We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thyme in the Country
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barlow(Hudson)(Great Value!)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hudson B & B(Hudson)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peloke's Motel(Catskill)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort(Catskill)(Great Value!)
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
73
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco cottagelavender roomat homewood burning fireplaceslept like logsevening snackschocolate cakethe hudson river valleyupstate nya wonderful place to stayyogurtbed and breakfastthe main streetmaryfarmbooksweekend
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was entranced with the uniqueness of the Eco-Cottage setting.; loved the outdoor solar shower with views, "hearing" the life of the environment (birds, cows, rooster...), interaction with the owners & other guests, the salt-filtered pool, yummy breakfasts right from the garden & barnyard, you get the picture. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

My husband & I also enjoyed biking the picturesque countryside during the daytime, the purpose of our trip to Hudson.

Room Tip: Unique cabin living.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinneDugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our family (two adults and a toddler) booked a one night stay at Thyme in the Country via Priceline.com and selected a $110/night Queens Cottage option. The room description on Priceline.com and Booking.com promised a room with "en-suite bathroom". Room amenity section also includes "shower or bath", plus "a private outdoor shower", which sounds like a nice option to have.

Upon arrival, we were surprised to find that the "en-suite bathroom" is really just a composting toilet (with no sink or running water for that matter). In order to wash hands one needs to get outside. And the "outdoor shower" is the ONLY way to get a shower, which is also about 30 yards away (attached to the main house). There was no way we could wash the toddler there. In addition, the room smells badly.

We pointed out to the owner Mary about the misleading information. She was quick to blame Priceline for having the inaccurate description (wonder who wrote these words). Given she has other rooms in the main house (but are $55-$70 more expensive), we asked if she could help us out by giving a $20 discount to stay there. Her response was "I don't see why I should." (Great customer service!) As she pulled out her own cell phone to read w/ us the description about the outdoors shower on Bookings.com, she murmured "I don't know what that means..."
As a result, we started looking for other B&B in the area. In the meantime, we made sure to asked and she specifically promised to give us a full refund ("I'll give your money back"), which made our decision easy. .

Soon after we left the place, we were told by Priceline that Mary turned around and insisted on charging us $25 cancellation fee. As we called her trying to clarify the misunderstanding, she rudely refused and claimed the $25 charge was there all along (she never mentioned a word of it when we were there for at least 30 minutes that day)

We found her attitude throughout the entire process dishonest and unwelcoming. We travel around the country and have stayed in many B&Bs, this is far and beyond the worst B&B experience we've ever had from the beginning to the end! If you are thinking of trying this place out, please use caution!

Room Tip: Do not be misled by the description on Queen Cottage. It smells terrible and has only a toilet in the room. Have to hike a short distance to a poorly constructed outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank beidig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was my first visit to Thyme in the Country, was looking for something different to do for new years eve. Had much more then a wonderful night. Mary & Bill the hosts of the B & B go totally out of they why to make the day and the evening a wonderful experience. From the perfect place to have dinner to the noise makers and hats for the ball dropping in NYC.
The room was if we were the first ones to stay there. After a wonderful evening, the breakfast was to die for, from home grown eggs and bacon to fresh squeeze orange juice.
I can tell you if you need a couple of days or weeks to just lay back and refuel you mind and body this is the place to go. We give it a 5 star rating for a B & B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A last minute decision turned what would have been for us just another New Years Eve to a picture perfect start to 2014. On a whim we decided to get away from our routine on Long Island and found Thyme in the Country, and all it has to offer, waiting for us in Claverack New York. Mary & Bill Koch welcomed us with warmth and gentleness. True comfort was offered -for our bodies - from the warmth from the fireplace and the bedding of the beds, for our stomachs the delicious food. The early morning whispers of life in a simple farm environment lighten our hearts. If you are looking for a place to bring you back to all that is important in a hectic world we recommend spending a night or more at Thyme in the Country -it will enrich your soul.
Happy New Year 2014 and thank you, Mary and Bill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 845charmainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just got back from Thyme in the Country. we met our friends there and had a great time. Mary and Bill make you feel right at home. their home is clean, comfortable, and Mary makes a great breakfast with ingredients right from their farm!

if you're looking for a B & B close to Hudson with a country feel, this is your best bet.

Room Tip: All three bedrooms are very similar in size and amenities.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the Thyme to write this review. We loved meeting all four of you and are waiting to hear when the 5th one joins the group! Good luck! Looking foward to seeing you all again in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews