We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful budget choice”
Review of Hidalgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidalgo Hotel
Ranked #46 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
282 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Wonderful budget choice”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Cannot beat the location only 1 block from Main Plaza. Have stayed numerous times & always look forward to returning. Wonderful to have seen a fantastic old colonial structure returned it's historic usage. Rooms are basic, but have always been spotlessly clean which is why we return. Good restaurant & snack bar opening off the interior courtyard. Queretaro is not a late town in the immediately surrounding downtown area, so don't fear getting a street front room, since it comes with a small balcony. Interior rooms may be more quiet, but they are darker, since that is the nature of the beast with such colonial structures. We opt for the light. Bright bathrooms, good linens, the typical back-breaking super hard Mexican beds, & CNN in English --- what's not to llike for $47 (USD)? Have always encountered great employees! A well run operation that never disappoints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    65
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
61
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I booked through booking.com and had been booked into a room with 3 beds. Once I got there, I was given a one bed room, which was better value. The hotel is in a great location for central Queretaro, where you can walk everywhere. The courtyard design is very cool, with a covered hacienda-like interior and a cafe inside. The room, though, was very small and dark. Services were very basic, so this felt more like a hostel than a hotel. I don't need a giant tv but a bath mat and a clock would be useful. My room was big enough for one. With my case on the floor, I'm already stepping over things. Internet service was good. Parking was a bit difficult. I had to park three blocks away. Parking cost a third as much as the room. Bed was comfortable and I slept well by wearing ear plugs. The tiled floors outside and stone walls made for a noisy night. Did I say this was great value for money? I wouldn't take my girlfriend there though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed one night at Hotel Hidalgo on our way to Puebla. We checked the room first and noted that it was clean but basic. The price is reasonable (MEX 495 for 1 double bed) and the location is great as it is close to the zocalo and other tourist attractions. Most of the rooms face the courtyards where the restaurant is. There is free wifi in the rooms facing the courtyard but not those located away from the courtyard. We had a good sleep as it was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. The fan overhead helped otherwise it could be stuffy as there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mclim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This is an old hotel in the Historic district very good location. We only spent one night on our transit to Mexico City. The hotel was very clean and well mantained for such an old hotel. This is not a fancy hotel by any means but it suited our purpose. We did check two rooms to make sure we had a room that we liked. The breakfast was very good and the service was great. They were all very friendly. The best part was the location if your just spending some time walking around. Taxis are cheap so you can get anywhere you need to go for about 4 or 5 Dollars.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetogoalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

i just loved this place,it is a small gem that i came across. Perfectly located. Wonderful setting with courtyard,hanging geraniums and fountain.
great tasty food and coffee. Friendly helpful staff. a wonderful oasis for relaxation.
book a room around the courtyard as other rooms are quite dark
kick back relax adn enjoy

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

There is no question that the location is great: smack in the centre and just a few meters from one of the main squares of the town.
The building itself is also quite nice with its central yard with fountain (where the restaurant has most of its tables) and the original decorations.
The rooms however are not up to scratch. We requested one of the larger double rooms following the recommendation of a previous reviewer: but this one too had no windows to the outside (just windows towards the inner court but no curtains so the blinds had to be closed to avoid onlookers). The furniture was old and simple to the extreme. The room was in need of some attention. The shower was hit and miss.
The hotel is not difficult to find, if you have a map showing the directions of the one-way streets. Finding the car park was a challenge though, partly because of the one way streets, partly because the hotel owner twice pointed to the wrong spot on the map (provided by the hotel itself). The price for the car park is not included in the room rate and during the day you are charged by the hour.
If we were to go back to Queretaro (definitely worth it), we would try to find a different accommodation with a better quality-to-price ratio.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryWastoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We stayed at the Hidalgo for five days including Dia del Independencia and found it to be a great choice, located right in the historic center of Queretaro. The property was very clean and well kept, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room price of 42 USD per night was unbeatable. Yes, the room was basic, and as a previous reviewer noted, the pillows are quite hard, but the shower had plenty of hot water with great water pressure. The location is perfect and the hotel has a lovely courtyard with fountain and dining.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable hotel located steps away from the high priced alternative! Definitely will return for another pleasant stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the hotel, courteous staff, great location, affordable rate
  • Disliked — hard pillows!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank csull12983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.2 mi away
Meson de Carolina
Meson de Carolina
#75 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Molina
Hotel Casa Molina
#23 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Agustin
Hotel San Agustin
#71 of 94 in Queretaro City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#72 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#18 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Allende
Hotel Quinta Allende
#19 of 94 in Queretaro City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidalgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidalgo Hotel

Property: Hidalgo Hotel
Address: Privada Madero No. 11 | Col Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidalgo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hidalgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidalgo Hotel Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing