We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Villar
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We are returning from a long trip with multiple destinations. We decided to take a "day off" from traveling before returning home. We read the reviews of this hotel and decided to give it a try.

We got in late from the airport, our host was waiting for us and showed us to room number 3. It was a very quaint room with a skylight. However, no window, so, while its nice and dark for sleeping, not much ventilation, even with the fan provided, it was a little stuffy.

The next morning we had a sweet table for two set up in the courtyard. The breakfast was fantastic. A plate of fresh papaya and melon, followed by eggs cooked to order and plenty of good coffee. We mentioned that our room was a bit hot and stuffy and we were immediately offered another room. They graciously moved our bags for us while we were out for a walk. The new room has a window, (room number 8), and is slightly bigger. The only drawback is that the wifi does not work in that room. I have a feeling that if you visited in the winter, the stuffiness in the rooms wouldn't be as much of an issue. The rooms are spotless and well appointed.

We decided to ask after a massage and this was just as quickly arranged. Maria is a very good masseuse and her English is perfect.

They even arranged for our taxi to the airport. The staff are just as the previous reviewers mentioned, attentive, gracious and friendly. I felt like we had our own concierge!

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    40
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
90
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

i had the opportunity of spending a few days (March 2013) in Queretaro with two girlfriends. The hotel was a nice surprise. We had a fairly good size room with two queen beds. The location is perfect as it is right in town so everything is within walking distance. The young staff was excellent and could not have been more accommodating. The beds were super comfy. They even found a coffee machine for us!!! And, it was very quiet. I definitely recommend this small, quaint hotel for anyone who is not into the "big hotel scene'. Make sure you have the staff arrange some chairs on the roof as it is a wonderful place to relax beside the bougainvillea's ( overlooking the city). They serve a good breakfast with your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our stay at hotel 'Villa del Villar' was (like the title states) just perfect.
The location of the hotel is just next to Jardin Guerrero in Centro Histórico, from there you can walk to Jardín Zenea and enjoy the downtown atmosphere. Jesús and the team are excellent hosts and willing to help at any time; they gave us great tips for restaurants and touristic places - thanx for that!. They arranged a parking place for us (with no extra charge). Breakfast was ready and fresh prepared as appointed the night before (fruit salad, scrambled eggs, quesadillas - delicious). Breakfast was served at the front yard with a beautiful view to the Bougainvilleas plus the running water from the fountain is the perfect combination to start the day. The rooms are rustic style and very (very) clean, quiet, comfortable and cozy.
Shortly: Mexican style with great quality standards.
Every peso paid was totally worth it and would highly recommend it to anyone (couples, singles, families, friends and business people too).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dushi7610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have traveled extensively in Mexico and some aspects of Villa del Villar are the best we’ve experienced. The location is perfect - easy walking distance to all the highlights of the centro historico yet far enough away that you are not bothered by the hustle and bustle of the enthusiastic activities in the squares. It is also close to a some good restaurants.

The hotel has a great layout and wonderful furnishings. Rooms that become pitch black and silent along with comfortable beds make for a good night’s sleep. The showers have good water pressure and lots of hot water. Breakfasts in the morning are included in the room rate and are excellent - coffee, tea, juice, a fruit plate, a nice selection of eggs and sweetbread to finish it off. Service from the staff was outstanding - gracious, always at the ready, and never imposing.

The only thing that we found lacking was the availability of purified water. One 600ml bottle per person was provided daily in the room but that was it. When we asked for more water, more bottles were quickly fetched but at checkout we were charged for the extra bottles provided (10 pesos each). Since this was not explained to us, it left a slightly sour note to an otherwise outstanding stay. Our recommendation to this hotel - provide an unlimited amount of purified water (doesn’t matter how) and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2peaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

A very attractive and quaint property, near the heart of the historic center of Queretaro. Staff was exceptionally attentive and helpful. Breakfasts are included and are excellent. Our room was a bit small and dark but very nicely arranged. The bed was comfortable and the nights were quiet. The bathroom also was small but modern and functional. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faustino g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
328 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

however, I would recommend this place for its location, tranquility, service,
Jesus, was most accommodating.He speaks little English, enough to understand your requests.
Our room (# 5) was wonderful.It had 2 queen size beds which were very comfortable to the point that we slept in, and almost missed our taxi to go to the bus station.
If we are back in Queretaro, we'll stay ther again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January with our two children (15 & 14) and had a great experience. For a very reasonable fee a hotel employee picked us up at the airport and drove us back at the end of your stay. The hotel is very near the historic center of Queretaro with beautiful plazas in each direction. The hotel recommended some wonderful restaurants that we really enjoyed. Each evening the hotel manager asked what time we wanted breakfast the following morning and the next morning a table was set for us on the patio and a wonderful breakfast of fruit, breads and eggs to order was served.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doyle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#18 of 93 in Queretaro City
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#22 of 93 in Queretaro City
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Xavier
Hotel San Xavier
#26 of 93 in Queretaro City
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 93 in Queretaro City
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel ...
#10 of 93 in Queretaro City
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Flamingo Inn
Hotel Flamingo Inn
#3 of 93 in Queretaro City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Villar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Villar

Property: Hotel Villa del Villar
Address: Vicente Guerrero Sur No. 33 | Between Pino Suarez & Arteaga, Centro Historico, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Villar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and well preserved Colonial House in Down Town Queretaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa del Villar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing