We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wedding Venue”

Vetro by Russo's on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Vetro by Russo's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Howard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 165th Avenue
Transit: Take the A train to Rockaway Blvd. Transfer is available to the Q41 bus, heading south on Crossbay Blvd to 164th Avenue stop.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We attended a wedding here. What a place. It had a lovely roof top garden for the ceremony. Went to the second floor for the cocktil hour and reception. The food was plentiful and delicious. Amazing place! I am sure it was pricey, but it was well worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhicooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding --very disappointing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently attended an affair, and were greatly dismayed by the poor quality of service and attention that was provided by an inattentive staff of servers, We were expecting 5 star service and received significantly less having to ask repeatedly for things that should have been apparent to a staff of trained professional servers. It was extremely trying on others who were seated also at our table, I felt as though I was directing amateurs, that is not appropriate considering the reputation Russo at the Bay has. I cant believe it was just there bad day it seemed more systemic management should address this promptly because their reputation is at stake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trudy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Sorry to disagree with the other reviewers but I ate their tonight, August 31st and it was just awful. We returned the shrimp entree as it was burnt; the coffee ordered hot came in a freezing cold mug; the gnocchi were more like huge stuffed shells and they charged an additional $9 to make it an entree-$21 for 4 huge gnocchi . Even the service was not attentive. The only positive was Luke our maitre'd who was amazing. I will not return and was embarrassed that I recommend the restaurant to my 2 friends this evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank renee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
524 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“If you enjoy Russo's......”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wow....this is a glitzy place...from the rooftop bar scene to great food,to all types of clientele ...you cannot beat the food and the prices are not expensive for the quality...fried calamari was served with spicy sauce as we had asked for...cooked perfectly....a veal chop was succulent and my husbands lobster was stuffed with real crabmeat and he loved it. The place was extremely busy when we were there, but the service was good. I cannot wait to go back another time to try more dishes...this is quality italian food at an excellent price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining at its finest”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Vetro is a gorgeous... from the beautiful exterior to the lobby, into the cocktail lounge; Vetro is an upscale, first class restaurant offering deliciously prepared foods, impeccable service, unbelievable wine list (without breaking the bank). Ask for P.J. who is very knowledgeable with wines for pairing advice. We have never gone wrong with recommendations by P.J. We particularly enjoy dining inside and venturing to the roof bar/terrace for dancing and schmoozing with family and friends afterward. Reminiscent of our recent trip to Italy, you will find Vetro to be world class in every manner, located directly on the bay in Howard Beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coratolomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vetro by Russo's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Vetro by Russo's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing