We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our second stay at the Croff House and the quality hasn't changed.

The breakfast was wonderful and the stay was relaxing. We love having such a wonderful getaway spot that we can look forward to returning to year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks so much for yet another awesome review from you guys! We so thoroughly appreciate it and are very happy that the second time was as good as the first. One of our bemchmarks is whether a) guests return and b) if their stay is as good as they remember. It appears on both counts the answer is yes. We hope to see you back again soon to find out if, as they say, the "thirs time's the charm". Until then, our thanks for the amazing review and all the best this holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Croff House and all I can say is- it was perfect. It is a lovely historical home, which you can tell the owners have put many hours of hard work into. Our room was stunning- the bathroom was spectacular (claw foot tub and HUGE walk in shower), and the common areas were just beautiful. Russ gave us an excellent recommendation for evening drinks and then dinner after. Breakfast topped of the whole experience. A great B&B and a must if you are visiting Hudson!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thanks so much for the awesome (and very promptly) written review! We were so happy to have you stay with us on your mid-point stopover on your way back to Ottowa and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the recommendations as well - nothing beats a great margarita! Hopefully you will come see us again on your next journey. Until then thanks so very much and Happy Halloween!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was very impressed by my first stay in a B&B ever. It's possible that this was due to the incredibly nice and helpful owners Duncan & Russ. They provided great food recommendations, made us reservations, and were always happy to greet us when we saw them. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was filling and made with fresh ingredients and the coffee was good. If you are spending a few nights in Hudson, I would definitely recommend checking the vacancy at The Croff House, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

What a great review of an even better stay - thanks so much! We're so glad you guys had such an awesome time at The Croff House and that everything from the room to the breakfasts so greatly exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Until then our sincerest thanks and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

pretty victorian home run by a lovely and helpful couple. the inn is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. unfortunately a busy road runs behind the inn so our bedroom was a bit noisy. our bedroom and renovated bath were a good size - but no where to set toiletries and bags on which would have been helpful.

Room Tip: front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will take your comments into consideration and thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've stayed in a few bed and breakfasts in the Hudson River Valley and The Croff House has been the best so far. Duncan and Russell were very welcoming and accommodating during our stay. We stayed in the Esselstyn Room, which had a gas fireplace and huge (room for 2) soaking tub. The room also had Apple TV and a library of movies to choose from. Breakfast was delicious and didn't take all morning to be served. The house has been restored beautifully. The woodwork around the windows and the pocket doors is a work of art. The main street in Hudson, Warren Street, is close by and easy to walk to. All in all, this is a great place to stay in Hudson, and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thanks for the phenomenal review - we really appreciate it! We're so glad you guys enjoyed yourselves so much at The Croff House and exploring Hudson and thank you so much for acknowledging all we do (the details) to make a stay with us so special. The architecture of the inn, designed by G.B. Croff and built in 1875, is truly wonderful and all of the woodwork is evidence of a hard to find craft today. The greatest indicator that we are doing a good job is when guests come back and we're glad to see you've already booked a return visit and look forward to seeing you again in February. Until then all the best for the remainder of the year, Happy Holidays, and thanks so much once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Croff House is the perfect venue for a stay in Hudson, NY. The house is a well-restored Victorian, with all the touches we enjoy - tall ceilings, richly appointed furnishings, a lush entrance garden, and lovely privacy. Yet it never goes overboard into fussiness or preciousness. The bedroom was quiet and comfortable, with a bathroom as modern as we could want. Duncan and Russ are gracious and knowledgeable hosts, providing excellent advice about the local restaurants and attractions. And they are great cooks - each breakfast was delicious! Croff House is only 1 1/2 blocks away from the main street of Hudson, and everything was in easy walking distance. So there was never any problem about finding parking, or tossing a coin to choose the designated driver. The shops in Hudson are diverse and interesting. One highlight for my husband was an old-fashioned hardware store, full of "new-old" stock. He was like a kid in a candy store, helped by staff who treated him with courtly friendliness. Our only regret about our stay was that it was too short.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the quiet cul-de-sac on which the B & B is located. Some morning sun...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PAhomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

You've totally captured all that we've hoped to create here at The Croff House, thank you so very much! We're so glad you enjoyed everything - from the breakfast to our service and that the inn and Hudson so highly met your needs. We hope you will come back to see us again soon. Until then our sincerest thanks and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

a lovely place to stay in hudson with comfortable and clean rooms. russ made a delicious breakfast that included home-baked blueberry muffins, yogurt with fresh fruit sprinkled with ginger sugar, a southwestern-style omelette, potatoes, and sausage. the inn is walking distance to warren street, the main shopping and dining street in hudson. perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Thanks for the fantastic review - we really appreciate it! It was so great meeting you and chatting with you at breakfast, sharing stories and laughs and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Croff House. We know you travel around a lot and hope that if your plans bring you back to Hudson you will once again stay with us. Until then many thanks and Happy Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.5 mi away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0 mi away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
0.2 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#4 of 17 in Hudson
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: £179 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Croff House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Croff House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson
The Croff House Bed And Breakfast Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing