We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Queretaro”
Review of Hidalgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidalgo Hotel
Ranked #54 of 94 Hotels in Queretaro City
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Queretaro”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Queretaro is such a great city and Hotel Hidalgo is an excellent place to stay while exploring this beautiful city. We studied Spanish at Ole and it is quite close. I have stayed here 3 times and I have no complaints. Staff is helpful. Courtyard is beautiful. I love staying in places steeped in history and ambience. Reading other reviews I see some reservations about noise but I must be a good sleeper, I had no issues.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    66
    42
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
62
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our second visit to Hotel Hidalgo in as many years and we enjoy its charm despite some shortcomings. It must be remembered that this hotel is one of the historic buildings in Queretaro, and it has not been restored to the level of a 4 or 5 star hotel, but given the price, this should not be expected. However, some of the maintenance issues can not be attributed solely to its age but if you are willing to overlook these you will not be disappointed with its location. During both of our stays we had originally requested a room with one bed but these rooms turned out to be very small with no windows other than what was in the door. Both times we requested to be moved to rooms with two beds and these proved to be brighter and more spacious. The restaurant associated with this hotel appears to be quite popular with the locals, and although we have only had breakfast here, I can say that it is very good and reasonably priced. Just be forewarned that the basket of breads and muffins that they bring to your table are not included in the price of your breakfast so don't touch them unless you want to pay for them.

Room Tip: If you want a room with more space and light request a room with two beds. The quieter rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for one night and were very satisfied with our experience. The location is very good, staff is friendly, place is spotless and the courtyard is beautiful. Disappointed that Wi-Fi did not work in our room.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi did not work in our room. So would check the signal on future visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ving98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hidalgo was the first hotel built in Queretaro and at one time housed soldiers and the famed Santa Ana. The history and location make this a must stay for at least two nights. On the weekend ghost tours come through retelling the history of the city and the central role that this hotel held. It is a short walk to the best places to visit in the historic district. The architecture of the building is beautiful.
The comfort level of the Hidalgo is lacking for a long stay. The rooms are clean but the plumbing is old and the beds and pillows are like rocks. The bells from the Catholic Church ring all through the night. Ear plugs are a must.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the room when you arrive to insure you have the air flow you desire. They trie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san miguel de allende
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here overnight and was well pleased. Great central location, beautiful historical colonial building. Very simple, decent restaurant. Only the street facing rooms have exterior windows, all other rooms open onto the courtyard. Some may find the street rooms too noisy, but I prefer it. A solid budget choice.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank susanmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was an unexpected deception. This hotel is ranked 23 of 67 hotels. I expected a lot more. First, let me say this. Location is great. Now let’s see the other aspects. I was lucky, I think, since my room was in the back of the hotel. Of course, this means I had a window on the corridor which shouldn’t be a problem unless you object to being awakened at 6 o’clock in the morning by people leaving and pulling their luggage on the tiled floor, thereby waking you up.
I hope I had the worse room in the hotel. If I didn’t, this place should be closed down. This of course upset me since I had reserved in late may for a july stay ie 2 months ahead.
I realize I should have asked for another room, but, arriving late, I was tired and only wanted to rest awhile. The reason I arrived late is that this hotels puts it’s address as Madero No. 11 Colonia, Centro Historico. But the street name is actually Francisco I. Madero so that my GPS could not find it and I had to pay a taxi driver to guide me to my hotel.
Some of the aspects I objected to are:
-A washbasin having no room to put your things on. You had to put them on the floor.
-When asking for glasses, being told the hotel did not supply them.
-Breakfast one day with bread supplied, the next without.
-Having a fan whose speed cannot be controlled thus supplying the noise required to drown out other noises.
-Having a towel ripped in one of it’s corners.

But, again, the location is great and the staff was nice.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify where your room is located and what amenities are supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelia, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are looking for value and location. Lovely old colonial building. The restaurant serves good food at very good prices. My bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff behind the reception desk are very, very helpful and speak some English.

Only caveat is to be sure and check out a few rooms if you can before settling in. Mine did not have a window to the outside and the window I did have was in the shower. Noise can also be a problem, but I thought I saw some rooms that may have more privacy and not suffer from the noise of the courtyard restaurant.

Overall, it's good value and good location.

Room Tip: I would guess that the rooms at the back of the hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenMorelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queretaro City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabel
Hotel Mirabel
#18 of 94 in Queretaro City
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Molina
Hotel Casa Molina
#24 of 94 in Queretaro City
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Queretaro
Occidental Queretaro
#28 of 94 in Queretaro City
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#86 of 94 in Queretaro City
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson de Carolina
Meson de Carolina
#78 of 94 in Queretaro City
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Agustin
Hotel San Agustin
#75 of 94 in Queretaro City
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidalgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidalgo Hotel

Property: Hidalgo Hotel
Address: Privada Madero No. 11 | Col Centro, Queretaro City 76000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queretaro City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidalgo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hidalgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidalgo Hotel Queretaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing