We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money and excellent location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money and excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Hotel doesn't look much from the outside but once inside it's tradition courtyard design is very pretty. Its location is great with a short walk into the Historic Centre of town. Very clean with all linen changed daily and lovely brand of toiletries provided.
It was rather noisy at times with the Gallos Ultras practicing just across the river and trains hooting loudly from time to time, but hey, this is Mexico!!!!
All the staff were very cheerful and friendly but my only complaint is that so little English was spoken by the reception staff. We were lucky that we had no real problems but this seems a little shortsighted with increasing numbers of American and European tourists and business people visiting this great city.
I'd certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can, get the upstairs suite with it's own terrace over the pool. Looked really nice and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    50
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
53
66
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is decently priced and it's just a stone's throw away from Downtown Queretaro. The staff is extremely friendly. There's plenty to do, and everything is walking distance. There's no cafeteria so be prepared to go elsewhere for your meals. The restaurant next door isn't very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJVasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, NH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We loved this boutique hotel. We had three rooms and were very happy here. The breakfast was standard but they would serve you in your room, by the pool or in the lounge. It was very homey and pleasant. We loved sitting by the pool when the weather allowed. The front desk was very helpful. We had two cars and the staff took them away and brought them back seamlessly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor may be brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittney-buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Quinta Rio Hotel Boutique for two and a half weeks at the end of 2012. Consisting of about ten rooms, this hotel is located just across the Río Querétaro from the historic district, the Centro, with a beautiful footbridge immediately in front of the hotel, so access was quick and easy; a walk of four or five blocks brought us to the Plaza de Armas (the real centro of the Centro), and of less than a block to the Sucré Salé, an excellent French bakery on the Avenida Universidad.

With a quietly understated exterior, the hotel, which is only two or three years old, is quite nice inside. Its rooms open onto an attractive and well-designed interior patio with heated pool. Our own room was not large, but there was convenient and adequate storage, a small round table with two comfortable chairs, a flat-screen television with numerous channels (including some in English), and a king bed that we found very comfortable. Our bathroom, and particularly the toilet, was a bit tight, but the shower stall was quite generous in size. Hot water was immediate and abundant. Everything worked fine.

Rooms were cleaned daily and thoroughly, and care was taken not to disturb personal items. Our room was spotlessly maintained, as was the entire hotel, not something to be taken for granted in Mexico or anywhere else for that matter. Room essentials were replenished without any need to ask.

The hotel served a free breakfast every morning which consisted of a good fruit plate, some undistinguished pastry, cold orange juice, and excellent coffee. Coffee was also always available in the lobby.

With the minor exceptions of the clanking of a nearby church bell and an occasional passing train some blocks away, the hotel was quiet and restful. The rooms do not face the normally busy Avenida Universidad, and the only times we were aware of the street at all was when passing the time on a rooftop terrace overlooking the street and the edge of the Centro across the river.

What really stood out for us in this hotel was the excellent and very personable staff. English was spoken only at the reception desk (and not by all of the receptionists), but everyone connected with this hotel, the cleaning and maintenance team, the doorman, the folks who served breakfast, the knowledgeable receptionists, even the owner who was present on occasion, everyone was helpful, warm, and patient with our sometimes ridiculous Spanish, and upon departing, we felt we were leaving behind friends who would be missed (they are).

When we next find ourselves in Querétaro, a very beautiful and fascinating colonial city that largely remains to be discovered by tourists from outside of Mexico, we will not hesitate to stay once again at this fine small hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

This is our first time in Queretaro, and we love it! Will definitely return and will definitely stay at this quaint and intimate boutique hotel. It is so clean, one would believe it opened just yesterday. The staff is highly attentive, the continental breakfast just right, the heated pool refreshing (even in Jamuary), and all the amenities first rate. What a find! Viva la Mexico! Viva la Queretaro! Viva la Quinta Rio Boutique Hotel!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Highly recommended for location and price. Its a small hotel with a very nice swimming pool and a small patio in the back. The room had air conditioning and came with a continental breakfast. The walk to the main plaza was about 15 minutes or so. We were traveling with out 2 small children and never found the walk overly arduous or time consuming.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingOnDowntheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quintario, Director Comercial at Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing your opinion, for us is very important as all our staff are proud to provide excellent service. Also thank you for highlight some of our qualities in his opinion, for example our location that is ideal for people who want to walk in the historic center but without the noise of all the people, since we are only 3 to 4 blocks from the main square and can walk right through the beautiful and quaint downtown streets, and the best thing is that this also minutes of the main avenues of the city. Also our rate is available to all, as our goal is to provide excellent service with wonderful amenities for the best price.

Thank you very much and see you soon at "Quinta Río".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Highly recommended hotel - small & quaint - the bed was extremely comfortable - very clean facility & room - shower large & soothing. Towels soft and plenty of complimentary soaps / shampoos, etc. Very friendly staff always willing to help at anytime of day or night. Saul, our taxi service, was very accommodating too and was also a very good tour guide (and Spanish teacher to boot). Breakfast was simple & refreshing. Very comforting sitting & rest areas throughout.....I've booked my next trip with Quinta Rio Hotel and I'm looking forward to my trip!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quintario, Director Comercial at Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Hi again mark:

It was an honor to meet you at your house back in Queretaro, we want to thank you taking the time to write your wonderful experience at "Quinta Rio". We're very flattered that you 'Highly Recommended' us and remember that we are here to serve you in your next travel to Queretaro.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Villar
Hotel Villa del Villar
#24 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#15 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Hija del Alfarero
La Hija del Alfarero
#40 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Xavier
Hotel San Xavier
#27 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Quinta Lucca
Hotel Quinta Lucca
#35 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro

Property: Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro
Address: Avenida Universidad Ote. 27 | Col. Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel: Whether on business or pleasure trips, at the Quinta Río Boutique Hotel, in Querétaro, Mexico, you will find a place for real pleasure. Here you will experience the combination of a classical colonial atmosphere and the modern amenities, thanks to the excellent attention of the personnel and the convenient services that will make your stay in this colonial city an unforgettable experience.Accommodations: Any of our 10 beautiful suites, classified as Standard, Junior and Master, will please you with their decoration and unique style, since they are equipped with the amenities that you need. The hotel architecture and sensory focusing offer an unforgettable experience, since every scent, every texture and combination of color are designed for your pleasure. Location: Quinta Río is conveniently located on the new tourist corridor called “Paseo Universidad”, in Querétaro Historic Center, 400 m from “Plaza de Armas”, the main plaza. You will be near important businesses, malls and tourist attractions of this beautiful colonial city. We offer Airport-Hotel transfer with previous reservation and extra cost (about 25 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Quinta Rio Queretaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing