We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside 3 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside 3 Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The staff was very friendly especially Marie and helpful. There are many restaurants nearby with good food and very large portions. There's also a drug store and 7-11 very close. The late check-out is great. The view of the canal is a plus. The AC is great. A real find.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
25
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Rang the motel on the morning of my stay to arrange to be picked up from the airport at 6pm. I was travelling from the city and found it more convenient to travel to JFK to be picked up by the free motel shuttle rather than getting several buses to get to the motel. Unfortunately, I did not get picked up until 7.20pm. This was after 2 phone calls enquiring as to where my pick up was.

Despite this poor start my stay at the Surfside was extremely satisfactory. The lady at the front desk was helpful and accommodating. The room was clean with a huge bed. Tiny bath tub but can be dealt with.

I'd arranged to be taken to the airport the next day at 3pm however I checked out early and was offered a lift straight away.

Very close to JFK and perfect for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOODIE2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Four of us stayed here on August 28 after flying back to JFK from a longish trip. We were a bit travel-worn after 18+ hours of planes and airports and needed a place to stay and rest before our road trip home. The Surf Side was perfect. It was close to JFK, easy to find, plenty of parking adjacent and behind the motel so bringing the bags in was a snap. The motel is directly on a channel right next to the ocean with a small marina right out back. A bit of an anachronism as out front there is strip-mall America. The rooms are a good size but a bit worn around the edges, the bathrooms tiny. The carpets are a bit dingy and there was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke even though these were non-smoking rooms. The smell however disappeared after the AC was left to run for about 15 minutes. No big deal. None of this bothered us as the beds were very comfortable, the shower good and hot with great water pressure and the flat screen TV worked fine. Even though the motel is right on a busy road, our rooms facing the (parking lot and) water were very quiet – we heard no traffic noise at all. Service was very friendly. Shops very close by including a fairly good bagel place. This is exactly what we wanted to decompress from our trip – a small, unpretentious low key place, good beds to sleep on, easy access in and out and a fair price. The location, with the ocean lapping right up, jets and seagulls flying overhead, was a charming bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are bound to be quieter. For a better view get one on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and wasn't expecting anything special but I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic this motel was. First of all they provide an excellent free shuttle service to and from JFK. The staff are some of the friendliest hotel staff I've ever come across they provided me with so much info of the local area showing me where to eat, where to get the subway into Manhattan and what I should do while I was there. They even refused tipping when they dropped me off at the motel and carried my luggage in, this shocked me a lot as most drivers are more than happy to take your money. The motel itself is fairly basic but still its lovely and clean and comfortable, just what I needed. I had a lovely view of the water outside and the location of the motel is perfect. There is a convenience shop right next door and just a bit further there are plenty of other shops and restaurants. The subway stop is about a 20 minute walk or just a quick taxi ride and its a direct train into Manhattan. They even provided me with a free late check out. This motel exceeded all my expectations and I would definitely recommend it! oh and check out the bagel place just down the road, the staff at the motel recommended it to me and by far the best bagels I've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

stayed at this motel for 10 nights, nice little place with a great water view, lots of shops and restaurants close by. free shuttle to jfk, bus stop just a few minutes walk away. friendly staff and cleaning provided every day. would definitely recommend and would stay here again when i go back to new york. thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

found a litle diamond here fantastic staff, clean motel and rooms, bus and trains just mins away, great views from the bedroom right on the water front even being so close to jfk didnt spoil it with planes going over so low, i would recommend this diamond to families and couples, only the second time ive been to new york and i though i couldnt top the first place we stayed in but once again i picked the best place, just mins away from the beach, great eating places, and to top it off free shuttle to and from the airport, stayed here for 10 nights and didnt want to come home, would recomend to families and couples, fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie58_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night, as we we flying back home from JFK and needed the hotel nearby.
This one was great, the stuff was very friendly, everything was clean and working well. They also provided us with the free shuttle to the JFK as promised.
What should be said, if you are taking a bus and going across the bridge, do not go too far, as the neighbourhood there seems dangerous.
But the area around hotel is safe and has many places to eat things like pizza, because it seems there are plenty of Italians living here.

Room Tip: The second floor seems better, but we stayed on the first one, but i would prefer second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Beach
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside 3 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside 3 Motel

Property: Surfside 3 Motel
Address: 16433 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414-3743
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Howard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside 3 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside 3 Motel provides an affordable stay right on the water of Howard Beach, NY. Just a few minutes from the beach's best sights and eats! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside 3 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside 3 Hotel Howard Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing