We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Villar
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the kind of hotel I often hope for and seldom find. It is a place where the welcome is genuine and warm and everything in the place works! The room was immaculate, with its elegantly simple rooms including all the touches that make for a very compfortable stay. The location is close to all the sites yet provides an escpae from the bustle of the city. The courtyard is charming with its fountain, mature trees, flowers, art and chirping canaries.

The breakfast was abundant, nicely presented and delicious, The hosts went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel was quiet and we had a terrific sleep. This hotel made our trip to Queretero an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10833_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    40
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
90
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

For our second trip to Queretaro we felt ecstatic when we arrived at this beautiful hotel. For just a few dollars more than a basic B&B, this small hotel offers all the comforts one could want. There is a lovely courtyard where you are served a delicious cooked to order breakfast. The beds are very comfortable. There is lots of hot water and even an electric heater in the bedroom if needed. The service provided by Orlando was warm and friendly. This adds so much an experience. We immediately started thinking of a return visit. At the time we stayed the charge was $69. That is an extreme value for the service provided. There was even an espresso maker in our room. What we took away from our stay was how inviting and relaxing this oasis was.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruita, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is one of the best hotels, that I have stayed in, in Mexico. Well worth the money, I will return for longer next time. I have stayed in several places in Querétaro and this outshines them all. My room was plenty big enough with a huge comfortable bed and a nicely-lit bathroom. Decor and fittings are modern without being over the top. The shower had very high water pressure, and took a while to heat up, but well worth the wait! The central, enclosed courtyard features very old and large bouganvillea. This is a great place for a peaceful breakfast. The enclosed design of the hotel shuts out much of the noise of the town; dogs and church bells included. Orlando was helpful with everything and his manner was pleasant and personal. Breakfast was more than I usually eat but too good to miss! Internet service is wireless in the courtyard and cabled in the room. This is a very thoughtful addition where the walls are thick and wifi does not reach. I had stayed three nights, somewhere else, on this trip and I really wish I had stayed here instead.

Room Tip: Check out the website, http://www.villadelvillar.com.mx
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I, along with our two small children and my mother, spent three nights at Villa del Villar in Queretaro. The hosts - Raul, Orlando, and Jesus - are friendly and aim to make their guests welcome and comfortable. The B&B is spotless and well run, the decor a nice mix of the contemporary (white linens, new bathrooms, modern art) and antique (dark wood beams, posts, and trim; leather chairs; historic building with high ceilings), the breakfast excellent (try the huevos rancheros!) and the coffee fantastic. The courtyard is cosy, with soft music, a water fountain, and very comfortable chairs and tables. One morning, we stayed and let our children play there until noon. The hosts made every effort to accommodate us. When we forgot to bring a small blanket for our smallest child, they made sure to get one for her, so that she could sleep soundly. When my mother did not feel up to stepping out to dinner one evening, Raul prepared her an excellent meal (on very short demand) and she dined happily in the courtyard. The B&B is a gem, and one of the very few that welcome and enjoy small children. When I return to Queretaro in the future, I do not plan to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyson_benton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My wife and I just spent a week at the Villa del Villar, and it was just perfect. The hotel sits in the middle of historic Queretaro, a perfect location to walk and explore the great beauty of all the area has to offer. At the hotel, Raul, Jesus and Orlando could not have possibly been more gracious and accomidating. The hotel is a perfect combination of being elegantly old, but with all the amenities of a new modern hotel. The beautiful breakfast in the courtyard each morning was excellent each and every day. My wife and I cannot wait to go back to Queretaro, and we will again stay at the Villa del Villar. It's simply the best..... Thank you so much Raul. See you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Set in an 18 th century house, the hotel has very nice rooms, with very high cealings, very clean and a courtyard for breakfast. Breakfast consisting of coffee, fruit, eggs and pastries is included. Service by Raul and Jesús is outstanding. Location is perfect, in Queretaros beautiful and well kepthistoric center. You can walk to museums, churches, plazas and restaurants.
The price for a double room with a promotion and breakfast included for 3 was 1300 pesos.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We recently traveled extensively through the historic Spanish silver region of Mexico and this was by far our favorite bed and breakfast. The hotel is a recent renovation of a villa previously owned by a local doctor. The house canaries Placido and Bocelli greet you at the main entrance as you walk in off the quiet side street. The rooms are neat and well appointed; the local handmade soaps and lotions supplied in the rooms were a nice touch. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The simple but delicious Mexican breakfasts in the courtyard proved an elegant start to the morning. We had a large room off the main courtyard, where we sat late evenings on our return with a bottle of wine while listening to the excellent mix of Spanish and contemporary jazz.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter but the front rooms entering off the courtyard are more spacious with lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nola-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Xavier
Hotel San Xavier
#27 of 93 in Queretaro City
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#21 of 93 in Queretaro City
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 93 in Queretaro City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#20 of 93 in Queretaro City
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel ...
#10 of 93 in Queretaro City
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lucca
Hotel Quinta Lucca
#31 of 93 in Queretaro City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Villar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Villar

Property: Hotel Villa del Villar
Address: Vicente Guerrero Sur No. 33 | Between Pino Suarez & Arteaga, Centro Historico, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Villar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and well preserved Colonial House in Down Town Queretaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Villar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing