We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly and cozy”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

a lovely place to stay in hudson with comfortable and clean rooms. russ made a delicious breakfast that included home-baked blueberry muffins, yogurt with fresh fruit sprinkled with ginger sugar, a southwestern-style omelette, potatoes, and sausage. the inn is walking distance to warren street, the main shopping and dining street in hudson. perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thanks for the fantastic review - we really appreciate it! It was so great meeting you and chatting with you at breakfast, sharing stories and laughs and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Croff House. We know you travel around a lot and hope that if your plans bring you back to Hudson you will once again stay with us. Until then many thanks and Happy Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
268
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of September to celebrate our anniversary. We'd definitely consider consider coming back to Hudson and staying here again. The hosts, Duncan and Ross, were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. They made excellent dinner and lunch recommendations, and gave us advice on the area.

The house is a beautifully decorated Victorian and the rooms are quiet, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Esetlyn (?) room, which has a gas fireplace, soaking tub and ridiculously nice walk-in rain shower with water jets.

The 3 course breakfast was delicious. Ross made sure everyone had plenty of coffee and food each morning.

The location is great as well - you can walk to all of the shops and restaurants in Hudson. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odysseus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thanks so much for choosing The Croff House to celebrate your anniversary (and R's birthday, too!) and for the sensational review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay so highly both at the inn, in Hudson and throughout the Hudson Valley. Every day you guys had a full agenda, so making sure you got a great breakfast to start your day (coffee included) was essential. We hope that the next time your travels bring you "back East" you will once again visit us at The Croff House. Until then congratulations, Happy Birthday and thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A heartfelt thanks to Russ & Duncan for making our "mini-moon" a relaxing experience filled with delicious food, thoughtful local recommendations and a lot of humor. These two each know the area so well that you wish you could stay to eat/see/do it all. Comfortable rooms, clean and spacious bathrooms, gracious hosts. We will be returning - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Congratulations to you both and thanks for the fantastic review! Celebrating a "mini-moon" is quite the trend and we're so happy you chose The Croff House to unwind after the hustle and bustle of your wedding. We're also glad that all aspects of your stay from your room to our amenities so exceeded your expectations. Not only do we hope you created wonderful memories but that you will come back again to create new ones. Until then our sincerest thanks and best wishes in your new life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Duncan and Russ were fantastic hosts. We stayed here for a family wedding in Hudson and Croft House was perfect. Clean, comfortable rooms - high-end bathrooms, and great sitting rooms. Would definitely come back again if in the area. Highly recommend.

Beds were a little soft... But that's an issue of personal taste. Showers outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamer2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
WOW! That was fast - you guys just left. Anyhow, thanks a million for the sensational review (and for the speed in writing it : )). We were so happy to host all of you for the wedding and are so pleased that The Croff House could serve as such a great "home base" for you all to relax in between all the festivities. We hope you will come back to see us again in the future. Until then many thanks and all the best to the entire family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We just returned home from a peaceful respite at the Croff House. Ross and Duncan are extremely gracious and welcoming. The Croff House is immaculate, warm, and inviting. The sheets are sparkling white and very soft, comfortable beds, and up to date bathroom amenities (A five head shower in a B&B with the water pressure to match, imagine that!) Morning coffee is delicious and addicting. Breakfasts include three courses: home made muffins, fresh local fruit and yogurt, and a hot finish, i.e. huevos rancheros, waffles with home made blueberry sauce, almond sour cream pancakes. Beware, this is a big breakfast; you will not be hungry until dinner time.). Their restaurant suggestions were perfect (C'aMea, Swoon, and Mexican Radio--meals are price in Hudson, but very good. PARK, which serves falafel and delicious thin crust pizza was a favorite, and affordable, too.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Your review is amazing - thank you so very much! We were so happy you spent four days with us and that you seemed to enjoy one day better than the day before, including The Croff House. Thank you as well for pointing out the many things we try to provide our guests to make their stay special and bring them back again and again including our breakfast, bathroom amenities and bed linens. We hope to see you back again soon, but until then please accept our thanks for the wonderful praises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We had stayed in Bed and Breakfast inns previously, and had not enjoyed most of them. We wanted to visit Olana, on the outskirts of Hudson, NY, and it seemed that the town of Hudson had mainly B and Bs for overnight stays. After reading many reviews, The Croff House seemed very nice but we thought that it might not be as good as reported in the reviews .
In fact, it exceeded our expectations
This Bed and Breakfast inn is perfection! From the warm welcome by Duncan (co-owner),to the beautifully and tastefully restored and furnished house, the exquisite bedroom with its restful furnishings and soft but firm mattress, soft sheets, free wifi, iPod docking station, flat screen TV in the bedroom, perfect modern bathroom (oh, that shower with the jets), the bathroom accessories (esp. the soft soap), the postcards with stampsalready affixed, the souvenir candle, the library with the interesting selection of books, the back garden with the restful fountain, the breakfast with delicious food, tea and coffee, everything was just perfect! We left feeling that we had been on a long relaxing vacation

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
What an awesome review! Thank you so very much - we truly appreciate it. Perfect. Exquisite. Restful. Words we love to hear! We are so happy The Croff House so exceeded your expectations from our services to our breakfast. We also appreciate you noticing the small details we put in to make your experience at The Croff House memorable and one that you look forward to returning to again and again. So once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent one delightful night in the Croff House B&B in August, 2013. The "suite", was really a large room with a private bath, but everything was very comfortable, clean, and functioned perfectly. The air conditioner was a welcome benefit in summer, and helped ensure our room was quiet and comfortable at night. Dunkin was very helpful, the breakfast was a fantastic feast, and the small, but well appointed common rooms and lovely backyard made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're so happy you were happy during your stay with us and that everything worked to your satisfaction. At the time The Croff House was built (1875) the house was considered large. By today's standards the Inn would seem small, so we wanted to make the best use of the space, including vibrant colors, comfortable seating and wonderful artwork. Many guests also enjoy the rear garden and fountain patio; so glad you did too. Thank so much again for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Thyme in the Country
Thyme in the Country
#11 of 16 in Hudson
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croff House Hotel Hudson
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Bed And Breakfast Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing