We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a very comfortable, clean hotel, but the thing that makes it very good are the staff. They were all especially friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the maids. Only drawback is that it is part of a retail complex, so not very pretty. A good value hotel close enough to the finger lakes to be a base to visit the region and wine trail.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Janette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel staff and it is well known that if you have a happy staff you will have happy guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    130
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
132
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I found this Hilton Garden in a few years ago and have come back annually every time I come in for my business trip. The place is consistently in excellent condition and the staff is always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Akeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Consistency is something we thrive for so hearing that we are in fact being consistent is great to hear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
244 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our stay in the Finger Lakes region over the 4th of July weekend. It was a hastily planned trip so there weren't rooms available in the more "local" hotels. We weren't sure how convenient the hotel would be to the attractions that we wanted to see but were pleasantly surprised. Yes...it was a drive...but the drives were not hard and we were happy with the accommodations. The hotel itself was what you would expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. We had a sitting area in the room which was nice. The only thing was that we were given a handicapped accessible room which would have been very nice for someone who needed that type of room but was a little strange for us. Little things, like no bathtub (walk in shower) bars in the bathroom.....just not quite as nice as a regular room but it was fine. We did have very loud guests one evening who were having a loud disagreement in the middle of the night but it was short lived and did not happen again.

There is a restaurant in the hotel. We did not eat there but it is available. There are also many other restaurants in the area as well as shopping. If you are looking for Hilton quality in the Finger Lakes Region, give this hotel a chance.

Room Tip: If you do not need a handicapped accessible room, you may want to make sure to request a regular roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I wanted to thank you so much for your review. We try our best day in and day out to ensure every guest is 100% satisified and it is great to hear that we are in fact doing our jobs at that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our stay was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant and all the surrounding restaurants are chains. If you are looking for a unique area, this hotel isn't for you, but if you are just looking for a comfortable, clean place to stay, I would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will be sure to post them so that our staff can see that their hard work is being noticed and please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We experienced the quality we've grown to expect from Hilton Garden Inn. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The service staff was most accommodating. We would recommend this hotel for anyone whose travels bring him into the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your survey. The entire staff works hard and I will share your comments with them. We look forward to you next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was the third time we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at Horseheads. The other times were great. This time is was not for the following reasons.

1. No hot water. It was only lukewarm at best.
2. The HVAC system was very noisy. It had one speed - high and this could not be changed.
3. This time we could hear the people above us. They were up until 2:30 a.m. Then at 4:30 a.m. one of them fell out of bed with a great thud.
4. Unlike all other Hiltons I stayed at there was not coffee in the lobby at 5:30 a.m. Typically, Hiltons have 24-hour coffee.
5. The good tasting afternoon cookies were replaced by some sort of square, dry, cheap cardboard tasting "energy bar." They should bring the cookies back.
6. The staff appeared to be oppressed and afraid. Upon checking out the pleasant young man at the front desk asked me to sign a refund form so "they would not yell at me."

As a manager, I never yell at my team members. I find this unprofessional. It leads to low morale, high turnover and can degrade the level of service.

Hilton corporate should investigate what the management is doing. Whomever is the General Manager needs to go to training on how to treat, engage and motivate team members in a positive way.

It is so unnecessary to berate and yell at staff. I really dislike it when I go to an establishment where the team members appear to be nervous and unhappy because of an overbearing, mean management.

As a positive, the young man at the front desk who checked me out did a very good job. Without hesitation he offered to refund my money. Once he figured out that I was not upset with him but the management, he relaxed and we had a very pleasant conversation. Management should do what it can to retain him and others like him.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your review. First I would like to apologize for all of the issues you had with your stay. Since we did not give you our promise for a 100% satisfactory stay we did go ahead and give you a refund. Moving forward we will make sure those things like this will not happen to any other guests because that is not how The Hilton Garden Inn Horseheads operates. Again I truly apologize for your bad experience and it is my hope that you give us a second chance to ensure you that things like this will not happen moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a nice hotel, well kept and for the area it's in there aren't many others that are better. Rooms are clean, ammenities are good and it's very close to the airport so it's a great option for the business traveler in this area. There are plenty of restaurants within a few miles to choose from. The staff can be good or average. I encountered a desk attendant who had an attitude when I changed an on premises benefit. Surprised that she forgot I was the reason she has a job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management371, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. First I would like to apologize that you felt our customer service was not up to par. I am actually surprised as we usually receive great comments on our customer service but I will certainly look into the issue and make sure it does not happen again. Again thank you for your comments and we will continue to work hard and make sure every guest is treated with great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horseheads
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#4 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
9.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Address: 35 Arnot Rd, Horseheads, NY 14845-8533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great customer service and a warm hospitable environment greet you at the Hilton Garden Inn Elmira/Corning. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool, or work out in our exercise room. Enjoy a delicious meal at our Great American Grill restaurant or in our Ernie Davis Lounge. Open daily. Computer access available in our business center. Conveniently located in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. Minutes from Watkins Glen, golf, shopping, wineries and local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning Hotel Horseheads
Hilton Garden Inn Horseheads
Hilton Horseheads
Horseheads Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning Horseheads, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing