We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old, musty and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very old, musty and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel is very old, poorly laid out, and smells. Very expensive for the quality and rooms tend to be very noisy. Service was very slow, and seemed understaffed. The location is good, and several good eating places nearby. If you need a place to crash for a night, you could do better. Hotel does have outdoor pool which was clean and plenty of chairs, however not very secluded.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachdolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Coachdolan,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    55
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
45
35
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel several times now as I pass through the area, and each time I've been relatively satisfied. As I've learned the hard way that not all Holiday Inn Express' are created equal, I'm pleased to say that this one isn't bad at all. The rooms are consistently clean and appointed, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. There's not much in terms of restaurants or things to do within walking distance, but a quick 10 minute drive will solve that, as there are plenty of options for food and shopping nearby. My only complaint if I have to find something is the free wifi. The signal is very weak at best, and it's not uncommon to have no signal at all for 10 minutes at a time. Other than that, this hotel is a safe bet, and I'm sure if my travels have me through this area again, I'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear dave2step,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding our friendly staff and clean rooms. We are sorry your stay was negatively affected by the internet services you received that was less than satisfactory. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Thank you again for bringing the details of your stay to our attention. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for two nights Memorial weekend 2013 for a softball tournament. Although the hotel was VERY close to both softball fields, was very disappointed at price of $150/night. Perhaps it was the holiday weekend rate. When asked for a hospitality room to accomodate pizza for dinner for the team, we were told they weren't designed for that kind of event. The rooms were uncomfortably warm - was told since we were still in "winter" they haven't switched over to summer air yet. Couldn't sleep with windows open because literaly was right next to the highway and we were on the first floor. Breakfast was awful and refused to go back. Saturday was very cold out - it never got above 50 degrees. Upon return of playing softball all day, there was a staff member washing down all the pool chairs - in a winter jacket and winter hat on..the pool was not heated so swimming wasn't an option unless you were part polar bear. Very disappointed all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaughnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear DaughnQ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We welcome any comments that we receive as it is truly the only way we know how well we are doing or, as in this case; any issues that need to be addressed with our staff or management. I would like to apologize for the way you were made to feel when inquiring about space for your team’s dinner that evening after you had returned from the softball fields. We host several teams throughout the year that utilize our meeting space and we are usually able to accommodate their requests with advance notice to ensure we have the proper space available for them. I assure you that we have addressed your concerns with the staff that was present on this evening. I would also like to apologize that swimming was not an option due to the cool temperatures during the opening weekend of our outdoor pool. We always try to anticipate our guest’s needs and your comments will be helpful to better allow us to. I would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us to show you the attention and care that is typical from our staff. Please let me personally know the next time you are in our area. Thank you again for providing us with your comments so we may continue to improve upon our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horseheads hotels

Napierville,qc,Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel for two nights and i was very surprise how much it was even if we are quite close to the highway. The place was clean. The only small issue i have is that there should be a fan in the bathroom, but you forget about that when you go for breakfeast one of the best i had.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blad824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Blad824!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! Thank you for complimenting our housekeeping and breakfast room staff; I'll be sure to pass along your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Penny
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I purchased this night via Price Line as my two children and I were traveling for Thanksgiving and just needed a place to sleep between two long days in the car. I didn't get to read the reviews here until after Price Line had chosen the hotel for me and I won't make that mistake again. My primary issue is that they don't allow for air conditioning or even a fan in the room during the winter months. The room was stifling hot and the sign on the wall indicated that our only option was to open a window. We were on the first floor with the parking lot immediately outside our window. I did not feel safe leaving the window open while we slept so I got up repeatedly during the night to open the window for a few minutes just so we could sleep. It was brutal. I travel a lot for work and I've never seen this policy before. I don't know if it's specific to HIE chains but I will never stay at another one as this policy clearly demonstrates to me that they have absolutely no regard for guest safety. Their lack of commitment to guest experience is, in my opinion, highlighted by the canned response that the manager keeps placing under the positive feedback on this site. Honestly, after staying at this hotel, I find it difficult to imagine that all the 4 and 5 rated reviews are sincere.

The room was a decent size. The "free" wireless is non-existent. The carpet was dirty, discolored and there was popcorn or something that I could see under the dresser once I laid in bed, so not a great job with the vaccuum. The bathroom is tiny (though the shower head and water pressure were good). The breakfast looks promising but the food is really not good tasting.

Room Tip: My best tip for choosing a good room is to stay somewhere else. If you find you HAVE TO stay here, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear casualtraveler2008,

Thank you for your open and honest comments from your recent stay with us. I assure you we do look at each comment that is posted and respond to each one individually. I am disappointed to hear your stay with us left you feeling dissatisfied. I would very much appreciate you sending us your email address with the specific details of your concerns so we can plan to avoid future dissatisfaction and to meet your expectations next time you visit us. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve our services through our guest feedback.

We are looking forward to receiving further details in regards to your recent stay as well as welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Horseheads.

Sincerely,
Penny
Guest Service Manager
HI Express Horseheads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed the evening of 11/16/12. Upon fiinding our room, we realized we were right next door to the side entrance of hotel. At first I did not like the idea but, it turned out to be really quiet. The hotel was up to date in its furnishings and it was tastefully decorated with displays of area attractions. Our hotel room was VERY clean both from a look standpoint and it smelled clean. It was nicely decorated and as I said before, it was quiet. The following morning we went to the continental breakfast and it was more like a full breakfast without ordering from a waiter. It had everything you could ask for; fresh fruits, bagels, eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, yogurts, and much more. The hotel was conveniently located rigjht off the highway and easy to located. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Spangaroo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.com. Your kind words are a huge part of why we do what we do and why we always strive for guest satisfaction. Our staff will be delighted to know they made a lasting impression on you and please, do not be a stranger. See you again soon and have a great day.

Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel was very convenient to both Corning and Ithaca, both of which we visited while in the area. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. I love the showerheads in the Holiday Inn Express bathrooms. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were flat. They had five pillows on the bed, but I was still sorry I hadn't brought my own. There was no loft to any of the pillows.

We heard no noise from other people staying at the hotel, only from traffic on the nearby interstate. There are plenty of restaurants and stores in the vicinity, but we ate breakfast at the hotel each morning. They have a nice selection of food and an especially large breakfast room with lots of tables, so you don't need to sit on a windowsill and balance your plate on your knees to eat.

I would stay there again should we ever get back up that way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cestsibon2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing HI Express Horseheads for your overnight needs. It is always a nice feeling when someone takes the time to compliment the hard work and dedication that our staff shows in their everyday roles. We are continually striving to provide accommodations and service that exceed our guest’s expectations and it’s nice to hear that we have done that for you. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horseheads hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#4 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
Address: 2666 Corning Rd., Horseheads, NY 14845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Horseheads
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horseheads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Horseheads Hotel is centrally located to Elmira, Corning and Watkins Glen. Our Horseheads hotel is just minutes away from the National Soaring Museum, the Wings of Eagles Discovery Center, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Racetrack, the First Arena, the Arnot Mall and many Finger Lakes Wineries. Nestled in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, you ll find that our conveniently located Holiday Inn Express Horseheads Hotel will make the most of your valuable business and leisure time. The Holiday Inn Express Horseheads hotel is a 99 room, 2-floor indoor corridor hotel. The hotel offers every morning our free Express Start breakfast with hot items. All hotel guest rooms are equipped with free wired high-speed Internet & voice mail. We also offer a seasonal outdoor pool (open Memorial Day through Labor Day) & 24-hour exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads Hotel Horseheads
Holiday Inn Horseheads
Horseheads Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing