We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Getaway”
Review of The Barlow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Barlow
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our first time staying in Hudson. We very much enjoyed the Barlow.. rooms were very cozy. Love the fireplace, coffee maker and very high tech shower. Christine (I believe) was very friendly and explained all very clearly. More towels were delivered to our room promptly when we asked.
Our only comments, suggestions... We drove in from Virginia and I had a scare in realizing that the front desk basically shuts down at about 8PM.. not sure what we would have done if we'd gotten in late after a long drive, but perhaps there is a sign on the door if that happens.
Also.. what a lovely lobby, but never used.. Obviously we visited at a quiet time of the year (early April), but it seemed rather quiet and lonely.. would love morning coffee and muffins,, afternoon tea or wine and cheese in the lobby.. It would be a great place for guests to gather but we never saw anyone else there the entire time.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

E: On behalf of all of us at The Barlow thank you so much for the terrific review! We're so glad that all of your in-room amenities as well as our guest services met your needs so well. Thank you, too, for recognizing the efforts put forth by our staff to make your stay enjoyable. We will make sure to recognize their efforts accordingly.

For guests arriving after the Hotel's Front Desk is closed (8:00 during the week, later on weekends) our staff makes a concerted effort to ensure the guest is provided with all the necessary check-in information prior to arrival. Guests who have taken advantage of this service have been very pleased with the convenience it provides.

We invite our guests to make themselves comfortable in the Lobby, but not having a liquor license we are not able to provide any type of alcoholic beverages. Instead we encourage guests to take advantage of our Privilege Partners program and explore all the great places in Hudson to grab a cup of coffee, glass of wine, or a wonderful meal. Hopefully you found some favorite places of your own during your stay.

Thanks again for your comments and the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just a few things I'd like to review which I mentioned to the front desk twice - both people said "we'll let management know, but you probably won't hear from them." Great, thanks! Normally, something is done to the final invoice when there is an unhappy guest. Not here.
1. For cost of the room, bottled water should be provided and replaced daily. No vending machine in hotel and CVS closed at 7pm (on Friday) so were left thirsty for the night. Apparently there was a water cooler somewhere in the hotel, but was advised it was broken anyway upon checking out. There is an ice machine though?
2. WALLS ARE PAPER THIN, beware!!!! We were woken up both nights/mornings we stayed by our entire room and bed shaking from the couple above us. Also could hear conversations clear as day (or night I should say). Told the front desk about it and they said "We get complaints about this a lot and they might install more insulation, but that couple has checked out and there will be an older couple staying in that room now, so you shouldn't have that problem anymore!!" We still heard the new guests conversations.
3. No deadbolts on the doors, should have them!!
4. "Renovations" were done poorly, holes all over our bathroom by hardware and cracks in walls?

I must say the Barlow is clean which is important. The shower was wonderful. Nice clean white towels. And the bed was quite comfortable. The fireplace and flat screen tv were a nice addition.

Just way too expensive/pretentious for what we got overall. And the interesting part about this is that everyone we spoke to in town at the restaurants/bars who asked where we were staying made a face when we said the Barlow ...they asked how it was, as they've heard all negative things about it. So that didn't make us feel very good about choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

S&R: Thanks for the comments. We're so happy you enjoyed most aspects of your stay - the room was clean, the shower (and hot water) worked well, and the bed was comfortable; important qualities one looks for in a hotel. For the category of room you booked and the amenities we provide our room rates are competitive with other properties in town. There are certainly less expensive options which may be a better fit for you should your travel plans bring you back to Hudson.

The Barlow is an environmentally friendly Hotel and, as such, we don't provide bottled water so as not to contribute to the already 2 million tons of water bottles that end up in our landfills. We do not advertise that we provide bottled water and we apologize if you were under the impression that we do.

We also apologize if other guests were making excessive noise. While this is difficult for us to control, in any situation where we were informed that another guest was being disruptive we addressed the problem immediately. Bringing it to the Front Desk's attention the following morning limited our ability to address the issue. While the insulation between rooms is enough for common noise, no amount of insulation would prevent loud televisions and/or arguments from being heard in an adjacent room. We apologize but there is a deadbolt on every guest room door.. However f you didn't see it we would have been happy to point it out to you had you asked.

The Barlow is one of five finalists for the 2014 Columbia County "Crystal Apple" Award, "presented to a Chamber member business to recognize an extraordinary contribution to economic progress, community improvement, and the quality of life in Columbia County" thanks to nominations from our fellow business members of the Chamber of Commerce. We're very proud of this accomplishment, and quite frankly find your final comments baseless, childish and petty and actually put your full review in a rather questionable light in terms of credibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The management was rude and non existant, rooms were too hot (could not control the temperature-a.c blew in hot air). drapes did not cover windows so people could see inside our room as they walked down the side alley both day and night and the TV remote was missing so we could not use the TV timer. No water or refreshments in lobby until the morning we were leaving. As we were checking out, the staff was coming in the front door. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KPB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Guests reading this review should be aware: this guest was issued a parking ticket because she parked in the incorrect area, even though instructions were thoroughly explained to her at check-in, printed on the parking permit she was issued, and clearly signed in the parking lot. She insisted that The Barlow pay the $15 ticket, even though it is Hotel policy that any ticket incurred by the guest is the responsibility of the guest as is indicated on the parking permit. This guest was extremely condescending and aggressive in speaking to Hotel staff. When it was explained that the Hotel was not liable for the ticket the guest responded, "Well if you don't pay this ticket I am going to go online and write a really bad review and tell everyone how awful this place is." Thus the review you have read.

None of the comments this guest made in her review reflect comments she made during her stay, which were actually quite positive, but instead are comments she copied from previous reviews.

TA refused to remove this fraudulent review, and we therefore were obligated to respond. As you will see from other reviews we take guests' comments quite seriously, but when they are outright falsehoods we felt it necessary respond accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I only live 35 minutes from Hudson. We had tickets for a dinner show at Club Helsinki and thought it would be a great winter getaway to stay at the Barlow for the night. It was very convenient to park the car and walk around town. The Barlow itself was awesome! There wasn't any amenity missing. The couch in sitting area was very comfortable. It was so relaxing sipping our wine in front of the fireplace. The shower had numerous jets and it felt like you were getting a personal massage. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurants for breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrosCrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

What a phenomenal review! All of us here at The Barlow say a big "thank you" for the sensational comments. We strive to provide all the amenities and services our guests require in order to make their stay memorable and it seems we did just that. Our Winter Special is an even better value than our regular rates, and we're happy you were able to use it during your visit. The Barlow's central location make it ideal for exploring all of Hudson, whether right across the street or down to the waterfront. We hope to see you back again soon. Until then thanks from all of us at The Barlow for a fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Free parking in and amongst Hudson's busy, ticket-prone streets says something for this quaint and discerning boutique hotel. The room (Queen deluxe) was spotless, the shower pampered with about 12 different nozzles on it, the gas fireplace added romance and much needed heat in the midst of February, and the bed was sublime. Only drawback; definitely NOT soundproof, as we could hear our neighbors every sound--and there were a lot of them! Another plus; right across the street from BodhiSpa and Yoga studio.....and hard by Mexican Radio and other fine dining and antique establishments. Best deal in town; 3 week nights for the price of 2! You cannot do better than this in Hudson. Another tip; check out Bonfiglio Breads right up the street. Another tip; Barlow is adding a gym, and rooftop bar soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

C: Thanks for the excellent review - on behalf of the entire Management and Staff of the Barlow! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us so much and that all the amenities and services we provide so highly met your needs. We thank you for bringing the sound issue to our attention. During the renovation of the Hotel we installed resilient channel sound insulation between each room. Possibly we need to do more, although unfortunately sometimes some guests make a lot of noise that even the best insulation could not quiet. Regardless we truly thank you for your wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you back to The Barlow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Barlow for 2 nights just before Christmas. We had been looking forward to the trip as we had stayed at the B&B run by the same owners as this hotel on 2 previous occasions & had a fantastic time (5-star reviews on both occasions). Unfortunately, this was not the case at The Barlow. Very soon after we checked in, we had dinner reservations so did not have a chance to really look at the room. When we returned to the room it was very hot – the thermostat read 85°F and there was no one at reception to ask about adjusting the heat. Furthermore, we were on the first floor, overlooking an alley and given that both the front and back doors of the hotel are locked at all times, we did not feel safe sleeping with the windows open so we had a rather uncomfortable night. The next morning, the bedroom temperature hovered in the 80s. We then noticed that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, just a square shaped hole in the ceiling, beside which was some exposed ductwork. There was dirt on the lower part of the door and on the shelf in the shower. There was a hole in the drywall under the sink and areas around the shower and tub were unfinished – all in all this room did not appear to be ready for guests. Furthermore, while I was in the shower, the hot water ran out mid-shampoo. We spoke to the staff person at reception who first suggested that perhaps I did not know how to use the shower, even after I had said that I did have hot water and that it ran out. I also told her that I had even run the faucet in the bathroom sink to check that it wasn’t an issue with the shower and there was no hot water from it either. She told us that the only way we could address the heat was to turn it off, as the A/C was not running. She came to look at the room and acknowledged that there were problems but did not seem overly concerned, although, after I pointed out that for the price we were paying (around $440 for two nights) we expected better, she did say that she would speak to the owners about providing us with a discount. She half-heartedly suggested that maybe she could find us another room but we declined, as we were already in the room and felt that if the owners would be discounting the room, we would not put them to the inconvenience of making up and cleaning another room – we had a sense that we were meeting each other half way. When we retuned to our room that night, the bathroom had been cleaned but the bedroom was still incredibly hot (over 80°F) even though we had turned the heat off, as instructed, so we spent another uncomfortable night. At checkout the next morning, with the same staff person we had dealt with the day before, we mentioned the heat issue and were told that we should have opened the windows, even though they open onto an alley. (Another guest was passing as we were discussing this issue and said that his room on the second floor was in the 90s, with the windows open.) When we got our bill, we were surprised and very disappointed to note that no discount had been applied, despite all of the issues with our room. The staff person had many excuses and arguments about why this was the case, one being that the bathroom had been cleaned after we pointed out the dirt; she did not seem to get my point that, especially for the price we were paying, it should have been clean before we arrived. Nor did she seem to feel that arguing with a guest is inappropriate. A genuine apology would have gone some way to ameliorating the situation but none was forthcoming. We had been hopeful that we would be making many return trips to The Barlow and the B&B, but after this experience, we won’t be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank belfast10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

D&K: As you know we take guests comments very seriously. Your situation was brought to our attention right after you checked and indicated that you were unhappy with the room. We instructed our front desk staff member to offer to move you to another, upgraded room at no additional cost to you, which you declined. Unfortunately the two days you visited Hudson were unseasonably warm (upper 50's) and we did inform guests that opening the windows was the best solution as the air conditioning is only operational in warmer months. Your guest room window is 8 feet off the ground, so safety should not have been an issue as it hadn't been for any guest who previously stayed in that room.

Our staff did apologize repeatedly each time you mentioned another issue you had with the room/hotel. We can't speak to whether you felt it was sincere or not. Finally we felt that offering you a complimentary upgrade was fair, yet you declined, insisting repeatedly that we owed you a discount instead. We thank you for your feedback and hope that if you return to Hudson you will find lodging that better suits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after this Christmas.

What a disappointment no hot or even warm water in die morning for a bath or a shower.

The reception just said there was one heating system for the whole hotel.

This is acceptable in summer, but in winter it is another story.

This is not what we paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jacobritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. You're right, this was not acceptable and for that we sincerely apologize. As you mention one of our two hot water heaters went down resulting in intermittent gaps in hot water at peak times during the day. Due to the holiday, and the very cold weather, it was very difficult to get a technician to come to the hotel for a service call. We did finally get the issue resolved and had an additional back up system installed so that this won't happen again. Since this our first winter being open these "kinks" are being worked out, and we are so sorry it affected your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.2 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
272 reviews
12.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
0.7 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: £116 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only locally owned and operated boutique hotel The Barlow is located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district and offers 16 fully appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. The renovation of the 1920's building has retained much of the historic charm while providing modern amenities today's traveler expects. The hotel's central location makes it a perfect base from which to explore all that Hudson has to offer. Our Privileges Partner program offers guests of the hotel discounts at most shops, restaurants, galleries and entertainment venues, making a stay at The Barlow and even better value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Barlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barlow Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing