We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside 3 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside 3 Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights last weekend and the night girl was helpful, and very funny. She cleaned my room spotless and got my tv working. Morning girls, not so Happy. I wish I had the chance to say thank you. All I know is she's real Irish.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank iwannagoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent L, Owner at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear the morning staff wasn't as helpful as the night staff. Please know I'll be bringing this up with them so we're all on the same page. Regardless, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you want to get away!

All the best,
Vincent, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
25
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to JFk and the shuttle service they offer to the airport. Our first contact was a few days before we left Australia. We emailed, like we were advised to, to arrange pick up. The hotel was very prompt in emailing back and gave very clear instructions on the process for when we arrive at JFK. We had spent nearly 30 hours travelling from Australia and needed easy for our first time in New York. Our flight arrived at 9.30 p.m. and the service desk at the airport rang through to the hotel for us. We waited where we were told to and about 20 minutes later our shuttle arrived. There was a high volume of traffic which slowed him down. Check in was easy and we were glad to finally go to bed. Our room was clean, basic and our bed was really comfortable. There were no toiletries, hair dryer, coffee making facilities or breakfast. There was a vending machine in the hall that was well stocked. The next morning we had breakfast across the road at the deli, there were other shops there as well. The hotel is set by the river and there's a nice view a few doors away but otherwise, it didn't seem like a good area to spend any amount of time. This hotel we booked mainly for affordability and the convenience of the airport and shuttle. We then moved on to Brooklyn to spend our time in New York. The hotel offered us a shuttle back to the airport. We needed to catch the train so the driver dropped us at Jamaica station. The man behind the desk was really nice and so was the driver that took us to the train station. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for this purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent L, Owner at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Arranging transport to and from the airport can be a hassle, so I'm glad we could make it easy for you, especially after such a long flight! If you're ever in the area again, you should consider making a visit to Rockaway Beach. We're just a bike ride away, and it can be a nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of NYC. Hope to see you again soon!

Surf's up,
Vincent, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I managed to get a room for one night during a really bad weather night at JFK. The room was maintained clean and the staff were very warm and friendly.There were no elevators but the staff volunteered to help with the bags.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent L, Owner at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Devika, that weather sounds pretty rough, so I'm glad we could help you out and offer a nice, warm place to stay. If you ever find yourself in need of a retreat from bad weather or just want to enjoy an ocean view, you know who to call.

All the best,
Vincent, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We were delayed at JFK and needed a place to sleep and wait for the snowstorm to abate. Fortunately we were told at the airport about The Surfsider motel. We were picked up promptly at the airport by a friendly young man who helped us with our luggage and gave us details of the lovely Italian neighborhood with terrific restaurants and small shops . The friendliness and accommodating behavior continued throughout our stay. Whatever request we made was followed through with immediacy and always a big smile. Each person had their expertise which they willing shared with us to make our stay comfortable and satisfying . We were very stressed since our plane was delayed and this may have caused us to miss our Cruise in South America. Thank you Surfsider staff for making this stay as effortless as possible . It is rare to find a gem like this in this era of aloofness .Carolyn and Arthur

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We agree with jay1233. Vincent was amazingly well organized and efficient, he had all our cell phone numbers and called two or three minutes before his shuttle arrived so nobody had to wait in sub zero blizzard conditions. Very willing and put all suitcases in the trunk himself and was very polite and helpful and did indeed call several restaurants to find if they would be open in the heavy snow conditions.
If we had not been collected from JFK by Surfside Motel, we would have had to stay in the airport for the night as there were no taxis (they would not come from Manhattan in those conditions) and the AirTrain had broken down!!!! The motel was clean and reasonable and was a most welcome destination in such a storm. Restaurants were only able to deliver if they had 4 wheel drives!
Many thanks Vincent
Sue Brown

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent L, Owner at Surfside 3 Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Waiting in sub-zero blizzard conditions would be the last thing we'd want for our guests! I'm glad to hear that I could help you out and make your trip a little bit easier, Sue. Hope you'll stop by the next time you need a place to stay!

All the best,
Vincent, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me and my wife got caught by a flight cancellation and as a result stayed the night. It was minus 25 and the roads were terrible. These guys picked us up at the airport, specifically called when they arrived so we wouldn't have to freeze outside waiting. The shuttle bus helper Vincent helped us with anything and everything we asked (even called ahead to restaurants so we would know who was operating in the storm!). This isnt time square style in terms of the accommodations ( but nice enough for the price and clean) but the service was a hundred percent first class!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Beach
2.6 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside 3 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside 3 Motel

Property: Surfside 3 Motel
Address: 16433 Crossbay Blvd, Howard Beach, NY 11414-3743
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Howard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside 3 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside 3 Motel provides an affordable stay right on the water of Howard Beach, NY. Just a few minutes from the beach's best sights and eats! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Surfside 3 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside 3 Hotel Howard Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing