We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Horseheads
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: American
Description: Serving breakfast all day Breakfast and lunch 7 days a week
Restaurant details
Description: Serving breakfast all day Breakfast and lunch 7 days a week
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This restaurant is closed and has been for awhile. It used to be a great local family diner.
Cannot rate it because the Sullivan Diner has been closed for a long time. It changed hands, hen closed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home Style at it's Best!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

You may not know it to look at it, but this place makes some of the best home made Polish/Slavic food in central New York. Pierogies, potato pancakes (with sour cream and applesauce-by request!), and keilbasa are all available on their all-day breakfast menu. The portions are absolutely huge and you are guarranteed to never leave this place hungry! Super nice people too. Also interesting is the fact that this is a "Silk City Diner" made in the 30's or 40's and in original condition. The booths, which were built to seat 4 but barely fit 2, have their original wood trim and formica tables. And the bathrooms are like old-time phone booths! Very cool and definitely worth a stop. And don't forget to get an order of pierogies to go! You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank w0lfw0man2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My mom grew up in Horseheads and my grandma lived right down the road from sullivan's for the longest time before she passed away and we would always go for breakfast, so great. Has that great "old time diner" feel to it! It's a must go for everyone!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Flats, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I have been to Sullivan's a few times over the years and to be honest I have always called it the greasy spoon! The looks are ok from the outside but once you get in there you can hardly move and kinda dirty. I know within the last few years a new owner has opended it but my last stop in there i still was not impresses. Waited over 30 min and there was only 1 other customer in there. I will prolly not go back again.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boo10272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I recommend Sullivan's”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stumbled on this place enroute to the Finger Lakes. An old fashioned diner, built in Paterson, NJ. It is owned by a husband and wife, who run it as well. They do all the preparations and create a friendly atmosphere. The food is made behind the counter while the customers watch. If you don't want to watch the cooking, you can watch the TV on the wall.
We have stopped there two or three times a year on our way back and forth through the region over the past four years, and will continue.
Be sure to slide the door to go inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dantamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Horseheads, Finger Lakes
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
 
Horseheads, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing