We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Merino Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Merino Manor
Ranked #5 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July '14. Our room was the Master Sabine. Excellent room with a great view and super large bathroom, with Spa and separate shower.
Breakfast each morning was excellent. We are tough critics with over 100 nights in B &B's.
We went sightseeing to Hyde Park two days, easy, scenic drive and about 1/2 hour.
You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Febtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
162
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This bed and breakfast was perfect in every way. It is actually one of the most beautiful bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in, the grounds are incredible, the porch is such a wonderful treat in the summer, and the service was impeccable. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a great big soaking tub. Breakfast the next morning was so delicious!

If you are visiting Hudson, NY, there is no other place to stay than Mount Merino Manor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro_fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted a quick weekend getaway. This gem just a short drive from NYC was exactly what we wanted! We stayed in the Eagle's Nest room on the second floor. Great breakfast, accommodations and fantastic, friendly service! Every detail had comfort and relaxation in mind (including fresh chocolate cookies left in kitchen for guests). Fantastic job by owners and innkeepers who welcome guests. We will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in Rip's Room on the third floor (which has great views) and loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the restored manor is beautiful, the grounds are lovely. The walk-in shower with our room was fantastic. Some rooms have whirlpools. Breakfast was delish.

There are an assortment of eateries in Hudson, which is a three mile drive from the Manor. Baba Louie's can be very busy; they have great sourdough pizza and huge salads at reasonable prices. Daba is trendy and expensive with some interesting things of their slim menu, just get past their "cooler than thou" attitude.

Hudson seams to be rebounding from some hard times, and there are still elements of rough living in the areas near the river.

Any drawbacks are minor and not worth lowering my overall rating, but...a car is a good thing to have as the Manor is too far from the town of Hudson for a comfortable walk. Hot breakfast is only served from 9 to 10 AM; if they would just move the starting time up to 8 or 8:30 it would help guests who want to get their day started. (Self-serve coffee is offered earlier.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited for three nights in June without a car (coming by train from NYC) and stayed in Isabella's Parlor. The house and property are as beautiful as everyone describes, and the service as kind and attentive. My vegan diet was accommodated carefully at breakfast. We came with food for other meals that we stored in the guest refrigerator and did not leave the property at all except to walk each day around Olana -- just across the main road. We wanted beautiful, quiet, and restful; and that is exactly what we got. Isabella's Parlor was a perfect room for a couple staying for three nights as we had a sitting room in addition to the bedroom as well as our own porch. Although that room lacks the views of the upstairs rooms we enjoyed the extra space and spent lots of time on the main porch enjoying the views of the mountains.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerfromNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at more hotels and inns than I can list, but this one tops them all! On a truly magnificent piece of property, the attention to detail is unmatched. The rooms are decorated with the antiques/furniture appropriate to the time period and the views are breathtaking.
The staff could not be more friendly or welcoming.

Its proximity to Hudson is perfect. We can experience the pleasures of the town, but retreat to the country less than 10 minutes away. We have become spoiled by staying in the Master Sabine suite, and now find any other accommodation or room just won't do..

We have stayed a total of 4 times ; in winter, spring and summer. We find each season has its
own beauty and have NEVER been disappointed. We joke that this is now our "home away from home" and we are completely hooked on Hudson!

A special thank you to Wendy, the innkeeper, and owners Rita and Patrick for allowing us to enjoy this slice of heaven they have created...

Room Tip: Chose a mountain view. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Deer Run room over the July 4th holiday weekend and enjoyed our stay very much! Melinda was very sweet and helpful with making local suggestions and dinner reservations, and the breakfasts were really relaxing, well-balanced, and DELICIOUS. The decor is warm and somewhat Victorian, but with very clean and simple lines. We would definitely like to stay at Mount Merino again in the future! PS. The wooden floors were so clean so we could walk barefoot comfortably in our room :)

Room Tip: The higher the price, the better the view we think :) Ours was midrange, but with a really lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smllcherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
2.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#8 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Merino Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Merino Manor

Property: Mount Merino Manor
Address: 4317 State Route 23, Hudson, NY 12534-9542
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of Mount Merino Manor, a luxury Bed and Breakfast in a private country setting. Drive through the stone pillars to experience a sense of history. This New York Bed and Breakfast is a neighbor to Olana State Historic Site and just minutes to Hudson, New York. Sitting on a lush hilltop, surrounded by 100-acres of shaded woodlands, this stately Victorian has magnificent views of the Catskill Mountains and Hudson River. The Inn is home to seven spacious guest rooms and suites. Beautiful views, candle-lit fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and spa-jetted showers make this Bed and Breakfast ideal for a romantic getaway. Innkeepers Rita and Patrick Birmingham invite you to share these tranquil surroundings and enjoy the Hudson Valley region that is so rich in New York history, culture and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Merino Manor Hotel Hudson
Mount Merino Manor Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing