We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Howe Caverns Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howes Cave
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howe Caverns Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howes Cave
Rochester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our room at Howe Caverns was great. The room was larger than most hotel rooms. The carpet and furnishings looked new. The bathroom was large and spotless. Everything was very clean. The beds were comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    52
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
63
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a property that is dangerous if you need to use the heater in the room. My family and I stayed at this site on June 18-19, 2013. We had just arrived before 7PM on Tuesday evening while it was getting colder outside. We entered the room which looked satisfactory at first glance. As we emptied the car of our luggage and drinks, the room was getting cold. I turned on the room heater when all of a sudden a smell of burning plastic emanated from the unit, spewing a poisonous acrid odor. Needless to say, I turned the unit off and ran out of the room with my young granddaughter. My husband was outside getting fresh air as I called him to view and smell what had just happened. It took over 3 hours to get the smell out of the room. No one was at the motel office to help. The next day, we went to the main office, were told there would be no adjustment to our bill of over $160/night per room. Neither did they accept our AAA discount. There seems to be a severe lack of customer service and care; no good marketing skills and no acceptable on-site managers. NY State Attorney General's office take note; UFT, NYSUT, PBA and AAA members kindly take note as well. Do NOT stay here at all.

Room Tip: Go anywhere but here. All the other rooms have similar heating units that could be as dangerous as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank evefrSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We booked the king jaccuzi room. It was clean but old and dingy looking with a horrible musty old smell. See the caves but stay somewhere else! We drove back to Albany and got a room at the Hilton for the same amount of money"!! The website is deceiving as all you see are a couple of beds. Yuck!!! Would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank slick151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
417 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My stay was a Lantern Tour & night packasge deal.

The room's finishings included a firm queen bed, with four pillows. Carpeted floor. Three wall lamps and one floor lamp, with chair. A two drawer chest, with writing desk & chair. An eight's 22' tv with 12 channels.

The entire bedroom & bathroom very clean.Saw no mildew in shower. Bathroom good size. A wall to wall counter, with two sinks. Plenty of towels. Towels were a bit scratchy, a guest may want to bring their own. A tub/shower combination, with good water pressure. Hot water in about ten seconds. Also a luggage rack & air dryer. On the wall is a metal rack, with four solid hangers. Two electrical outlets in sink area.

The a/c worked fine, with the heater doing better at 9:00 P.M. after the lanter tour. Temperature was down in the lower 50's during a heavy driving rain.

On the chest is a coffee maker with two Columbia bags, four half & half's & Sweet 'N Lows.

The outside door lock was bit of a challenge. No electronic locks, lock with key. There is no person available to greet a guest. Al, motel arrangements are taken care at the cavern's ticket booth. Ask the booth person about the lock's operation. At the booth a guest will be given a list a list of restaurant, shopping & entertainment areas.

The comfortable bed, cleanness, overr all package price and olcation would invite me back. The motel is at most 75 yards from the ticket booth. The motel faces north , over looking a peaceful valley.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in this motel and visit the caves as well. It is very clean and wash room is divided with door for toilet shower and face wash basin with mirror in separate. It's not the fancy motel, but it's good for a clean room with nice sleepover. Most of all, the view from the room is so nice, it's like an open country land with the background of mountain views.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ScenicDriverHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My BF and I wanted to do the Lantern tour at the Caverns, and so could not pass up booking the package that included tour and room. An absolutely fabulous deal - I'd recommend it to anyone. And our room, while very plain, was immaculate. I spent my teenage years working in a tourist motel, so I know what to look for.
My BF and I are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Went for Iroquois Beadwork Symposium at Iroquois Museum which is just down the hill from Howes Cavern Hotel and Complex. Breathtaking view from hotel overlooking hills, river and valley. Rooms are large with basic furnishings including fridge. Bathroom has double sinks. Only downside was you couldn't open windows in unit I was in, so opened door for fresh air. Also have to travel to Cobleskill for breakfast.

Room Tip: End room looked oversize.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howes Cave
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
151.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 14 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 14 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Caverns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Caverns Motel

Property: Howe Caverns Motel
Address: 255 Discovery Dr, Howes Cave, NY 12092-2311
Region: United States > New York > Howes Cave
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howes Cave
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Howe Caverns Hotel Howes Cave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing