We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel Perfectly Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de la Marquesa
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Stayed 2 nights at this elegant, beautifully maintained hotel perfectly located a few blocks from the Plaza. We took two rooms in the main building;one had a balcony overlooking the street and the other (for our two teenagers) had windows onto the inner courtyard. I thought it was a bit dark but it had a huge bathroom. The staff was extremely accommodating and gracious. Our only complaint was the restaurant recommendations-the first was a fast food type place that served mostly bad american food. The other was a 10 minute taxi ride to an italian restaurant that was truly awful.

Other than that the hotel itself was a visual treat with the hand stenciled walls and carved woodwork. We would recommend this hotel or anyone staying in Queretaro for a few days. Our teenagers liked being able to walk out the door into the center of town. Tons of police everywhere and extremely clean.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oddmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2008

Excellent hotel, with great decor. There are actually two houses, one more elegant (and I think more expensive), where registration is located, and one around the corner,l where we stayed. Room was spacious, very high ceilings, enormous wooden bed with soft sheets, nice decor. Breakfast is served downstairs in a beautiful courtyard (not included in room rate!). We had a problem with a toilet that took longer to fix than it would take in USA, but Mexico isn't supposed to be USA. We were exposed to some street noise, which I suspect would be avoided in the back rooms of the other house.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

La Casa de la Marquesa is a wonderful, historical, beautiful place. The rooms were quite large and comfortable. This hotel is located in the heart of the city. The plaza, museums, cafes, shops, and restaurants are all just a few blocks away. We had a wonderful romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southern-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We had a terrific stay in this beautiful hotel. The price, for what you get, was more than reasonable. The room was clean, beautiful hardwood floors, very large, giant shutters opened up to a view of the church across the street. One of the reviews I read here on TripAdvisor mentioned that you should request to stay in the main hotel building -- because there's like an annex building just down the street -- and a part of me wishes I had done that because they put us in the annex, but honestly that building was just as charming and I really don't have any complaints about my stay there. The hotel staff was very helpful with every request we had. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. A little pricier than the rest of town but we expected that since everything was so clean and nice. The town in general -- or at least where the hotel is located -- is very quaint. Nice to just relax, sightsee, and familiarize yourself with the town's history. A very lowkey place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverlyblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

if you are looking for a beautiflu romantic getaway in the downtown historic district, this is it!

We stayed in the expansion part across the street by choice because of the exceptional quality of the rooms.

It is difficult to find anything negative to say about this hotel.

It has everything you could want: beautiful rooms, modern facilities, location, service, etc. etc.

We negotiated a very good price, 1200 pesos (a little over $100 USD) for the best suite in the hotel.

We would go back again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Retired_in_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

This hotel has what we always look for in a vacation hotel – excellent location in the heart of the city, good staff, nice rooms, reasonable price and character. In this case, the last comes from the hotel’s history and architecture. We stayed in the annex, the Casa Azul, which is not quite the same as staying in the main house, but was fine. The rooms were large and the courtyard downstairs, where we has breakfast, was a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SurfJogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

For a hotel that bills itself as one of the Great Small Luxury Hotels in the World, I would expect much better service. The hotel is indeed stunning inside. Whether you stay here or not, you should visit the hotel and look inside at its spectacular Moorish-influenced architecture.

Apparently, though, the management that runs this hotel seems to think that the hotel's physical beauty should be enough to warrant the expense and honor of staying there. When we (family of four, all adults, two large suitcases, a few other bags) arrived we were assigned a bell person to lead us to the hotel's annex branch, a half a block away on the next street. He indicated we should follow him. He offered no help with our luggage.

When we got to the annex, he dashed up two flights of stairs. From the balcony he indicated we should come up to our rooms. We schlepped all of our baggage up the two flights of stairs ourselves. Hardly "luxury"!

(Upon checkout we reported this to the management and they expressed concern.)

There is no coffee (we love Mexican coffee) in the rooms. Hotel guests are allowed to purchase expensive weak, watery coffee downstairs from the hotel restaurant. After we found this out my wife made a coffee pilgrimage down the street each morning to purchase much better (and cheaper) brew at a local cafe.

The other problem we had was with concierge information. Half of it was excellent; the other half atrocious (this was consistent with both of the concierges we used). For example: We were in Querétaro for New Year's Eve. We asked about the best place to experience New Year's Eve in Querétaro. Had we taken their advice we would have had a sedate, refined dinner celebration at a good restaurant (which, fortunately, turned out to be impossible since all of the good restaurants in Querétaro were booked for New Year's Eve well in advance --- information one would think the concierge should have known). What we would have missed, however, was one of the best New Year's celebrations we've ever experienced.

The Jardín Zenea is THE place to be on New Year's Eve. The celebration here is very safe (in regards to crime --- not fireworks) and is extremely family oriented. We only saw one inebriated person the entire night! There was lots of terrific street entertainment (like superb young fire jugglers), loads of fireworks (at 10:30, so as not to keep the kiddies up too late), maniacal church bell ringing, and a castillo (a giant pictorial wooden construction loaded with fireworks) that went off at different times with different animated displays and sequences. There were good vibes everywhere, great street food and sweets and tons of sparklers. The cavalier attitude Mexicans have towards explosives just added to the excitement. Unforgettable!

If I had this to do all over again I think I'd book rooms at the much cheaper and even more conveniently located Hotel Hidalgo (after checking TripAdvisor, of course).

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DinosaurGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Atrio
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 94 in Queretaro City
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
Meson de Santa Rosa Luxury Hotel
#50 of 94 in Queretaro City
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutique
La Casa del Naranjo Hotel Boutiq...
#23 of 94 in Queretaro City
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casona de la Republica Hotel Boutique
Casona de la Republica Hotel Bou...
#52 of 94 in Queretaro City
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
Dona Urraca Hotel & Spa
#33 of 94 in Queretaro City
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Queretaro
Gran Hotel de Queretaro
#30 of 94 in Queretaro City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Marquesa

Address: Privada Madero 41, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range: £80 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa de la Marquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa de la Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De La Marquesa Hotel Queretaro
La Casa De Marquesa Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing