at home! We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Arlene and Patricio

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJPM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at this charming place 3 oct to 7 oct 2013. Lovely set up with all the courtyards, spacious rooms and great breakfast. Wonderful location in front of templo san agustin and museo de las artes graficas a must see. Right in the middle of the historis area. brad el paso texas

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradElpasotexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We are also B&B owners here in Mexico and we were delighted we decided on this wonderful place. The rooms are spacious, have everything you need to make your stay comfortable and breakfast were delicious served by a delightful Rosa who always had a smile. The hosts are very friendly, bilingual and extremely friendly. We are planning another trip and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. The location is also a big bonus.

Room Tip: We got to see a few and they were all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernandolazzeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We visited Queretaro just for a weekend and decided on El Atrio based on the comments made by the reacent visitors and even pur expectations were high the place and the service were a beautiful surprise. It will be pur definitive first choice for the adorable city of Queretaro...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#20 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Domun Hotel
Domun Hotel
#2 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Flamingo Inn
Hotel Flamingo Inn
#3 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#24 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
#35 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Atrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Atrio

Property: La Casa del Atrio
Address: Calle Ignacio Allende 15 | Centro Historico, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Atrio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Atrio is a beautiful Boutique Hotel centrally located in the heart of Historic Downtown in a completely refurbished 19th century house, and features an holistic SPA and an art gallery & antique shop where you will find a variety of wonderful pieces at reasonable prices. Each of our twelve suites offers a unique experience in every possible way: high-quality designer linens, memory-foam mattresses, rain-like shower heads, amenities with relaxing aromas, handcrafted scented toiletries and works of art that entice contemplation. This Boutique Hotel is ideal for vacation as well as business traveling. Every suite has a flat screen TV with cable service, air conditioning, heating, free calls to the U.S. And Canada, as well as free WiFi service. Being a contemporary and small Boutique Hotel within a colonial ambiance, we offer a magnificent opportunity to enjoy every morning with a custom made breakfast in the interior courtyards; one of the best experiences here at La Casa del Atrio. We are also a Pet Friendly Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa del Atrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing