We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exemplary Service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Make no mistake about it - this is a 5 Star hotel!

We stayed at the Casona de la Republica for three days in April, 2014 and will remember our experience for a long time to come.

Queretaro has marvelous shopping, at least in the old section where we were, with many handmade items at lower prices than we'd seen in Merida where we have our winter home. The City is very pretty with its little winding streets that are closed to traffic (it reminded us of the old section of Rome and Spain) and clean. We loved it, and the Casona. The City is chock full of Mexican history, with many interesting places to visit.

We flew Volaris Air from Merida to Mexico City, then got a bus right from the airport to Queretary (about 2.5 hours). The bus station was the best we've ever encountered....it was vast, laid out like an airport, spotlessly clean, and easily navigable with a long line of set rate taxis.

The Casona itself is a masterpiece of renovation. I believe it was a convent attached to the neighbouring church, and it has been beautifully renovated while maintaining the original features throughout. The first thing I noticed about our room upon entering was the aroma. I don't know how they do it but the room smelled fresh and very lightly scented. That's rare in my experience of Mexican hotels where the smell of mustiness often prevails. (That said, Queretaro has, admittedly, a dry climate.) We arrived mid week and stayed on the main floor in the Allende suite and highly recommend it with the office just down the way if you need something. The room has an upstairs that we never even used. Both upstairs and downstairs have large flat screen TV's. We brought our own HDMI cord, hooked up the laptop to the TV and were able to enjoy our US Netflix by using our VPN. The Hotel's Wifi was equal to the task. Really appreciated that, as we don't speak Spanish so Mexican TV is of no use to us. That same evening we had a delicious dinner brought to our room at no extra charge for room service.

The staff and management treated us like family, catering to our every wish. This included having the chef prepare a lovely fish dinner with an original sauce for us, after I dove into a dip with a tortilla chip that nearly burned my mouth out. I ran to the bathroom in tears, it was that spicy. The manager was flabbergasted at my reaction, saying that 2 year olds eat it with no problem. I explained that I wasn't used to it and asked that they warn us next time. He quickly recovered from his astonishment, went into the kitchen and took charge. Out came the chef and asked what he could get for us that would not be spicy, resulting in the delicious dinner described above.

This was just one example of the personal service we received time and again during our three day stay. Staff were happy to fire up the hot tub on the roof for us, and bring us drinks while we enjoyed the sunset and the view of the adjacent church.

Anything we asked for we got, including a tour of the premises when we arrived. Really, if it hadn't been for wanting to explore the City (it is clean, pretty, flat and very walkable) we could have happily never left the hotel.

A few small things I would suggest to the Casona in the way of improving the experience:

- tell the staff not to call at 7:40 a.m. regarding a massage that had been booked for late that day, and then call again three times in succession
- more English speaking staff would be greatly appreciated (this is a Hotel catering primarily to a Mexican clientele, so I imagine they did their best; there was always someone who could be fetched if communication became utterly impossible)
- have the menu in English, with options for dishes that are not spicy
- improve the service in the dining room; the breakfast service was very questionable, with the waiter having to be asked for every single necessity, including cutlery (we were the only ones in the dining room, so it wasn't because they were busy)
- don't have cleaning staff washing the floors in the dining room while it's open and people are eating. Where I come from cleaning is done at night when no one's around.

That said, we would return to this beautiful building, with exemplary service, in a prime location in the old section of historic Queretaro, ANYTIME! We loved the City and we loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Allende Suite is on the Main Floor just down from the office. No stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Friends,

It is a pleasure to have people in our hotel like you guys, we love the history that you tell us about this Mexican Heroe and his American Love ! Wonderfull.

We really hope that you visit us soon in your nex trip to Queretaro.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    32
    10
    4
    13
See reviews for
10
70
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wonderful experience for what was the first of reqular visits to Queretaro. The rooms are beautifuly decorated, immaculatly clean, and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. For tips on learning to speak Spanish see F&B Manager Miguel :).

My room was Dolores which is smaller, but enjoys a private roof top deck. A business partner was in La Republica which was on the ground floor, but was elligant and has a loft with a spa tub.

I highly recommend the hotel for both business and pleasure travel.

Room Tip: My room was Dolores which is smaller, but enjoys a private roof top deck and is in a secluded sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to give your comments.

Please let us know if there any thing else that we can do for you.

We hope to see you son in a near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This is a small 16 room hotel, very nicely restored with a wonderful courtyard friendly staff and perfect location.

If you can get one if the upstairs rooms like Deloris you have your own roof terrace

Breakfast was high quality

It is 5 mins walk to the squares and nice restaurants. If you get a chance take a taxi to the pyramide ) before 2.30pm) and have them wait it is much more impressive than we thought

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TCinci2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your Hotel in your last visit to Querétaro.

One of the most beatufull gifts that we reciev from our guest is the comments that the give us.

Thank you for give us this present !!

I spect to see you soon once again !!

Sincrely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We again stayed in Queretaro at this incredibly lovely boutique hotel. Our room (the Queretaro Suite - each room is different) was gorgeous and private. Other than a few church bells in the morning, this hotel is very quiet - unusual for a Mexican hotel in the heart of the historic district. The location is unbeatable - a block from the Jardin and across from the Teatro de la Republica. The management was very solicitous on our behalf, including working with another hotel we had just stayed in to obtain some misplaced belongings. We will stay here anytime we are in Queretaro.

Room Tip: I recommend the Queretaro Suite on the first floor, although many rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

One of the most beautiful gift that we recibe from our guests is the time that they expend to write us a comment.

Thank you for give us this present, and I remind you that this Hotel always be your home away your home.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I come verry often in Queretaro, and I have discover this hotel. The rooms are very beautiful, and quiet and comfortable. The hotel is in the down town, and very close to the life of Queretaro.

I really appreciate the services for the breakfest in the room, simple, but teasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to tank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

It is a pleasure for us to see that our lovely guests enjoy our Hotel, please feel free to contact us if you need future asistence.

I spect to see you soon again . Best regards

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and 3 friends spent 3 nights in what was one of the most welcoming, charming and comfortable hotels. The manager and staff are welcoming and accommodating beyond belief. The rooms are just beautiful and the "rain like" shower took me to another place, just spectacular. Sitting in the court yard sipping Margaritas, that are out of this world, was a daily occurrence. The background music along with the sound of water from the garden fountain and the beautiful orange trees with ripe oranges made it very hard to leave it day. But the place is located in the heart of the old historic district and with so many wonderful sights and sounds to get out and see you have to leave the what I believe to be a heavenly space. This is truly an amazing place and must see.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are a must stay. The court yard is a wonderful place to hangout and use W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianCavazos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

For guest´s like you it deserve all the efforts that we make every day to keep our customers happy.

Thank you once again to be part of the positive ones and absolutely we spect to see you soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay here during the CutOutFest 2013. I was in a room on the roof-top, which was really beautiful, comfortable, clean and huge, with a jacuzzi bath in the room. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Queretaro, which is a fantastic city to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Juan P, Director General at Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments , we really spect to see you soon again in a future. Have a wonderfull day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#54 of 93 in Queretaro City
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
#39 of 93 in Queretaro City
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#22 of 93 in Queretaro City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
Antiguo Meson de Aspeytia
#40 of 93 in Queretaro City
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 93 in Queretaro City
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel & Spa
La Mansion del Burro Azul Hotel ...
#10 of 93 in Queretaro City
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique

Property: Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Address: Privada Segunda Hidalgo 4, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful Casona de la Republica, Hotel Boutique Design, is a unique and different concept of accommodation. It was developed within a space carefully reconstructed, where the original architecture of the house. It was built at the end of the 17th century; its architecture has been duly respected.With a mixture of free styles, modern accents art and Mexican details, a special ambiance of elegance and warmth to please the most demanding tastes was created. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing