We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but poor room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Camelinas Hotel
Ranked #66 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Metepec, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but poor room quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

The staff in this hotel was very friendly and warm, however the room I stayed on for one night only was terrible: The air conditioning didn't work (Fortunately it wasn't too hot and opening the window helped somehow), the room was musty and the shower didn't work. I stayed only for one night. On the positive side the pool is nice and the food in the restaurant for breackfast was very good. Price was also acceptable. Parking included is another good point.I just couln'd rest that night but probably I will ot return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    25
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
20
3
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SMA,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Only one thing about this hotel rang true to what I'd read about it...it was indeed beautiful. The rest, however, was disaster, beginning with them not having our paid-for reservation with Orbitz. We eventually did receive a room meeting the criteria of what we'd reserved (non-smoking, King bed) but it must have been their "emergency spare" or something, because nothing worked as advertised! We couldn't get the air-conditioner on for certain and had no Internet signal (despite seeing a modem in the room), so we stopped at the desk on our way to their restaurant, and asked that they fix these two things while we were out of the room. We then proceeded to eat in a cavernous space with as much ambiance as as a hospital lobby, on food that could be served to its patients. Back up in the room, it was cold - but the Internet signal was still unavailable. (surprise) Not wanting to return to the joyless bar/restaurant, we decided to watch TV. Not only were there no English stations, there were NO other of the 60-some advertised channels working! We could not change the channel from the one that appeared when the TV was turned on. There were no good reading lights, and only one straight-backed chair. My husband thought he could at least take a shower - which he did - with the result that the floor of the tiny space flooded. Then we went to bed in what appeared to be Queen mattress on a King base, but neither of us was able to sleep because the AC had apparently been turned down at night (??) and the unit had the unfortunate habit a making loud clicks and rattles every 15 or so minutes. Oh, and they did have an in-room coffee maker, but it was so inconveniently located on a lower shelf, that I had to thread my arm through the cabinet to unplug, relocate, and use it! Needless to say, we skipped breakfast (which was not included, anyway). All told, the plaza Camelinas was not worth its luxury-hotel price, and was a very bad experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kakesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queretaro City hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at the Plaza Camelinas Hotel with the kids and extended family. We visited San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Dolores Hidalgo and Queretaro of course. Beautiful places to visit!!
The hotel rooms are rather small (unless its for only two adults). The bathroom's are particularly small and do not smell good. It has minisplit a/c on every room which helps to keep others out; still the hotel smells a bit.

Now; the included beakfast is delicious ; Ms Lourdes (an elegant woman in charge of the restaurant) greats you at the entrance of the restaurant making you feel welcome and by the second day she recognizes your party; she is a pro!

I had a problem with my breakfast coupons. And the hotel staff was initially unable to issue new ones and cancell the other ones; at the end the situation was resolved and we all got breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgarzacorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at this place for two nights, the hotel has a beautiful lobby and they have a tasty breakfast included, but unfortunatelly the hotel needs urgent renovations, the bathroom was smelly and the furnitures in the room looked outdated and overused. I traveled with kids and they offer a heated swimming pool, but it was cold "because they only turn on the boiler on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_traveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed here with parents for a day. The hotel property was great, pretty landscape, and details. Good restaurant, very good service from staff and quality of food.
The gym was nice situated in the higher floor. The property is clean and well maintained. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in Mexico.
The breakfast buffet very traditional with great food and natural fruit juices, fresh ingredients.

The location is excellent with ample covered parking, and situated on main roads adjacent to a new and modern shopping mall.

Rooms had comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Only thing was a little dated were the carpets in the room, but they clean and were not worn out

The hotel also has a pool, which unfortunately we didn't have enough time to go into since there are so many things to do in the city

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCTravel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collonges, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel during august for a couple of days: it is not very close to Queretaro city center (you need around 15 minutes by car or taxi), but the hotel is good and has a nice pool area, not too big but good enought to take some rest and relax for few hours. Rooms are clean and spacious, buffet breakfast can offer you almost everything, from a wide variety of fruit to eggs, meat and quesadillas.
One side of the hotel faces a quite heavily traffic road, so make sure at booking or check in that your room faces the more quiet pool area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I stay in this incredible hotel just for one night which was good.

Rooms
Good rooms, I had a view to the swimming pool which is very nice and also some mountains at the back. Something bad about the hotel is that when we arrived there was an intense smoke smell, but we call to the front desk and the fix it. All the things were fine. Except in the morning at 7:00 a.m. the alarm of the other room was on and you could hear all, after half an hour, front desk fix it.
I will give a 4.2 out of 5

Pool and the games section
Actually it was a very nice pool, the water was warm so it was all ok. I dont have any problems with this. The little games were ok for my daughter.
I give a 5

Restaruant.
A nice restaurant with good not excellent breakfast that was a full complete buffet not like the tipical breakfast in the american hotel with cereal, eggs, coffe and bread. The price was 10 dollars per person, a little pricy, when we book the room for 8 dollars more we pick the package with breakfast for two people so it was a good option
I give a 4.8

Location
Ver central from the tourist place, just ten minutes in car to the "Arcos" and 15 to Blvd Quintana, were many nightclubs restaurants and a starbucks is.
But it was next to the highway so in the morning there was a little of noise.
I give a 4.7

Overall
Well for one room with breakfast with taxes through Expedia it was 92 USD which is a very good rate, maybe in Mexico we always add in some cities a star to the hotels, so its not a 5 star, a 5 will be a Four Seasons. But is not a 2 stars like Tripadvisor put it so good rate, good location with pool and free internet, including the buisness center. It was good but with some problems. I think it deserves 4 points out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flamingo Inn
Hotel Flamingo Inn
#3 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Queretaro Centro Historico
Holiday Inn Queretaro Centro His...
#23 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queretaro
Hilton Garden Inn Queretaro
#10 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
NH Queretaro
NH Queretaro
#46 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Queretaro
Fiesta Inn Queretaro
#11 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Queretaro
Ramada Encore Queretaro
#15 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Camelinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Camelinas Hotel

Property: Plaza Camelinas Hotel
Address: Avenida 5 de Febrero 28 | Esq. Zaragoza, Queretaro City 76170, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Camelinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Camelinas Hotel has been distinguished as one of the most beautiful hotels in Mexico with its fine Mexican architecture, elegant furniture and decor. Located in Queretaro, a city rich in history and of unmatched colonial beauty, Plaza Camelinas Hotel offers over 150 Luxury Rooms, 4 Junior Suites, one Master Suite, Restaurant, Video Bar, Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, Business Center, Auditorium and a Convention Center with a capacity of up to 1000 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Camelinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Camelinas Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing