We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside 3 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside 3 Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived at JFK rang the surfside motel and the shuttle was there in about 10mins. the room was ready and check in was fast. The rooms were large and basic which we expected no trimmings and got none the beds were clean and the bathrooms were small but clean and a good shower lots of hot water and towels. there was a lack of carpet we had just polished concrete, which was odd but it was clean. we were not sure about the letting out of the rooms at anytime for 5 hours for a fee, but this was not a problem to us as we were there only for 2 nights and we had no complaints. We asked for a taxi to the metro and one arrived within mins and took us to the station fro about $5. there was a great place to eat breakfast opposite the motel that had lots of choice, other places to eat at night. we walked down to the Italian about 10 mins away and had a great meal for about $10 for 2 plus drinks.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water at the back but there was a car park there and room if its just for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
25
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The last reviewer was correct. This is a place for adult short-stays. Front desk was friendly, tried to give us the cleanest room. No closet, one mirrored wall next to the bed. No toiletries except soap, @ $150/night or less for short stays. We stayed there for an elegant event down the street. At about 1am, there was loud banging next door by the staff yelling to get the occupants to check out. I guess their time was up. We could not wait to go home to take our showers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Don't stay here ... this hotel rents room by the hour - if you know what I mean. Saw many unsightly characters hanging around the corridors waiting for their "girl" to be finished. The first sign should have been that the front desk is behind what looks like bullet proof glass. The room itself was disguisting. The carpet was dirty, the bed linen was questionable. It was a must to keep your shoes on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Extremely friendly staff but that's all.
Cold old room. Dirty bed linen.
Outdated carpet, bathroom.
No more shuttle available so you should count $25 each way to JFK.
Won't recommend nor come bac despite the friendliness of the staff

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelClo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

For the price, I must say that I had a good night's rest and I will strongly recommend this hotel. The beds are comfortable, good internet connectivity and Surfside has a new shuttle that takes you back and forth from JFK Airport.
The location is near a 7 Eleven, pizza shops and many eateries.
I wont recommend staying more than a night because the motel kinda reminds me if its a place where prostitution takes place on a nightly basis.
But I would recommend Surfside Motel.

Room Tip: Affordable, brand new shuttle and close to eateries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamira, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in this motel for 1 night...the room was spartan but clean and the staff could not be more attentive and helpful. The shuttle service was prompt and very helpful.The near by Japanese restaurant was very good. Would be great if they had coffee in the lobby in he morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomsbury
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our stay at the Surfside Motel was a delightful experience. Vincent and the entire staff were kind, helpful and professional. We stayed there on two occasions (air travel) and are planning to bring my mother and sister for a night on the town! Loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Beach
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside 3 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside 3 Motel

Property: Surfside 3 Motel
Address: 16433 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414-3743
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Howard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside 3 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside 3 Motel provides an affordable stay right on the water of Howard Beach, NY. Just a few minutes from the beach's best sights and eats! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Surfside 3 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside 3 Hotel Howard Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing