We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went to Niagra Falls and the Corning Glass Museum and stayed in 3 different hotels for 1 night each, this was the best one. It was very nice and clean. The room had a full kitchen, good beds and a good t.v. I booked all 3 hotels online and this one was the most like it was described on the website. It is about 10 miles from the glass museum but that was no big deal. There are plenty of resturants and places to shop nearby. I called ahead for a roll away bed and it was in the room when I got there. The other 2 hotels couldn't even provide a roll away. Stay here, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We just got home from our two-night stay at this hotel. We visited Lake Seneca for a wine tour with friends. The hotel suites were very nice, spacious, very clean, and a great value for the price. The staff was courteous and friendly. There was one thing I need to mention is the air conditioner in the room. It cooled the room down very nice, but everything seemed damp, towels, sheets. Our friends mentioned the same thing about their room, so I wonder why the air conditioner does not take the humidity out of the air. Hope nothing will get moldy as time goes on. Otherwise the hotel was wonderful, and we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites for one evening in late May. As others have mentioned, it's especially nice to have a kitchen, and a mini-grocery in the lobby with enough food stocked to make a very reasonable breakfast. Everything in the room was extremely clean. The exceptional service, however, was the result of a lost cell phone. This isn't the first time one of us has left something behind in a hotel room. Generally the hotel phones to let us know when they find the lost item, if indeed we did leave it at the hotel. No one has EVER called to tell us they searched but unfortunately didn't locate it. That's unprecedented in our decades of travel and was so appreciated. Thank you Candlewood Suites, for such top notch service. We'll now look to other Candlewood Suites in our travels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the service provided by our team members. We have a great team and they are pleased to know that their hard work and dedication does not go unnoticed. I hope that in the future you will have another opportunity to stay with us. Thank you again as we value your comments regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My fiance & I stayed there for 2 days & nights & loved the hotel. The room was very clean & included a full kitchen. I loved that you could go down to the lobby where they had a "mini store" & buy food or sundries that you might need. And instead of paying at this mini store, they asked you to use the "honor system" & write down what items you bought & slip it into a slot. You could get into this store anytime, day or night. They do not pick up or clean the rooms on a daily basis ... at the end of your stay is when the maid comes in. So, if this bothers you, it's not the place for you. But I'm a neat freak & I found the rooms to be very clean & very comfortable. Also, the front desk was entirely responsible for any of your needs, so if you need towels or blankets, expect to see the front desk clerk deliver it to you. There is no room service. In spite of the "no frills" ... I LOVED staying there & will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites. We value all reviews. The Candlewood is definitely set up for long term guests which is why the rooms are only cleaned on a weekly basis so that we may respect their privacy. However our short term guests are just as important to us and any service issues that they may have during their stay we are happy to acknowledge and provide to the best of our ability. I'm happy that the amenities that we provide suited your needs and most importantly that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive overnight on the way home Niagara Falls via the Finger Lakes and Candlewood Suites turned out to be a great choice. They have spotless suites with a desk area, rolling office chair, lounge chair, a big closet and a well equipped kitchen. Restaurants are within walking distance. The staff is courteous and helpful. We had a great night's sleep and continued on our journey relaxed and rested.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood. Our team members take great pride in their work and I am pleased that you acknowledged that as well. We hope that we will have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just spent the weekend at Candlewood Suites and was very pleased. We were in the area to attend a wedding at Watkins Glen Harbour, which is gorgeous, but extremely pricey. We decided to forgo the $400 a night price and seek out other options. We chose Candlewood based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Candlewood is set up for the long-term guest. However, that doesn't mean that the short-term guest cannot enjoy this economical gem. The rooms were clean, modern and practical. Each room is set up like a mini suite. There is a small kitchen that contains the major necessary appliances and accessories. There is a functional desk area and each room has a flat screen with dvd player. There is a king size bed with comfortable mattress and your choice of feather or foam pillows. The bathroom is a fair size with a large vanity. I was more than happy with the room.

The hotel offers some nice amenities like a free laundry room. Also they have a lending library for borrowing dvds and cds that you may play in your room on the dvd player provided. There is also an onsite gym and a grilling pavilion (utensils for grilling can be borrowed from the front desk). If you want to bring your pets, no problems here.

I would definitely come back to Candlewood the next time I'm in the area. This is a perfect spot for business and/or family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites in Horseheads, NY. We appreciate the fact that you felt we had the comforts of home. The Candlewood is unique in their amenities and it makes for a comfortable stay for our guests. We hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us in the near future. Thank you again for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place is great! It's only about a year old, so everything is new. The price is excellent - lower than other hotels in the area.The location is great (right of the interstate, shares a parking lot with Outback Steakhouse and next to the Mall) and the staff were genuine and helpful. I highly recommend staying here. I've stayed at other Candlewood Suites and this is definitely the top of my list!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichole17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Candlewood Suites in Horseheads, NY. We are happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and that our team members were able to provide you with great service. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Big Flats (Elmira), NY
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#5 of 11 in Horseheads
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads

Address: 198 Colonial Dr, Horseheads, NY 14845-8531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range: £56 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was carefully designed to meet the needs of guest staying long periods of time. The fully-equipped kitchen, spacious work area, and even the comfortable recliner have all been designed with you in mind. Plus, we have a variety of signature amenities that enable you to live, work and relax according to your schedule, not ours.Even if you are with us for just a couple of nights, we hope you find that our commitment to your comfort makes your life on the road a little easier.Candlewood Suites is near to Sikorsky, Corning Inc, Elmira College, Watkins Glen international Race Track, Fingerlakes Wine country, Corning Musuem of Glass, National Soaring Museum and many more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing