We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My fiance & I stayed there for 2 days & nights & loved the hotel. The room was very clean & included a full kitchen. I loved that you could go down to the lobby where they had a "mini store" & buy food or sundries that you might need. And instead of paying at this mini store, they asked you to use the "honor system" & write down what items you bought & slip it into a slot. You could get into this store anytime, day or night. They do not pick up or clean the rooms on a daily basis ... at the end of your stay is when the maid comes in. So, if this bothers you, it's not the place for you. But I'm a neat freak & I found the rooms to be very clean & very comfortable. Also, the front desk was entirely responsible for any of your needs, so if you need towels or blankets, expect to see the front desk clerk deliver it to you. There is no room service. In spite of the "no frills" ... I LOVED staying there & will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites. We value all reviews. The Candlewood is definitely set up for long term guests which is why the rooms are only cleaned on a weekly basis so that we may respect their privacy. However our short term guests are just as important to us and any service issues that they may have during their stay we are happy to acknowledge and provide to the best of our ability. I'm happy that the amenities that we provide suited your needs and most importantly that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    44
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
45
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive overnight on the way home Niagara Falls via the Finger Lakes and Candlewood Suites turned out to be a great choice. They have spotless suites with a desk area, rolling office chair, lounge chair, a big closet and a well equipped kitchen. Restaurants are within walking distance. The staff is courteous and helpful. We had a great night's sleep and continued on our journey relaxed and rested.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood. Our team members take great pride in their work and I am pleased that you acknowledged that as well. We hope that we will have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just spent the weekend at Candlewood Suites and was very pleased. We were in the area to attend a wedding at Watkins Glen Harbour, which is gorgeous, but extremely pricey. We decided to forgo the $400 a night price and seek out other options. We chose Candlewood based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Candlewood is set up for the long-term guest. However, that doesn't mean that the short-term guest cannot enjoy this economical gem. The rooms were clean, modern and practical. Each room is set up like a mini suite. There is a small kitchen that contains the major necessary appliances and accessories. There is a functional desk area and each room has a flat screen with dvd player. There is a king size bed with comfortable mattress and your choice of feather or foam pillows. The bathroom is a fair size with a large vanity. I was more than happy with the room.

The hotel offers some nice amenities like a free laundry room. Also they have a lending library for borrowing dvds and cds that you may play in your room on the dvd player provided. There is also an onsite gym and a grilling pavilion (utensils for grilling can be borrowed from the front desk). If you want to bring your pets, no problems here.

I would definitely come back to Candlewood the next time I'm in the area. This is a perfect spot for business and/or family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites in Horseheads, NY. We appreciate the fact that you felt we had the comforts of home. The Candlewood is unique in their amenities and it makes for a comfortable stay for our guests. We hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us in the near future. Thank you again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood Beach, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place is great! It's only about a year old, so everything is new. The price is excellent - lower than other hotels in the area.The location is great (right of the interstate, shares a parking lot with Outback Steakhouse and next to the Mall) and the staff were genuine and helpful. I highly recommend staying here. I've stayed at other Candlewood Suites and this is definitely the top of my list!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Candlewood Suites in Horseheads, NY. We are happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and that our team members were able to provide you with great service. We look forward to your future visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a WONDERFUL hotel. The rooms are clean and updated. It is wonderful to have a full kitchen for those that are long term guests due to work. The manager is very helpful with any and all problems. The 3-11pm desk clerk named Diane goes far and beyond what is required and loves to give your pet treats, if you have one when you arrive. For those looking for a nice clean room, helpful staff, mall shoping 2 min. away, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrischatworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I just stayed one night with my friend at the candlewood suites in horseheads. We were traveling to Geneva but due to graduations at the colleges everything was sold out except gross hotels I would never stay at...so we preferred to drive the extra distance to horseheads...and we are soo glad we did. The hotel was great and the service was nice too.
Steve checked us in and gave us a little welcome back for being preferred members. Our kitchen was stocked and everything was very clean and new. The room was a studio but didn't feel cramped. Since we had to do some work on the computer it was really nice that the desk allowed 2 people to sit comfortably. The only thing we missed was a cork-screw...but we ended up opening a bottle of wine that was twist off...

Room Tip: we had a room facing trees (away from parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the Candlewood Suites. We pride ourselves on great service and clean accommodations and I'm happy that we made your stay an enjoyable one. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We (2 of us) had stayed here for a 5 night stay to tour the southern Finger Lakes region. What a great hotel! All the staff were so friendly and accommodating for any needs. It was in a decent location and did not take us more than an hour to get to things we planned to see (local waterfalls, the Corning Glass Museum, and Mark Twain country). Conveniently, there is a mall right nearby if you choose to go shopping, and there are plenty of restaurants around as well.
We had stayed in a spacious King Suite. There were plenty of soft, fluffy towels and their PosturePedic bed was so comfortable. (You even have the option to exchange your pillows for others - feather etc.). The bathroom was also spacious and the tub was large enough that an adult could actually be comfortable in using it!!
The downsides: I was hoping for a small oven, but the timer range did just fine. I also would have liked to have more lamps available, near the couch etc. The light offered was the energy efficient white and not a comforting light - but I'm picky and I know this.
Downstairs they have a little Cupboard Shop filled with various low cost food items as well as "brown bag" meal options. If you ask the front desk - there is even a DVD lending library.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I may even look into other Candlewood Suites for my travels in the future :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#4 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads

Property: Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Address: 198 Colonial Dr, Horseheads, NY 14845-8531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was carefully designed to meet the needs of guest staying long periods of time. The fully-equipped kitchen, spacious work area, and even the comfortable recliner have all been designed with you in mind. Plus, we have a variety of signature amenities that enable you to live, work and relax according to your schedule, not ours.Even if you are with us for just a couple of nights, we hope you find that our commitment to your comfort makes your life on the road a little easier.Candlewood Suites is near to Sikorsky, Corning Inc, Elmira College, Watkins Glen international Race Track, Fingerlakes Wine country, Corning Musuem of Glass, National Soaring Museum and many more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing