We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality from the Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thyme in the Country
Ranked #11 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality from the Heart”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our weekend getaway and stay was like coming home! Mary, Bill and their team made us feel so welcome, and they were incredibly thoughtful and generous--from making special vegan and gluten free meals, to leaving us little sweets treats, to building us a warm and beautiful fire to providing natural products in the restroom. We simply can't say how much we enjoyed our peaceful and nature-filled stay at Thyme in the Country. Thank you Mary & Bill! You and your B&B are simply beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifermelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The owner, Mary is as welcoming as can be. She was accommodating to our food allergies as well as being vegetarian.
The positives: You really have full access to the house. There are 3 sitting areas. One has a wood burning stove and the other a fire place. She has books, games and even a piano to use. Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 9:30 but if you want to eat later it doesn’t seem to be a problem. The room (rose room) was a very generous size and the bed was comfortable. Also, there is tea and coffee available at all times as well as little cookies which is a very nice touch. All the food is farm fresh. The eggs are from Mary’s chickens and so is the milk. If you can’t drink whole milk, just tell her ahead of time!

Disclaimer: I feel bad saying anything negative because Mary was so nice however I feel it’s fair to point out certain things.

The negatives: Check out time is at 11am. We thought if we had our room cleaned out we could hang out downstairs and read but we were asked to leave. (In a nice way but still a negative in our eyes) We were looking forward to just reading in a quite comfortable place. Also, this is not a bed and breakfast that affords much privacy once in your room. The doors are not butt with the floor and you can hear everyone upstairs. People were respectful but you couldn’t help but hear them which means they could hear us too. Finally, the water pressure was not so great in the shower.
Neutral: The light comes in the window treatments in the morning. For some this is great, for others not so great.
Warning: There are two entrances with the same number. The bed and breakfast has a relatively open area when you drive in with the house on the left. If you see a garage in front of you, this is not the right entrance!
We found a lovely place in Hudson to hang out in called Cafe le Perche on Warren Street. We read and had delicious food too and luckily there was a fireplace there as well. If you go this place, read about it and make sure you ask to see the incredible oven. They have an interesting story!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargotTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Although the B&B and the Eco-cottage are 2 separate entities with very different amenities we offer the eco-cottage as an optional guest room when the B&B is fully booked or as an alternative, closer to nature/ farm experience type of stay. Guests staying in the eco-cottage can be assured that their impact on the environment is truly minimal as all the eco-features that you mentioned including solar hot water/electricity, organic gardening/ minimized use of petro-chemicals and fossil fuels, and recycled, reused and restored materials are all incorporated into your stay with a significantly reduced room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A beautiful setting outside the trendy town of Hudson, New York. There is a lovely pool- when we were there it was a bit too chilly and recent heavy rains had unleashed a plague of mosquitos. Because of the mosquitos we did not enjoy the outdoor areas as much as we might have, but our intent was to do a lot of exploring in the region, so that didn't matter. Breakfast is delicious and prepared with eggs from the family chickens and local produce. Be aware that the family (including adult children) live in the house. That said, they are some of the nicest, most respectful people you could meet.
I found the directions on the website were not precise; we arrived late in the day, so maybe in full daylight we would not have become lost. I would mapquest the location to supplement the directions on the site.
The location is central to many of the Hudson River Valley attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms open to a landing above an open staircase. The living room is located just below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longandwindingroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I loved the sound of this place on their website, and it did not disappoint one bit! Mary and husband Bill are warm & gracious and run a lovely, comfortable B&B that's close to all that the Hudson area offers; but you don't really need to leave their property to enjoy yourself and feel a good dose of healthful, country living. For me, the salt-filtered pool was most inviting, and during my three days, when I swam, I had it to myself. Breakfasts are imaginative and organic. The farm animals are fun to be around and amusing to watch. I stayed in the Rose Room and revelled in its homey elegance. The house is filled with antiques and eco-friendly features. Homemade pies were out for evening snacks on Friday. I WILL be back!

Room Tip: The Rose Room was homey and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlontheGo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I'm not a B&B type of person, generally, but choose this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and so glad I did. One of the most wonderful places I've ever stayed -- and Mary makes the best breakfasts EVER (fresh from her garden). Really warm, genial, shabby-chic fun, lovely grounds, wonderful hosts who couldn't have been kinder or more hospitable. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Although the B&B and the Eco-cottage are 2 separate entities with very different amenities we offer the eco-cottage as an optional guest room when the B&B is fully booked or as an alternative, closer to nature/ farm experience type of stay. Guests staying in the eco-cottage can be assured that their impact on the environment is truly minimal as all the eco-features that you mentioned including solar hot water/electricity, organic gardening/ minimized use of petro-chemicals and fossil fuels, and recycled, reused and restored materials are all incorporated into your stay with a significantly reduced room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A Victorian farmhouse hidden on a peaceful farmland road. Proprietors with a genuinely warm and not intrusive, not hokey, hospitality offer an ambience of country wisdom and well-being. Our pretty, clean bedroom had three windows. A firm mattress. We enjoyed indoor and outdoor reading areas, a porch, a deck and romantic antique swings. A salt-water swimming pool area festooned with flowering bushes. Beyond that an organic vedgetable garden, various pastures with beautiful black and white cows and grazing areas for roosters and chickens. A pond with canoes. Wake up to herb scented breezes and a lemon herb cooler. A yummy organic breakfast. How did they know I really needed a fresh baked quiche with a gluten free crust? Mary and Bill think of everything. RH New York, NY

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Friends of ours recommended Thyme in the Country to us and we all went up together to celebrate a birthday. Hosts Mary and Bill couldn't be warmer or more hospitable. Mary's home-made cooking, with fresh eggs from the chicken coop (that we helped collect) and vegetables from her garden, made us smile. Breakfasts are communal and bountiful, featuring homemade breads, smoothies, crepes with jam and whipped cream, and fresh sorrel quiche to name a few. During the day there was always a plate of home-baked goods, and drinks in the fridge, with a "Help Yourself" sign on the counter. If you like being around animals, this is the place for you. Peppy the cow liked to have her neck scratched, and Mister Shivers and Cree - the family dogs - love to be petted. A path through the cow field leads to a beautiful walk in expansive meadows, past a silo, over a creek and through the woods. As eco-conscious travelers, we were thrilled to see solar panels, compost piles outside, eco-friendly bath products, home-made soap (yes, Mary makes her own soap!) and clearly-marked recycling in the kitchen. The B & B is a short drive to the town of Hudson which has enough antique shops and restaurants to keep city folk happy. The Main Street Publick House in Philmont - 2 miles in the other direction - is also good. Thyme in the Country does have WiFi; nevertheless it is a jewel of a place and a rare find in this hectic, fast-paced world. I'm sure we'll be back!

Room Tip: We loved our adjoining rooms with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyacaroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
4.9 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
186 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
255 reviews
5.5 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 17 in Hudson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 17 in Hudson
50 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#8 of 17 in Hudson
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme in the Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme in the Country

Property: Thyme in the Country
Address: 671 Fish and Game Rd, Hudson, NY 12534-9105
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles east of Hudson, NY, Thyme in the Country Bed and Breakfast is a peaceful retreat to a warm, wholesome and utterly heartfelt style of hospitality. The charming mix of handmade cabinetry, antique furnishings, jugs of flowers, eggs from the hens, farm fresh milk make for a quiet, relaxing, home-away-from home experience. The owners of this 1880‘s Farmhouse are committed to sustainable living and green principles are incorporated into everything we do-"from the food we serve to the electricity we use. The Koches will help you enjoy the historic and scenic Hudson River Valley and reduce your carbon footprint too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thyme in the Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thyme In The Country Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing